Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How to install Acroread Binary?

Question How to install Acroread Binary?

Hi,

I've just downloaded Acroreader 9.1 from Adobe HP and want to install it on Suse 11.0.
    There is no previous Acroreader installation on my computer.
    I know, that I could install Acroreader from rpm-package with Yast, however this is then version 8.1.

Is it possible or recommended to install a naked binary and how does this work?
    Or is it better to install the 8.1 - package and to update it with a new binary file?

After working 2 months with Linux, I'm still a newbie, but I already know what a command line or a shell is

Thanks for help.

Lou

Default Re: How to install Acroread Binary?

Quote Originally Posted by southmanx View Post
    Hi,

I've just downloaded Acroreader 9.1 from Adobe HP and want to install it on Suse 11.0.
    There is no previous Acroreader installation on my computer.
    I know, that I could install Acroreader from rpm-package with Yast, however this is then version 8.1.

Is it possible or recommended to install a naked binary and how does this work?
    Or is it better to install the 8.1 - package and to update it with a new binary file?

After working 2 months with Linux, I'm still a newbie, but I already know what a command line or a shell is

Thanks for help.

Lou
    If you install the package from YaST the next binary installation doesn't updates it.
    Installation:
    Code:
    ./AdbeRdr9.1.0-1_i486linux_enu.bin
    Hope that helps.
    http://mydailyhash.wordpress.com/
    http://yami.googlecode.com/

Blog Entries

Is there a reason you need 9.1 and cannot use 8.1? If you use the standard package from the openSUSE repositories you will get security updates to it. If you install an Adobe package you have to check for updates from Adobe yourself. And as far as I can see acroread is has more holes than cheese; they keep finding new ones.

Thanks for quick answer.