Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Trying to update OpenOffice using YAST

  1. #1

    Default Trying to update OpenOffice using YAST

    Hi: I'm trying to update OpenOffice to the latest 3.1.06-1.2.x86_64. Part of the update fails because of a dependency issue - libicuuc.so.42()(64bit) is needed and can't be found. I can't find it either. Google didn't seem to know of its existence either. Is there a solution to this or have I missed something simple? Thanks for any help. I'm using OpenSUSE 11.1 64 bit. John

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    26,326
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Trying to update OpenOffice using YAST

    Quote Originally Posted by JohnKS
    Hi: I'm trying to update OpenOffice to the latest 3.1.06-1.2.x86_64.
    Part of the update fails because of a dependency issue -
    libicuuc.so.42()(64bit) is needed and can't be found. I can't find it
    either. Google didn't seem to know of its existence either. Is there a
    solution to this or have I missed something simple? Thanks for any help.
    I'm using OpenSUSE 11.1 64 bit. John

    Hi
    libicu-4.2 should have the file your after
    <http://download.opensuse.org/repositories/GNOME:/Factory/openSUSE_Factory>

    --
    Cheers Malcolm (Linux Counter #276890)
    openSUSE 11.2 Milestone 2 (i586) Kernel 2.6.30-rc6-git3-4-default
    up 21:03, 2 users, load average: 1.85, 1.96, 1.42
    CPU VIA Esther processor 1000MHz GPU VIA CX700/VX700


  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    On a rock in the middle of the world's biggest puddle.
    Posts
    162

    Default Re: Trying to update OpenOffice using YAST

    First check to see if all your repos in YAST are enabled; except for the debug. Don't need debug unless you're dev-ing something.

    Second run this as root: find / -iname "*libicuuc*"
    My results for that command are as follows:
    /usr/lib/libicuuc.so.40
    /usr/lib/libicuuc.so.40.0
    /opt/Adobe/Reader9/Reader/intellinux/lib/libicuuc.so
    /opt/Adobe/Reader9/Reader/intellinux/lib/libicuuc.so.36.0
    /opt/Adobe/Reader9/Reader/intellinux/lib/libicuuc.so.36

    That gives me three things to mind. Either pull the latest update for Adobe Reader; which is probably the best route. Or symlink the /usr/lib file to libicuuc.so.42; sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn't. And third, re-analyze the need to update OpenOffice.

    To help with the analysis I suggest reading the following link: Software versioning - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia. This one as well: Software versioning - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia. Why? I believe you're wanting to install a Beta version; which usually has library issues. >>Welcome to Dependency Hell<< I suggest waiting till 3.2 is available.
    [****... What'd I do to break this **** thing...]
    Acer Aspire 5610Z (OpenSUSE 11.3) / Gateway Solo 9550 (OpenSUSE 11.3) / Gateway Solo 9550 (Trisquel 4.0.1 TARANIS) / Toshiba Satellite (WIN7)
    FSF Member #8193
    DC808-1 / 2600 Honolulu

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,719
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Trying to update OpenOffice using YAST

    Quote Originally Posted by JohnKS View Post
    Hi: I'm trying to update OpenOffice to the latest 3.1.06-1.2.x86_64. Part of the update fails because of a dependency issue - libicuuc.so.42()(64bit) is needed and can't be found. I can't find it either. Google didn't seem to know of its existence either. Is there a solution to this or have I missed something simple? Thanks for any help. I'm using OpenSUSE 11.1 64 bit. John
    I wouldn't recommend using anything but what is shipped with 11.1
    or
    Leap 15_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    1,020

    Default Re: Trying to update OpenOffice using YAST

    As you know, I've burnt my fingers with a mess of repos so I'd agree, but sometimes it's hard to resist and OpenOffice is a case in point:
    3.1 introduces a (for me) major feature which might finally enable me to stop using MS Word in Virtualbox. But OpenSUSE probably won't have that version until November with 11.2... The Gooo (spelling?) site has a 1-click install for OOo 3.1 which I tried but it didn't work. With something as vital as office software, distros should provide an official update in between versions I think.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    On a rock in the middle of the world's biggest puddle.
    Posts
    162

    Default Re: Trying to update OpenOffice using YAST

    Why run it through VBox? Last I checked, OO worked pretty well with MS files. It's just not enabled or selected by default. The only ones that should be an issue are the new .*x files; i.e. .xlsx, docx, and etc. In which case, pre-MS Office 2007 has issues as well. If someone sends you a *x file ask them to re-save as a .doc file. If you're worried about someone not being able to read your file then send it in HTML or PDF. I do PDF; paranoid they'll change what I wrote. There's a bunch of formats that OO and MSO both can open and edit.

    Quote Originally Posted by gminnerup View Post
    As you know, I've burnt my fingers with a mess of repos so I'd agree, but sometimes it's hard to resist and OpenOffice is a case in point:
    3.1 introduces a (for me) major feature which might finally enable me to stop using MS Word in Virtualbox. But OpenSUSE probably won't have that version until November with 11.2... The Gooo (spelling?) site has a 1-click install for OOo 3.1 which I tried but it didn't work. With something as vital as office software, distros should provide an official update in between versions I think.
    [****... What'd I do to break this **** thing...]
    Acer Aspire 5610Z (OpenSUSE 11.3) / Gateway Solo 9550 (OpenSUSE 11.3) / Gateway Solo 9550 (Trisquel 4.0.1 TARANIS) / Toshiba Satellite (WIN7)
    FSF Member #8193
    DC808-1 / 2600 Honolulu

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    1,020

    Default Re: Trying to update OpenOffice using YAST

    There are some issues even with .doc files, but the main reason I need MS Office is that Ooo doesn't have an outliner (and before you say it, the Navigator doesn't cut the mustard). That's one of the reasons I'm keen to get 3.1 because it introduces a new ability to assign outline levels to body text styles which might go a long way towards a solution.
    Another reason I prefer MS Office (for now) is the awful font rendering in Ooo. I have a nice big monitor and like to work with two pages in view while writing, and it just doesn't look very nice in Ooo...

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Northern VA
    Posts
    298

    Default Re: Trying to update OpenOffice using YAST

    OOO3.0 also just showed it has a problem rendering a .doc file that contains check boxes (radio buttons?). The display "accumulates" on scrolling so that the screen turns black. I too hope for an unannounced improvement in this case from the new anti-aliasing features in 3.1.

  9. #9

    Default Re: Trying to update OpenOffice using YAST

    Quote Originally Posted by gminnerup View Post
    There are some issues even with .doc files, but the main reason I need MS Office is that Ooo doesn't have an outliner (and before you say it, the Navigator doesn't cut the mustard). That's one of the reasons I'm keen to get 3.1 because it introduces a new ability to assign outline levels to body text styles which might go a long way towards a solution.
    Another reason I prefer MS Office (for now) is the awful font rendering in Ooo. I have a nice big monitor and like to work with two pages in view while writing, and it just doesn't look very nice in Ooo...
    I work every day with OO 3.0 and never noticed a problem with rendering. It's beautiful on my widescreen LG monitor. It is crucial to my work and this meets the mustard for me.

    The outline levels is a LONG awaited for feature that has prevented many from switching from MS to OO.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    1,020

    Default Re: Trying to update OpenOffice using YAST

    Don't know what fonts you use but have you compared the rendering of identical docs with identical fonts between MSO and Ooo? It's like day and night, on the same monitor.
    There's no difference in Windows, it's just in Linux.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •