Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: How should I setup my repository?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    (Canada)
    Posts
    773

    Question How should I setup my repository?

    I look at it something is wrong here.

    HTML Code:
    1  | KDE:42               | KDE:42               | Yes     | Yes
    2  | devel:tools:building | devel:tools:building | Yes     | Yes
    3  | openSUSE 11.1-0      | openSUSE 11.1-0      | No      | No
    4  | repo                 | repo                 | No      | No
    5  | repo-debug           | repo-debug           | No      | Yes
    6  | repo-non-oss         | repo-non-oss         | Yes     | Yes
    7  | repo-oss             | repo-oss             | Yes     | Yes
    8  | repo-update          | repo-update          | Yes     | Yes
    9  | repo_1               | repo_1               | No      | No
    10 | repo_2               | Packman Repository   | Yes     | Yes
    I really appreciate for helping me

    Mike
    Motherboard MSI X58 Eclipse,320GB intern.HD,400GB Ext.HD,1.5TB intern.HD,6GB ram.Dual ViewSonic VX1962WM Monitor,Zip drive 250MB,HPpsc 2410 printer and Logitech G51 speakers

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    USA Pennsylvania
    Posts
    1,287

    Default Re: How should I setup my repository?

    Could you please open a terminal and give the output of

    Code:
    zypper lr --details
    Anyways what do you think is wrong?

    Take Care,

    Ian
    Laptop: Dell Inspiron E1505 | OpenSUSE 12.1/Windows Vista | KDE | Intel CPU T2050 1.6 GHz | Intel 945GM | 3.2GB RAM
    Box: OpenSUSE 12.1/Windows 7 | KDE | Intel Core 2 Quad 8300 2.5GHz/core | nVidia Geforce 9500GT 1GB| 4 GB RAM

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    (Canada)
    Posts
    773

    Default Re: How should I setup my repository?

    PHP Code:
    #  | Alias                | Name                 | Enabled | Refresh | Priority | Type   | URI                                                                             | Service
    ---+----------------------+----------------------+---------+---------+----------+--------+---------------------------------------------------------------------------------+--------
    1  KDE:42               KDE:42               Yes     Yes     |   99     rpm-md http://download.opensuse.org/repositories/KDE:/42/openSUSE_11.1/                |
    2  devel:tools:building devel:tools:building Yes     Yes     |   99     rpm-md http://download.opensuse.org/repositories/devel:/tools:/building/openSUSE_11.1/ |
    3  openSUSE 11.1-0      openSUSE 11.1-0      No      No      |   99     yast2  cd:///?devices=/dev/sr0                                                         |
    4  repo                 repo                 No      No      |   99     NONE   http://download.nvidia.com/opensuse/11.1                                        |
    5  repo-debug           repo-debug           No      Yes     |  100     NONE   http://download.opensuse.org/debug/distribution/11.1/repo/oss/                  |
    6  repo-non-oss         repo-non-oss         Yes     Yes     |  120     NONE   http://download.opensuse.org/distribution/11.1/repo/non-oss/                    |
    7  repo-oss             repo-oss             Yes     Yes     |  120     NONE   http://download.opensuse.org/distribution/11.1/repo/oss/                        |
    8  repo-update          repo-update          Yes     Yes     |   99     rpm-md http://download.opensuse.org/update/11.1/                                       |
    9  repo_1               repo_1               No      No      |   99     NONE   http://download.videolan.org/pub/videolan/vlc/SuSE/11.1/                        |
    10 repo_2               Packman Repository   Yes     Yes     |   99     rpm-md http://ftp.skynet.be/pub/packman/suse/11.1/ 
    That what I get
    Motherboard MSI X58 Eclipse,320GB intern.HD,400GB Ext.HD,1.5TB intern.HD,6GB ram.Dual ViewSonic VX1962WM Monitor,Zip drive 250MB,HPpsc 2410 printer and Logitech G51 speakers

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    USA Pennsylvania
    Posts
    1,287

    Default Re: How should I setup my repository?

    You have your videolan repository disable which is GOOD.

    You might want to re-enable your Nvidia repository (#4)

    And I'm not sure the reasoning behind having the debug repository disabled but set to refresh everytime. So I would probably either enable the repository or disable refresh (#5)

    You don't need repository #2. The only reason I can think you have it is that you tried to download compiz and then deleted the compiz repositories. If you're not going to use compiz-fusion, you don't need repository #2.

    That's all I can say for it right now. If there's anything wrong with my diagnostics someone can chime in and correct me

    Take Care,

    Ian
    Laptop: Dell Inspiron E1505 | OpenSUSE 12.1/Windows Vista | KDE | Intel CPU T2050 1.6 GHz | Intel 945GM | 3.2GB RAM
    Box: OpenSUSE 12.1/Windows 7 | KDE | Intel Core 2 Quad 8300 2.5GHz/core | nVidia Geforce 9500GT 1GB| 4 GB RAM

  5. #5
    Chris Maaskant NNTP User

    Default Re: How should I setup my repository?

    ijbreakey wrote:

    > You have your videolan repository disable which is GOOD.


    Why is that good?

    > That's all I can say for it right now. If there's anything wrong with
    > my diagnostics someone can chime in and correct me


    I would also give the KDE4.2 and packman repo's a higher priority than the
    default and update repo's.

    --
    Chris Maaskant

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    USA Pennsylvania
    Posts
    1,287

    Default Re: How should I setup my repository?

    Well that is good because the packages from Videolan conflict with the packages from Packman. If you have them both enabled then you'll get conflicts like crazy and most of the time you'll end up with players that won't be able to play media because the codecs they're trying to use aren't the right ones from the right repository. The only package you need from Videolan is the libdvdcss package. Then it should either be deleted or disabled.

    The second comment isn't really necessary either. As long as they're all set to 99 then Yast or zypper will take the higher of the packages. If he had his update at 20 then that would cause major problems, but as suggested here

    Repository Management - openSUSE Forums

    he's alright. Except Michael you might want to put your debug as 99 after you've enabled it.

    Take Care,

    Ian
    Laptop: Dell Inspiron E1505 | OpenSUSE 12.1/Windows Vista | KDE | Intel CPU T2050 1.6 GHz | Intel 945GM | 3.2GB RAM
    Box: OpenSUSE 12.1/Windows 7 | KDE | Intel Core 2 Quad 8300 2.5GHz/core | nVidia Geforce 9500GT 1GB| 4 GB RAM

  7. #7
    Chris Maaskant NNTP User

    Default Re: How should I setup my repository?

    ijbreakey wrote:

    >
    > Well that is good because the packages from Videolan conflict with the
    > packages from Packman. If you have them both enabled then you'll get
    > conflicts like crazy


    This i avoid by giving packman a higher priority than videolan.
    All i want from videolan is libdvdcss.
    If i would disable the videolan repo i wouldn't get updates for it.
    Not automagicly i mean :-)

    > The second comment isn't really necessary either. As long as they're
    > all set to 99 then Yast or zypper will take the higher of the packages.
    > If he had his update at 20 then that would cause major problems, but as
    > suggested here


    Not giving the KDE4.x repos a higher priority than the default and update
    repo's often made a mess of my system.
    4.1.x and 4.2.x KDE packages all mixed together, also downgrades of packages
    when i ran zypper dup.

    Maybe this is all over now i wouldn't know but at the time it sure cleaned
    up my system.
    So i'll stick with this setup.
    Give your setup a try, if it messes up your system you can allways change
    prioryties later and run zypper dup.

    --
    Chris Maaskant

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    USA Pennsylvania
    Posts
    1,287

    Default Re: How should I setup my repository?

    This i avoid by giving packman a higher priority than videolan.
    All i want from videolan is libdvdcss.
    If i would disable the videolan repo i wouldn't get updates for it.
    Not automagicly i mean :-)
    That's a good point. And also a valid reason to have videolan enabled. But I really can't remember the last time I had an update for libdvdcss. It plays dvd's perfectly the way it is. So as far as I know it's not needed to have videolan enabled. The tutorial I pointed to also gives the same advice.

    Not giving the KDE4.x repos a higher priority than the default and update
    repo's often made a mess of my system.
    4.1.x and 4.2.x KDE packages all mixed together, also downgrades of packages
    when i ran zypper dup.
    If it was a default install it was because the update repository was set at 20. The update repository has KDE 4.1.3 packages in it which would then give you conflicts with the KDE 4.2 repositories with a default priority set at 99. That's why if you follow the Repository Management guide I linked to, you'll have no problems.

    Take Care,

    Ian
    Laptop: Dell Inspiron E1505 | OpenSUSE 12.1/Windows Vista | KDE | Intel CPU T2050 1.6 GHz | Intel 945GM | 3.2GB RAM
    Box: OpenSUSE 12.1/Windows 7 | KDE | Intel Core 2 Quad 8300 2.5GHz/core | nVidia Geforce 9500GT 1GB| 4 GB RAM

  9. #9
    Chris Maaskant NNTP User

    Default Re: How should I setup my repository?

    ijbreakey wrote:

    > If it was a default install it was because the update repository was
    > set at 20. The update repository has KDE 4.1.3 packages in it which
    > would then give you conflicts with the KDE 4.2 repositories with a
    > default priority set at 99. That's why if you follow the Repository
    > Management guide I linked to, you'll have no problems.


    Looks like that guide tells me exactly what i did.
    Well allmost, the guide says to give the OSS, non-OSS and update repo a
    higher number of priority.
    I instead gave the others a lower number.
    The result is the same :-)

    --
    Chris Maaskant

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    (Canada)
    Posts
    773

    Default Re: How should I setup my repository?

    Quote Originally Posted by Chris Maaskant View Post
    ijbreakey wrote:

    > If it was a default install it was because the update repository was
    > set at 20. The update repository has KDE 4.1.3 packages in it which
    > would then give you conflicts with the KDE 4.2 repositories with a
    > default priority set at 99. That's why if you follow the Repository
    > Management guide I linked to, you'll have no problems.


    Looks like that guide tells me exactly what i did.
    Well allmost, the guide says to give the OSS, non-OSS and update repo a
    higher number of priority.
    I instead gave the others a lower number.
    The result is the same :-)

    --
    Chris Maaskant
    Is there a side about priority,how to setup the right way??
    Motherboard MSI X58 Eclipse,320GB intern.HD,400GB Ext.HD,1.5TB intern.HD,6GB ram.Dual ViewSonic VX1962WM Monitor,Zip drive 250MB,HPpsc 2410 printer and Logitech G51 speakers

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •