Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Yast system backup

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    1,020

    Default Yast system backup

    I'm confused by this... I've been trying twice today to create a backup, but all I get is an xml file in the backup location, and no .tar file. I've gone through all the configuration options carefully and can't figure out what I'm doing wrong. Here's the xml file, in case it provides any clues:
    Code:
    <?xml version="1.0"?>
    <!DOCTYPE profile>
    <profile xmlns="http://www.suse.com/1.0/yast2ns" xmlns:config="http://www.suse.com/1.0/configns">
      <deploy_image>
        <image_installation config:type="boolean">false</image_installation>
      </deploy_image>
      <keyboard>
        <keyboard_values>
          <capslock config:type="boolean">false</capslock>
          <delay></delay>
          <discaps config:type="boolean">false</discaps>
          <numlock>bios</numlock>
          <rate></rate>
          <scrlock config:type="boolean">false</scrlock>
          <tty>tty1 tty2 tty3 tty4 tty5 tty6</tty>
        </keyboard_values>
        <keymap>english-us</keymap>
      </keyboard>
      <language>
        <language>en_AU</language>
        <languages>en_AU</languages>
        <rootlang>yes</rootlang>
      </language>
      <restore>
        <archives config:type="list">
          <archive>file:///media/Backup/my_backup.tar</archive>
        </archives>
      </restore>
    </profile>

  2. #2

    Default Re: Yast system backup

    -----BEGIN PGP SIGNED MESSAGE-----
    Hash: SHA1

    Wild guess as I've never used this feature myself: Does /media/Backup
    (the directory) already exist? Perhaps the backup software does not
    create the path if it does not. Also make sure the case matches as it
    always matters.

    Good luck.






    gminnerup wrote:
    > I'm confused by this... I've been trying twice today to create a backup,
    > but all I get is an xml file in the backup location, and no .tar file.
    > I've gone through all the configuration options carefully and can't
    > figure out what I'm doing wrong. Here's the xml file, in case it
    > provides any clues:
    >
    > Code:
    > --------------------
    > <?xml version="1.0"?>
    > <!DOCTYPE profile>
    > <profile xmlns="http://www.suse.com/1.0/yast2ns" xmlns:config="http://www.suse.com/1.0/configns">
    > <deploy_image>
    > <image_installation config:type="boolean">false</image_installation>
    > </deploy_image>
    > <keyboard>
    > <keyboard_values>
    > <capslock config:type="boolean">false</capslock>
    > <delay></delay>
    > <discaps config:type="boolean">false</discaps>
    > <numlock>bios</numlock>
    > <rate></rate>
    > <scrlock config:type="boolean">false</scrlock>
    > <tty>tty1 tty2 tty3 tty4 tty5 tty6</tty>
    > </keyboard_values>
    > <keymap>english-us</keymap>
    > </keyboard>
    > <language>
    > <language>en_AU</language>
    > <languages>en_AU</languages>
    > <rootlang>yes</rootlang>
    > </language>
    > <restore>
    > <archives config:type="list">
    > <archive>file:///media/Backup/my_backup.tar</archive>
    > </archives>
    > </restore>
    > </profile>
    > --------------------
    >
    >

    -----BEGIN PGP SIGNATURE-----
    Version: GnuPG v2.0.9 (GNU/Linux)
    Comment: Using GnuPG with Mozilla - http://enigmail.mozdev.org

    iQIcBAEBAgAGBQJKF/2yAAoJEF+XTK08PnB5Xq0QALAFzOJ3fW1qT8HihWawhQz6
    /wUQJDexkZtO+Vawgg/O+6YbdLer3Pz5UUHIj8fMyH9h6K78V7pQZbrZ3obMEWX2
    /BCexTH+T8Or2nHmNIvd2TPsrTnRxGnf96wWW62f1pzDwrVFrBK+8Jy7Vcc2qkbe
    Dguh19VtIHUMvJ33T+5Yo6gC/v5YGpJKEpWBLHVK/RZ7truYiRIl3QTZ+wSen9S7
    1537kptzRY2r6+eGlN7onOpgkfAlXOKKOu+tAXWQIt5wJ5kEViKL0KRBlTD1dmRK
    HO/l4AWqu9Fnk9E+z1KtRcryaDQ4wVwmsU7FtaRiWMx29FJj3VnRn20TS8d6uXGB
    PhsClSYhl0/pEchni8B4SoWsH+zHaBFSZVoKtOkuUdPZmvpwUrpi+FWZaSHLgwMi
    7l2g6yQgOBuER5qc6/5L+t2MRFMw3Uybpu1096zIjFp9ur9AWj1BfT+ObX0/Lhrw
    pj3QoqcFBqg8fCv865FjsP4OmZwzKMXJaNzVOCv+OmfQ+22/Z9lPo/gt1KZv5jUG
    ba8J7jhH7gVzmgoL3bnPz1iI4eamlQQXM3Oa0HgZemaSBkZ4gQllACLjKLfKciJf
    rvdCyYjgzLI7P82spE1aR6ud0gOO44UaK70IVjNm2MFwbabraTK3XWYHTrz0+Fzg
    4v3192WJvQnDV/mOBFHd
    =6GzS
    -----END PGP SIGNATURE-----

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    1,020

    Default Re: Yast system backup

    Yes, it exists (it's an external USB HD). System Backup goes through all the motions without an error message and the backup seems to have proceeded ok after an hour or so, telling mne it's 30-odd GB, but all I find in the backup location is that XML file...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,014
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Yast system backup

    If you want to investigate a simple but effective backup tool (automated or manual), I can recommend backintime (available from packman repo). Very eay to configure and use. There are gnome and kde front-ends available.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    1,020

    Default Re: Yast system backup

    I'm using that already to make daily backups of my /home partition, and yes, it works very well. Just thought I'd make additional weekly backups with the Yast utility because I liked the idea of being able to restore the entire SUSE installation to its current state in the event of diaster (without cloning the entire hard drive).

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,014
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Yast system backup

    Understood. However, I've thought about that, and think I could suffer a reinstall if a disaster happened, so long as my data and config files on /home was backed up. In any case, if a hardware failure occurred, this may require a new computer or MB for example, so a new OS install would then be required anyway.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    1,020

    Default Re: Yast system backup

    True. There's really three different emergencies to guard against:
    1. Need to restore data/configs from /home. Backintime will (I hope) take care of that.
    2. Hardware disaster: only real protection is a cloned hard drive.
    3. (and that's what I'm after): need to restore the current/recent state of the installation for some reason short of a hardware disaster. It's mainly about backing up additional software/updates that differ from the original 11.1 DVD.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,014
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Yast system backup

    You've probably already seen this, but I include it anyway:

    YaST/Modules/System Backup - openSUSE

    Another HOW TO with GParted or Clonezilla LiveCD:

    How to Backup & Restore Your Installation - LinuxQuestions.org

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    1,020

    Default Re: Yast system backup

    Thanks for both links. Yes, I'd read the first one but as it doesn't seem to work for me, and as the absence of any comments here also seems to suggest that few use the Yast tool - perhaps for good reason - I might look into regular Clonezilla/GParted or similar backups on top of the daily Backintime ones.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •