Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Why can't I find an application I just installed?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    UK; deep south, far below Watford.
    Posts
    275

    Default Why can't I find an application I just installed?

    SUSE 11.1

    Earlier this evening I installed Scribus 1.3.3.12. On using it I noticed that this release is more than 1 year old. I looked for an update and found 1.3.3.13 on repository home/mrdocs/openSUSE_11.1

    I downloaded and installed it. But now I can find reference at all to either the .12 or .13 releases of this application in the control centre, so I cannot start either version. Furthermore I cannot find the rpm in my download directory, so I downloaded it again, seeing both copies listed in the dowload information panel from Firefox. But the second attempt to install the application failed - the reason being that the installer believes it is already installed.

    Where do I find the application?

    Why can I not see either of the two downloaded copies of the rpm?

    What happened to version .12 of the application?

    Guidance will be most welcome. Thanks
    They said I wasn't fit to live with a pig; my brother stood up for me and said I was.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    where I am is where I am
    Posts
    1,164

    Default Re: Why can't I find an application I just installed?

    Open the Terminal (Konsole in KDE) type in
    Code:
    whereis name of program
    press enter
    If it's in your system that should show where.
    I'm just a curious cat
    My 64 bit: RADEON RX 570 |CPU AMD - Ryzen 5 1600
    MOTHERBOARD B450M D53H GGABYTE
    Opensuse Tumbleweed Plasma 5

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    wichita
    Posts
    921

    Default Re: Why can't I find an application I just installed?

    Or you can press alt > F2 and type scribus in the field.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Slovenia
    Posts
    335

    Default Re: Why can't I find an application I just installed?

    if you know the command to run the new installed application, you can use
    Code:
    which  command_to_run_application
    to find where it is located on disk

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    UK; deep south, far below Watford.
    Posts
    275

    Default Re: Why can't I find an application I just installed?

    OK, thanks, that's nice and easy - byt I would like to be able to just point at an icon of the application - as I was able to with version 1.3.3.12 for example, in the list of applications. How do I place an appropriate icon in the control centre?

    I should also like to understand the other part of my problem: Firefox tells where it is filing downloads - but the Scribus rpm I downloaded twice yesterday is not there -as far as I can see. What am I doing wrong?
    They said I wasn't fit to live with a pig; my brother stood up for me and said I was.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    wichita
    Posts
    921

    Default Re: Why can't I find an application I just installed?

    Firefox tells where it is filing downloads
    And where did Firefox tell you the files were downloading to? You can set this in Firefox preferences.

    It could be in your /tmp file but it will be gone if you've rebooted since you downloaded the file. That's why they call it 'temporary'.

  7. #7
    somebody_else NNTP User

    Default Re: Why can't I find an application I just installed?

    > I should also like to understand the other part of my problem: Firefox
    > tells where it is filing downloads - but the Scribus rpm I downloaded
    > twice yesterday is not there -as far as I can see. What am I doing
    > wrong?


    wrong?

    - maybe you are not looking in the exact place where Firefox
    downloaded to...when you get the Firefox dialog, copy/paste the
    download path

    - maybe it was saved as a hidden file

    - actually, the biggest thing i think you did wrong was "noticed that
    this release is more than 1 year old. I looked for an update" and
    forgot a few (imo) pretty good rules:

    1. if it ain't broke don't fix it

    2. newer is NOT always better...*if* you have a problem with the
    version on your machine, THEN look to see if there is a newer
    version...*if* there is a newer version LOOK at the release notes and
    SEE if your problem was 'fixed', if not then your problem probably was
    not a bug and you need to figure out why YOU have a problem, and no
    one else did..

    --
    somebody_else

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •