Is Updating and Installing Softwares Easy in OpenSuse ?

Is Updating and Installing Softwares (packages) Easy in OpenSuse for newbies?

Yes - without a doubt.

I started with Linux in November, played with loads and settled with Opensuse Gnome, even again trying opensuse KDE this weekend I went straight back to the Gnome version as my preferred and daily OS.

As a beginner myself I find the addition and editting of the main repositories very easy. I have it set to install recommended and security updates automatically and then every now and then have a scan of the update list in the Yast-Install software package and add a few that I want to and I think are needed. I do also have to trust some of the pop-up boxes that come up when installing regarding problems with dependancies and changing repo’s to install newer versions. Not sure whether this is right or wrong. As long as I don’t have an rogue repo’s added the messages seem to be correct and keep me in line.

It’s also excellent to search for software and technical bits for codecs and plug-ins.

Of course. I’m playing with Ubuntu at the moment… and the package management is a way better in openSUSE.

yup, it is :slight_smile:

Easy as pie.

Easy - Yes.
But once users go delving in to Build Service. One Clicking everything they come across - They (newbies) might reason differently to the answer I gave.

I beg to differ…

you have to type “zypper in package” and omg dude, that’s sooo difficult, ya know. I was like, wtf man? that’s too much to type, imma pay Chrysantine with her fat fingers to do it for me :stuck_out_tongue:

oops, I just contradicted my own post above :stuck_out_tongue: :stuck_out_tongue: :stuck_out_tongue:

As someone that still has a lot of newbism how hard is Yast>Software>Software Management> then look for blue stuff?
OMG! that’s SOOOOOOOOO hard! I’ll have to leave this linux stuff!
rotfl!rotfl!