Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 51

Thread: Compiz or not Compiz? -old Nvidia

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Bangkok
    Posts
    431

    Default Compiz or not Compiz? -old Nvidia

    First, how to check what version of OpenSuse I'm running? So far I could only see it in Software manager after searching for OpenSuse. There must be a quicker way.

    Ok, it's 11.1-1.19, with KDE4 (How to quickly check KDE version?).

    After life CD install I couldn't get any desktop effects, realised that I didn't have Nvidia drivers. Installed them fine, but the system doesn't look so good now. I can swear fonts were crisper on generic drivers.

    Then I tried to run Compiz, shouldn't have done "one click install" on the second thought, but what's done is done.

    Installation gave me a bunch of errors - three or four components that offered a wordy choice of ignore/skip/cancel or something like that. In the end it told me that some things, like Compiz Fusion Icon, won't work.

    Now I have Compiz settings under Utilities/Desktop and I can click and select and change anything I want but it makes no difference whatsoever.

    If I go to Personal settings/Desktop and click "Enable effects" and change something there, the only thing happens is that on Ctr-F11 I my desktop changes opacity and cursor turns into a hand and everything freezes. No other effects, no cube, no animations, nothing.

    Sooo..

    How can I turn Compiz on without Compiz Fusion Icon? Where can I change window manager?

    How can diagnose my Compiz now?

    Is it possible to fix it?

    Is there something wrong with Nvidia drivers I got?

    Can I revert back to drivers from OpenSuse liveCD if Compiz is hopeless?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    USA Pennsylvania
    Posts
    1,287

    Default Re: Compiz or not Compiz? -old Nvidia

    First off, where did you install the Nvidia drivers from? And also what graphics card do you have (more specific, just nvidia is still too vague)? There are plenty of threads on how to get compiz to work, but first we need to get your card working with Kwin (kde4's default window manager).

    Ian
    Laptop: Dell Inspiron E1505 | OpenSUSE 12.1/Windows Vista | KDE | Intel CPU T2050 1.6 GHz | Intel 945GM | 3.2GB RAM
    Box: OpenSUSE 12.1/Windows 7 | KDE | Intel Core 2 Quad 8300 2.5GHz/core | nVidia Geforce 9500GT 1GB| 4 GB RAM

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    USA Pennsylvania
    Posts
    1,287

    Default Re: Compiz or not Compiz? -old Nvidia

    Also an easy way to get a quick glance of your computer is to click the application launcher (k-icon or green openSUSE lizard) then go to Computer and choose hwinfo.

    The other way to get to it is open Konqueror then type this into the address box

    sysinfo:/

    Good Luck,

    Ian
    Laptop: Dell Inspiron E1505 | OpenSUSE 12.1/Windows Vista | KDE | Intel CPU T2050 1.6 GHz | Intel 945GM | 3.2GB RAM
    Box: OpenSUSE 12.1/Windows 7 | KDE | Intel Core 2 Quad 8300 2.5GHz/core | nVidia Geforce 9500GT 1GB| 4 GB RAM

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Oz
    Posts
    11,727
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: Compiz or not Compiz? -old Nvidia

    cat /etc/SuSE-release
    rpm -qa | grep kdm
    Last edited by swerdna; 28-Apr-2009 at 00:00.
    Leap 42.3 & 15.1(Beta) &KDE
    FYIs from the days of yore

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Bangkok
    Posts
    431

    Default Re: Compiz or not Compiz? -old Nvidia

    Thanks for sysinfo:/ tip.

    I changed my launcher/menu style to classic, can't find hwinfo in there. System information is available from "kickoff" style under computer.

    It's Nvidia MX 440 with AGP, installed it via one click from nvidia section on opensuse site, nvidia server is now added to repositories.

    Actually what happened is that I aborted nvidia driver installation yesterday and this morning the system wouldn't load X (or is it X11? - the GUI), it booteds into runlevel 5 and left me with console. I ran "you" from there and it downloaded some 700 MB of updates, it was the first update since install.

    I went to the "one click" page again, selected appropriate legacy button and it was all ok. Then I went to the Compiz page on Opensuse and thought I was good to go (nvidia drivers, XGLI or something is on by default in 11.1 version), then I clicked on one click Compiz install, and package manager gave me several errors.

    Checking soft manager for dependencies doesn't say produce anything.

    I'm sure there's a way to run Compiz here, I just don't know how to diagnose the problems, or how to reinstall it.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    USA Pennsylvania
    Posts
    1,287

    Default Re: Compiz or not Compiz? -old Nvidia

    The compiz conflicts are normal.

    Post them here and we'll tell you what to do.

    Good Luck,

    Ian
    Laptop: Dell Inspiron E1505 | OpenSUSE 12.1/Windows Vista | KDE | Intel CPU T2050 1.6 GHz | Intel 945GM | 3.2GB RAM
    Box: OpenSUSE 12.1/Windows 7 | KDE | Intel Core 2 Quad 8300 2.5GHz/core | nVidia Geforce 9500GT 1GB| 4 GB RAM

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    USA Pennsylvania
    Posts
    1,287

    Default Re: Compiz or not Compiz? -old Nvidia

    But first I'd like you to do something. Open a terminal (konsole) and type (or copy and paste) these commands in one by one:

    Code:
    su
    type root password

    Code:
    nvidia-xconfig --composite
    nvidia-xconfig --render-accel
    nvidia-xconfig --add-argb-glx-visuals -d 24
    Then hit alt+f2 and type this

    Code:
    kdesu kwrite /etc/X11/xorg.conf
    Type root password

    Once kwrite opens up find the section labeled Section "ServerLayout" and if it's not already there add this line

    Code:
    Option "aiglx" "true"
    Then click save.

    Restart your computer. Then see if Desktop Effects work with kwin FIRST. Once they work with kwin then we can work on getting compiz to work.
    Last edited by ijbreakey; 28-Apr-2009 at 00:09. Reason: Root password after alt+f2 and clarity
    Laptop: Dell Inspiron E1505 | OpenSUSE 12.1/Windows Vista | KDE | Intel CPU T2050 1.6 GHz | Intel 945GM | 3.2GB RAM
    Box: OpenSUSE 12.1/Windows 7 | KDE | Intel Core 2 Quad 8300 2.5GHz/core | nVidia Geforce 9500GT 1GB| 4 GB RAM

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Bangkok
    Posts
    431

    Default Re: Compiz or not Compiz? -old Nvidia

    nvidia-xconfig - command not found

    Bet something should be done about this first.

    There WAS "configure nvidia settings" somewhere in the menu, can't find it anymore. Even when it was there, it didn't let me configure anything, just displayed them, and now it's gone, possibly after an earlier restart.

    I added "aiglx" "true" to xorg.conf, just in case.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    USA Pennsylvania
    Posts
    1,287

    Default Re: Compiz or not Compiz? -old Nvidia

    Could you please post a copy of your xorg.conf? It's located at /etc/X11/

    Those commands add lines into the xorg.conf for you. Usually with an install of the nvidia drivers you get the script to modify your xorg with those commands. But if you are in fact using the nvidia driver then we can add them manually too.

    Good Luck,

    Ian
    Laptop: Dell Inspiron E1505 | OpenSUSE 12.1/Windows Vista | KDE | Intel CPU T2050 1.6 GHz | Intel 945GM | 3.2GB RAM
    Box: OpenSUSE 12.1/Windows 7 | KDE | Intel Core 2 Quad 8300 2.5GHz/core | nVidia Geforce 9500GT 1GB| 4 GB RAM

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Bangkok
    Posts
    431

    Default Re: Compiz or not Compiz? -old Nvidia

    # /.../
    # SaX generated X11 config file
    # Created on: 2009-04-24T14:32:18+0700.
    #
    # Version: 8.1
    # Contact: Marcus Schaefer <sax@suse.de>, 2005
    # Contact: SaX-User list <https://lists.berlios.de/mailman/listinfo/sax-users>
    #
    # Automatically generated by [ISaX] (8.1)
    # PLEASE DO NOT EDIT THIS FILE!
    #

    Section "Files"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/misc:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/local"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/75dpi:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/100dpi:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/Type1"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/URW"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/Speedo"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/PEX"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/cyrillic"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/latin2/misc:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/latin2/75dpi:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/latin2/100dpi:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/latin2/Type1"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/latin7/75dpi:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/baekmuk:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/japanese:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/kwintv"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/truetype"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/uni:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/CID"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/ucs/misc:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/ucs/75dpi:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/ucs/100dpi:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/hellas/misc:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/hellas/75dpi:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/hellas/100dpi:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/hellas/Type1"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/misc/sgi:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/xtest"
    FontPath "/opt/kde3/share/fonts"
    InputDevices "/dev/gpmdata"
    InputDevices "/dev/input/mice"
    EndSection

    Section "ServerFlags"
    Option "AllowMouseOpenFail" "on"
    Option "ZapWarning" "on"
    EndSection

    Section "Module"
    Load "dri"
    Load "dbe"
    Load "freetype"
    Load "extmod"
    Load "glx"
    EndSection

    Section "InputDevice"
    Driver "kbd"
    Identifier "Keyboard[0]"
    Option "Protocol" "Standard"
    Option "XkbLayout" "us"
    Option "XkbModel" "microsoftpro"
    Option "XkbRules" "xfree86"
    EndSection


    Section "InputDevice"
    Driver "mouse"
    Identifier "Mouse[1]"
    Option "Buttons" "5"
    Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
    Option "Name" "Logitech M-UV69a Optical Wheel Mouse"
    Option "Protocol" "explorerps/2"
    Option "Vendor" "Sysp"
    Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
    EndSection


    Section "Monitor"
    Option "CalcAlgorithm" "XServerPool"
    HorizSync 31-48
    Identifier "Monitor[0]"
    ModelName "1024X768@60HZ"
    Option "DPMS"
    Option "PreferredMode" "1024x768"
    VendorName "--> VESA"
    VertRefresh 50-60
    UseModes "Modes[0]"
    EndSection


    Section "Modes"
    Identifier "Modes[0]"
    EndSection


    Section "Screen"
    DefaultDepth 24
    SubSection "Display"
    Depth 15
    Modes "1024x768"
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
    Depth 16
    Modes "1024x768"
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
    Depth 24
    Modes "1024x768"
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
    Depth 8
    Modes "1024x768"
    EndSubSection
    Device "Device[0]"
    Identifier "Screen[0]"
    Monitor "Monitor[0]"
    EndSection


    Section "Device"
    BoardName "GeForce4 MX 440 with AGP8X"
    Driver "nv"
    Identifier "Device[0]"
    VendorName "NVidia"
    EndSection



    Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier "Layout[all]"
    InputDevice "Keyboard[0]" "CoreKeyboard"
    InputDevice "Mouse[1]" "CorePointer"
    Option "Clone" "off"
    Option "Xinerama" "off"
    Screen "Screen[0]"
    Option "aiglx" "true"
    EndSection


    Section "DRI"
    Group "video"
    Mode 0660
    EndSection

    Section "Extensions"
    Option "Composite" "off"
    EndSection

Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •