Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 26

Thread: Cron - GUI ?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    243

    Default Cron - GUI ?

    I would like to set a cron job, and I thought there was a GUI to do this (but cannot find it). Am I wrong ? Is it command line only ?

  2. #2

    Default Re: Cron - GUI ?

    Used to have kcron not sure whether it has been ported yet.
    Man first, have a try at Info, have a look at Wiki, if all that fails Scroogle!!!!!
    If I've helped click on the Rep button I don't know what it does but it sounds cool.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    243

    Default Re: Cron - GUI ?

    (Never did this before, so I'm a bit lost.)

    If I understand right, you manage cron jobs with the crontab command.
    Code:
    crontab <filename>
    where filename is a text file where you set the cron parameters (?)

    The job I would like to start is to retrieve quotes for GnuCash (daily from Monday to Friday, starting at 23:00).
    The command to run is "gnucash --add-price-quotes $HOME/gnucash-filename".
    What should I write in the file to be given to crontab ?
    Last edited by AmigaPhil; 23-Apr-2009 at 11:38. Reason: typo

  4. #4

    Default Re: Cron - GUI ?

    crontab -e

    Is the command
    Then MIN HOUR DAY MONTH DAYOFWEEK command i.e

    10 6 * * * date

    This would run the date command at 06:10 every day

    Just to be on the safe side it is generally I good idea to provide the whole path so date becomes /bin/date. Also if the command is a little complicated you can tell it to run a script instead.
    Man first, have a try at Info, have a look at Wiki, if all that fails Scroogle!!!!!
    If I've helped click on the Rep button I don't know what it does but it sounds cool.

  5. #5
    google01103 NNTP User

    Default Re: Cron - GUI ?

    AmigaPhil wrote:

    >
    > I would like to set a cron job, and I thought there was a GUI to do
    > this
    > (but cannot find it). Am I wrong ? Is it command line only ?
    >
    >

    I'm gonna assume you're running kde4.x, correct? then in systemsettings
    (aka configure desktop) -> advanced -> task scheduler
    --
    Suse 11.1 x64, Kde 4.2.1, Opera 10.x weekly


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    243

    Default Re: Cron - GUI ?

    Thanks ! (I also found more details with 'man 5 crontab' than with 'man 1 crontab').

    So I think what I need is:
    Code:
    * 23-8 * * 1-5 gnucash --add-price-quotes $HOME/gnucash-filename
    (?)

    From the GnuCash guide, I see a " > /dev/null 2>&1" is appended to the example command. I know the " > /dev/null" is to suppress the command output, but what is the "2>&1" for ?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    243

    Default Re: Cron - GUI ?

    Quote Originally Posted by google01103 View Post
    I'm gonna assume you're running kde4.x, correct? then in systemsettings
    (aka configure desktop) -> advanced -> task scheduler
    I have KDE 4.1 installed (you are right that it is probably from where I saw a scheduler interface), but I'm using Gnome 2 as my regular DE.

  8. #8

    Default Re: Cron - GUI ?

    If you read man bash about redirection it should help a bit more.

    The file descriptors are as such
    0 stdin
    1 stdout
    2 stderr

    hcvv gave me a better understanding of this over here..
    A couple of questions.. tty/pts and bootup(inittab,.xinitrc etc)

    What you've told it is to redirect stderr to the place stdout goes now.

    But as I said in the above thread hcvv gave up much of his time and experience, I sort of struggled with bits.(Thank you hcvv)
    Man first, have a try at Info, have a look at Wiki, if all that fails Scroogle!!!!!
    If I've helped click on the Rep button I don't know what it does but it sounds cool.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    26,282
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Cron - GUI ?

    Quote Originally Posted by AmigaPhil
    google01103;1976754 Wrote:
    >
    > I'm gonna assume you're running kde4.x, correct? then in
    > systemsettings
    > (aka configure desktop) -> advanced -> task scheduler
    >


    I have KDE 4.1 installed (you are right that it is probably from where
    I saw a scheduler interface), but I'm using Gnome 2 as my regular DE.

    Hi
    I packaged up Gnome Schedule awile back for somebody here. Search at
    Get It for
    gnome-schedule.

    --
    Cheers Malcolm (Linux Counter #276890)
    openSUSE 11.1 (i586) Kernel 2.6.27.21-0.1-pae
    up 2 days 0:35, 1 user, load average: 0.42, 0.15, 0.10
    ASUS eeePC 1000HE ATOM N280 1.66GHz | GPU Mobile 945GM/GMS/GME


  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    243

    Default Re: Cron - GUI ?

    Thanks again !

    Just one last question:
    I fear that using a "23-8" hour range will make the command to be executed every hours in that range. The expected result is to have the command ran ONCE when the time is somewhere in that range.
    Is this possible ? (Else, I'll use the exact "23" hour.)

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •