opensuse versus suse

I’ve been using opensuse for several years now, with mixed results. Getting audio and multimedia to work are an ongoing aggravation. I realize that many drivers, codecs and so forth don’t ship with opensuse for philosophical reasons, but I’m getting to the point where I really don’t want to spend a lot of time configuring and tweaking my system. I have work to get done, and I just want to focus on that.

Does suse enterprise desktop ship with restricted multimedia formats? I don’t mind paying the $50.00 for it if I can really use it out of the box.

I’ll be upgrading to a new system in a couple of weeks, and I’m concerned that I will lose days or weeks trying to configure it with opensuse. Will the enterprise edition make this process any easier?

For what it’s worth, this will be an Intel i7 system with 6 Gb of triple-channel ram, Intel onboard audio and a radeon 4670 video card.

Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks.

Not just philosophical reasons, but also legal. Some codecs are not legal to distribute in some jurisdictions. Novell can’t risk getting into trouble that way. Don’t know if SLED has paid-for media software, somebody else might be able to say.

I couldn’t agree more. I too am fed up with trying to get things working and then keep them working.

I have wasted many many days on this with older server machines and having just bought a new IBM x3400 box with good spec I contemplated just paying up in order to get a sound and stable system where everything worked as it should straight out of the box.

Before ordering the software however I asked your question on the Novell SLES & SLED forums. The answers I received were not hopeful for me because:-

1. SLES is not designed for multimedia apps so I would have to get all I needed from Packman as I do now with OpenSuse and: