Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 29

Thread: gnomenu in Suse?

  1. #1

    Default gnomenu in Suse?

    hi all!

    I am trying to find out if I can customize the look of my desktop a bit.
    I came across the application called Gnomenu (https://launchpad.net/gnomenu/+download)
    But as you can see, those are deb files.
    Well, I am extremely new to Linux, but having tried Ubuntu before it leads me to believe it was meant for Ubuntu.

    None the less, I went and looked around for a way to install anyway, seeing as it's both gnome, so I figured "why not" ?
    Anyway, I came across a post elsewhere describing it could be done with Alien and an instruction on how to convert to rpm using alien.

    I did so, after downloading the packages found in the above link.
    Now I should be able to find Gnomenu when adding to panel, but it's not there. (I tried rebooting as well)
    Is this because this application is simply not able to run on OpenSuse? Or should I be doing something else?
    When I look in Yast, the application is indeed installed.

    If it is impossible to run gnomenu, would anyone know of a different/similar application I can use?
    Or maybe point me to a way I can customize slab.

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    26,487
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: gnomenu in Suse?

    Quote Originally Posted by dutchshrek
    hi all!

    I am trying to find out if I can customize the look of my desktop a
    bit.
    I came across the application called Gnomenu
    (https://launchpad.net/gnomenu/+download)
    But as you can see, those are deb files.
    Well, I am extremely new to Linux, but having tried Ubuntu before it
    leads me to believe it was meant for Ubuntu.

    None the less, I went and looked around for a way to install anyway,
    seeing as it's both gnome, so I figured "why not" ?
    Anyway, I came across a post elsewhere describing it could be done with
    Alien and an instruction on how to convert to rpm using alien.

    I did so, after downloading the packages found in the above link.
    Now I should be able to find Gnomenu when adding to panel, but it's not
    there. (I tried rebooting as well)
    Is this because this application is simply not able to run on OpenSuse?
    Or should I be doing something else?
    When I look in Yast, the application is indeed installed.

    If it is impossible to run gnomenu, would anyone know of a
    different/similar application I can use?
    Or maybe point me to a way I can customize slab.

    Thanks in advance.

    Hi
    You just need to download the tarball as it's just a python application
    and unpack and look at the readme on how to install.

    --
    Cheers Malcolm (Linux Counter #276890)
    openSUSE 11.1 (i586) Kernel 2.6.27.19-3.2-pae
    up 22:52, 3 users, load average: 0.26, 0.26, 0.25
    ASUS eeePC 1000HE ATOM N280 1.66GHz | GPU Mobile 945GM/GMS/GME


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    USA Pennsylvania
    Posts
    1,287

    Default Re: gnomenu in Suse?

    You can try compiling it from source. I got it to show up in my add applets but it won't let me add it to the tray. I get an error.

    Laptop: Dell Inspiron E1505 | OpenSUSE 12.1/Windows Vista | KDE | Intel CPU T2050 1.6 GHz | Intel 945GM | 3.2GB RAM
    Box: OpenSUSE 12.1/Windows 7 | KDE | Intel Core 2 Quad 8300 2.5GHz/core | nVidia Geforce 9500GT 1GB| 4 GB RAM

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    26,487
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: gnomenu in Suse?

    Quote Originally Posted by ijbreakey
    You can try compiling it from source. I got it to show up in my add
    applets but it won't let me add it to the tray. I get an error.

    '[image:
    http://www.fileden.com/files/2007/7/...enu_thumb.png]'
    (http://www.fileden.com/files/2007/7/.../gnomemenu.png)

    Hi
    You need to fix line 46 to point at 2.6 version of python.

    See here;
    <https://answers.launchpad.net/gnomenu/+faq/264>

    Then right click and add applet.

    --
    Cheers Malcolm (Linux Counter #276890)
    openSUSE 11.1 (i586) Kernel 2.6.27.19-3.2-pae
    up 23:33, 2 users, load average: 0.41, 0.32, 0.20
    ASUS eeePC 1000HE ATOM N280 1.66GHz | GPU Mobile 945GM/GMS/GME


  5. #5

    Default Re: gnomenu in Suse?

    I'm sorry, as I said I'm extremely new to Linux.
    I have no idea how to compile from source.
    I just figured, getting it to install through yast would do it.
    Would you mind pointing me in the right direction?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    26,487
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: gnomenu in Suse?

    Quote Originally Posted by dutchshrek
    I'm sorry, as I said I'm extremely new to Linux.
    I have no idea how to compile from source.
    I just figured, getting it to install through yast would do it.
    Would you mind pointing me in the right direction?
    Hi
    If you can wait a few hours, I can create a patch and rpm spec file and
    place it on the Build Service so you can install as an rpm?

    --
    Cheers Malcolm (Linux Counter #276890)
    openSUSE 11.1 (i586) Kernel 2.6.27.19-3.2-pae
    up 1 day 0:19, 1 user, load average: 0.44, 0.31, 0.22
    ASUS eeePC 1000HE ATOM N280 1.66GHz | GPU Mobile 945GM/GMS/GME


  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    USA Pennsylvania
    Posts
    1,287

    Default Re: gnomenu in Suse?

    Tried running it in a terminal but got this error (after changing the line for using python 2.6)

    ian@linux-io13:~> GnoMenu.py
    None
    Traceback (most recent call last):
    File "/usr/bin/GnoMenu.py", line 41, in <module>
    from GnoMenu_Object import GnoMenu
    File "/usr/lib/gnomenu/GnoMenu_Object.py", line 41, in <module>
    from GnoMenu_Main import Main_Menu
    File "/usr/lib/gnomenu/GnoMenu_Main.py", line 69, in <module>
    exec "from PGMenu import ProgramList"
    File "<string>", line 1, in <module>
    File "/usr/share/gnomenu/Themes/Widget/Classic/PGMenu.py", line 17, in <module>
    from XDG import XDGMenu
    File "/usr/lib/gnomenu/XDG.py", line 22, in <module>
    import xdg.Menu
    ImportError: No module named xdg.Menu

    I have night classes for the next 5 hours though so if nothing else develops I'll keep trying tonight.
    Laptop: Dell Inspiron E1505 | OpenSUSE 12.1/Windows Vista | KDE | Intel CPU T2050 1.6 GHz | Intel 945GM | 3.2GB RAM
    Box: OpenSUSE 12.1/Windows 7 | KDE | Intel Core 2 Quad 8300 2.5GHz/core | nVidia Geforce 9500GT 1GB| 4 GB RAM

  8. #8

    Default Re: gnomenu in Suse?

    @malcolmlewis
    for something as friendly as that I can wait days
    ummm, judging from the bug report you linked to earlier, I would have to edit some files to point to python 2.6.
    perhaps this could be included in the patch?
    If not, no problem I have to learn how to edit files as root anyway.

    anyway, thanks for helping. I really apreciate it.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    26,487
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: gnomenu in Suse?

    Quote Originally Posted by dutchshrek
    @malcolmlewis
    for something as friendly as that I can wait days
    ummm, judging from the bug report you linked to earlier, I would have
    to edit some files to point to python 2.6.
    perhaps this could be included in the patch?
    If not, no problem I have to learn how to edit files as root anyway.

    anyway, thanks for helping. I really apreciate it.
    Hi
    No worries, yes the patch is done (I have it working here btw), just
    working on the spec file to install it properly.

    Did you download the GnoMenu-1.6.tar.bz2 file?

    If so, move the file to your home directory not your desktop. Then
    right-click on it and select extract here. Then browse to the
    GnoMenu/src/lib/gnomenu subdirectory and right click on the file called;

    GnoMenu_Object.py

    Now right click on the file and select open with Other application and
    browse the list and select gedit.

    Now if you arrow down to line 45 and change the 2.5 to 2.6 and save.

    Now browse back to the GnoMenu directory and right-click and select
    open in terminal and run the following command;
    Code:
    sudo make install
    exit
    Your done, now if you right-click on the desktop panel and select add
    applet it should be in the list for you to add.

    --
    Cheers Malcolm (Linux Counter #276890)
    openSUSE 11.1 (i586) Kernel 2.6.27.19-3.2-pae
    up 1 day 0:48, 2 users, load average: 0.31, 0.19, 0.20
    ASUS eeePC 1000HE ATOM N280 1.66GHz | GPU Mobile 945GM/GMS/GME


  10. #10

    Default Re: gnomenu in Suse?

    well the fact that it works for you is reinsuring.
    However, your instructions have not helped.
    I thought uninstalling through Yast would make the files disappear but it didn't
    Make Uninstall did work with that.

    So now all files have disappeared from my system and I want to try again.

    I am wondering though, how should I proceed on this.
    See I thought I would have to install from the deb/rpm of both gnomenu_1.6.2_all and gnomenuthemes_1.6.1_all
    Then followed by the install inside the tarball.

    But that was basically what I did before and that didn't work.
    Now I've tried installing with just the tarball without having the others installed.
    Again, no luck.
    What am I overlooking?

    I did reboot several times in between operations btw, in case you were wondering.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •