Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Mounting Windows

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Caribbean
    Posts
    242

    Default Mounting Windows

    HI Guys,

    Fairly new to the forums. I just wanted to know if there is a way to mount windows partitions in Opensuse 11.1 GNOME. In fedora 9, i was able to mount NTFS partions quite easily by default. All i had to do was to add myself to the root group. Not so simple here. Plus, i can't mount my flash drive

    Can you guys help me out? (please i ask for no quarelling. I know soo many people have this already but I don't see how to do it properly.)

    Hopefully, this could be a sticky

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Inzago, Italy
    Posts
    108

    Default Re: Mounting Windows

    Did you try Yast>Partitioner?
    OpenSuse 13.1 with KDE 4.11 on Intel I7 930 motherboard Asus P6T SE - RAM 6 Gb
    - video card NVIDIA GT220 1GB - TV card Hauppauge WinTV Nova T stick

  3. #3

    Default Re: Mounting Windows

    sabbyman wrote:
    > Fairly new to the forums. I just wanted to know if there is a way to
    > mount windows partitions in Opensuse 11.1 GNOME.


    http://en.opensuse.org/NTFS

    > In fedora 9, i was able
    > to mount NTFS partions quite easily by default. All i had to do was to
    > add myself to the root group. Not so simple here. Plus, i can't mount my
    > flash drive


    Not required in either fedora or openSUSE.

    Kind regards,
    Andreas Stieger

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Caribbean
    Posts
    242

    Default Re: Mounting Windows

    Thanks, I will try it when i get home.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Caribbean
    Posts
    242

    Default Re: Mounting Windows

    Quote Originally Posted by Viviano_Guastalla View Post
    Did you try Yast>Partitioner?
    Umm, i'm not sure what you mean by using the partioner in yast??

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Inzago, Italy
    Posts
    108

    Default Re: Mounting Windows

    Quote Originally Posted by sabbyman View Post
    Umm, i'm not sure what you mean by using the partioner in yast??
    You can use it also for creating and managing mount points.
    OpenSuse 13.1 with KDE 4.11 on Intel I7 930 motherboard Asus P6T SE - RAM 6 Gb
    - video card NVIDIA GT220 1GB - TV card Hauppauge WinTV Nova T stick

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    19,649
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: Mounting Windows

    If you enter the Partitioner in Yast, READ READ READ, and you will see the Windows partition, but no mountpoint. Click the partition, pick Edit, and add /windows/C as mountpoint. Click OK OK OK, and you will see your Windows partition.
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    https://en.opensuse.org/openSUSE:Board#Members
    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Caribbean
    Posts
    242

    Default Re: Mounting Windows

    OK, i saw the mounts in partioner. The thing is, the drive is already mounted. I can see the information and read it fine. but its not r/w.

    I'm trying to use the help found on the link above.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Caribbean
    Posts
    242

    Default Re: Mounting Windows

    I got it. thanks AndreasStieger for the links above.

    i just changed fstab options and rebooted. it worked like a charm.

    i guess for those who don't how: [I]vi /etc/fstab [I]. Then modify the options. if u are unfamilar with vi, you have to press 'i' to insert and press 'esc' when you are done. to save the changes type ':wq'.

    Thanks again

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •