Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: always root terminal

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Prescott, AZ
    Posts
    1,175

    Exclamation always root terminal

    I noticed that if you do Settings / Save as Default after doing su in a KDE3 Konsole, then afterward every time you open Konsole it tries to log you in as root, asking for a password. Does anyone know how to undo this change? I can't access non-superuser Konsole any more!!

    HELP!!
    Patti

  2. #2

    Default Re: always root terminal

    Have you tried typing 'exit' or 'su [normal user name]' in said terminal then choosing save as default again?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Prescott, AZ
    Posts
    1,175

    Default Re: always root terminal

    Thank you for the reply! Yes, when I do that, the Konsole just disappears. BTW: this happens whenever starting Konsole from the SuSE menu (Konsole) or Konqueror right-click/Actions/OpenTerminalHere...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    19,855
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: always root terminal

    Open this konsole, login as root, then do:
    rm -rf /home/YOURUSERNAMEHERE/.kde/share/apps/konsole
    Close konsole
    Now the default profile has been deleted.
    Start konsole and you'll be back to normal
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    https://en.opensuse.org/openSUSE:Board#Members
    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Prescott, AZ
    Posts
    1,175

    Default Re: always root terminal

    Didn't work!!! I ran Konsole in the "run" dialog and:

    Password:
    TYAN-2:~ # rm -rf /home/patti/.kde/share/apps/konsole
    TYAN-2:~ # exit

    ...then when I restarted I still get the "Password" prompt! Then I tried deleting the same place from the "root" dir - same result - I still always get prompted for root Password when I open Konsole!


    I noticed that if I do "session/ New Shell" in the menu of the root Konsole, it opens a non-root konsole. I tried saving settings there, then exiting, but I still get a root konsole whenever I try to start a user Konsole.

  6. #6
    duo NNTP User

    Default Re: always root terminal

    PattiMichelle wrote:
    > Didn't work!!! I ran Konsole in the "run" dialog and:
    >
    > Password: TYAN-2:~ # rm -rf /home/patti/.kde/share/apps/konsole
    > TYAN-2:~ # exit


    change "rm -rf" part to "rm -riv" and if/when it asks if it is ok to
    delete, type yes

    then, please copy and & the output back to here..

    oh, and tell me which of these you have:

    /home/patti/.kde
    /home/patti/.kde3
    /home/patti/.kde4

    and, are you currently booting to KDE3 or 4??

    --
    duo

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Prescott, AZ
    Posts
    1,175

    Default Re: always root terminal

    Password:
    TYAN-2:~ # rm -riv /home/patti/.kde/share/apps/konsole
    rm: descend into directory `/home/patti/.kde/share/apps/konsole'? yes
    rm: remove regular file `/home/patti/.kde/share/apps/konsole/BlackOnLightYellow.schema'? yes
    removed `/home/patti/.kde/share/apps/konsole/BlackOnLightYellow.schema'
    rm: remove regular file `/home/patti/.kde/share/apps/konsole/Transparent_darkbg.schema'? yes
    removed `/home/patti/.kde/share/apps/konsole/Transparent_darkbg.schema'
    rm: remove directory `/home/patti/.kde/share/apps/konsole'? yes
    removed directory: `/home/patti/.kde/share/apps/konsole'
    TYAN-2:~ #


    The terminal colors changes afterward, but it still asks for a password at startup of the Konsole. I have both the .kde and .kde4 directories, and I always boot kde3. There doesn't seem to be a Konsole directory in the .kde4 directory tree.

  8. #8

    Default Re: always root terminal

    Out of curiosity what exactly is the command in the menu launching it, i.e if you launch Konsole from another konsole after getting back to normal user, su user, do you still get kdesu.

    If no to Konsole launch, then look at, edit menu and post the command it is using. If it does it whilst launching from konsole we'll tackle that then.

    Also to just rule out/in user config do new accs have the problem?
    Man first, have a try at Info, have a look at Wiki, if all that fails Scroogle!!!!!
    If I've helped click on the Rep button I don't know what it does but it sounds cool.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Prescott, AZ
    Posts
    1,175

    Default Re: always root terminal

    Actually, I don't know how to get back to normal user after konsole starts as su... if I do 'exit' it just quits. Any way that I open the Konsole brings up the super user mode, either from the KDE menu, from the Konqueror right-click/actions/open terminal here or from the run dialog "konsole" I did check the edit-menu in the KDE menu to see if it was doing something like "su konsole" or something, but it was just the normal command line (I'm not booted in suse right now). I haven't tried creating a new account to see if it still happens. I do remember that if I select "open a new terminal" from the menu in the konsole windo decoration, then the new terminal does not open in su mode. Does that help?

    I had this happen once before in 10.3 on my laptop and thought it was a bug in my installation, but here it is again, this time at work. Since I'm not really the command line type, it's very handy to be able to navigate konqueror to a desired directory, then right-click and "open a terminal here" - not being able to do that is the main frustration. If I open a *second* terminal in the su terminal that pops up, it's sent back to my home directory.

  10. #10
    Conficter NNTP User

    Default Re: always root terminal

    PattiMichelle wrote:
    > Actually, I don't know how to get back to normal user after konsole
    > starts as su... if I do 'exit' it just quits.


    simple since "su" alone ASSUMES you wanna become root, use:

    su [your user name]

    if there are more than one user on the system, you can use su to
    become any of them (AND assume their operating environment)

    for details, see man su

    --
    Conficter

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •