Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: updating java -- firefox no 'plugins' directory??

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    27

    Default updating java -- firefox no 'plugins' directory??

    Hello,

    According to java, to update, i need to create a symbolic link to the firefox plugin directory..
    my firefox is version 3.0.7 and is installed under /usr/lib/firefox
    but it does not have a plugin directory.

    Do I just create one? I'm lost.

    PS: Java installation was successful, just cant get it to work in firefox.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    U.K East Anglia
    Posts
    2,581

    Default Re: updating java -- firefox no 'plugins' directory??

    it will be in your /home/.mozilla directory the "." ( sometimes known as a period ) denotes it is a hidden file. Open your home folder,then,if using konqueror,select view - show hidden folders & look for Mozilla folder

    Andy
    To be is to do = Immanuel Kant
    To do is to be = Descartes.
    Do be do be do = Frank Sinatra

    SuSE user since 7.0,Linux user since 1994

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    27

    Default Re: updating java -- firefox no 'plugins' directory??

    in the .mozilla folder i have a folder called Firefox and Extensions, neither of which contains the 'plugins' folder... ?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    27

    Default Re: updating java -- firefox no 'plugins' directory??

    if no one knows of a fix, can someone give me a quick guide as to how to remove everything firefox, and reinstall it cleanly from the firefox download on mozilla.org?
    Seems that even when I remove it through yast and then reinstall it (one click install from the opensuse get software link) it does not include the plugins folder. Donno how that's possible lol, but it -is- included from the download off mozilla.org. Just doesnt seem to want to install.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    USA Pennsylvania
    Posts
    1,287

    Default Re: updating java -- firefox no 'plugins' directory??

    You need to create the symbolic link in /usr/lib/browser-plugins

    Hope this helps!

    Edit: Also, did you install via Yast2 or from the Sun Java .rpm?
    Laptop: Dell Inspiron E1505 | OpenSUSE 12.1/Windows Vista | KDE | Intel CPU T2050 1.6 GHz | Intel 945GM | 3.2GB RAM
    Box: OpenSUSE 12.1/Windows 7 | KDE | Intel Core 2 Quad 8300 2.5GHz/core | nVidia Geforce 9500GT 1GB| 4 GB RAM

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    27

    Default Re: updating java -- firefox no 'plugins' directory??

    hi,

    i installed via yast, the one click install from this website, and the rpm.

    I just tried your suggestion, didnt work. The java test on java.com states that the driver is still outdated, and government of canada website reports that the java applet cannot be started.

    Nothing seems to work.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    USA Pennsylvania
    Posts
    1,287

    Default Re: updating java -- firefox no 'plugins' directory??

    I'm in the process of making a nice little How-to, but for now check out my other thread where I explained how to install java by both Yast and the rpm way. You'll just need the "create a symbolic link" part of it for whichever method you chose.

    help installing jre-6u12-linux-i586-rpm.bin. - openSUSE Forums

    The first two posts from me are for Yast

    The second two posts from me are for the .rpm.

    Hope this helps!

    Edit: Unless you're using the 64-bit version, then there's already a nice detailed how-to
    http://forums.opensuse.org/how-faq-r...ox-plugin.html
    Laptop: Dell Inspiron E1505 | OpenSUSE 12.1/Windows Vista | KDE | Intel CPU T2050 1.6 GHz | Intel 945GM | 3.2GB RAM
    Box: OpenSUSE 12.1/Windows 7 | KDE | Intel Core 2 Quad 8300 2.5GHz/core | nVidia Geforce 9500GT 1GB| 4 GB RAM

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    27

    Default Re: updating java -- firefox no 'plugins' directory??

    I just tried installing it the Yast way. Now the java test is telling me that Java is not working properly. That's a step back. lol
    I'll try it the rpm way after I have a smoke. lol *frustrated*

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    27

    Default Re: updating java -- firefox no 'plugins' directory??

    update: just installed from a yast a plugin called sun java browser plugin or something, and now its back to saying my version of java is outdated. so we're back to where I once came.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    USA Pennsylvania
    Posts
    1,287

    Default Re: updating java -- firefox no 'plugins' directory??

    My step by step guide for the .rpm is done. You can view it here.
    Installing 32-bit Java from Java.com (rpm terminal yast) - openSUSE Forums

    I would recommend uninstalling the Yast version before trying this way out.

    Otherwise....

    I'm in the process of making another How To for installing from Yast, although this method gets kind of tricky sometimes, so you can wait for that or use the .rpm way which I just wrote and tested out as I was installing from the .rpm.
    Laptop: Dell Inspiron E1505 | OpenSUSE 12.1/Windows Vista | KDE | Intel CPU T2050 1.6 GHz | Intel 945GM | 3.2GB RAM
    Box: OpenSUSE 12.1/Windows 7 | KDE | Intel Core 2 Quad 8300 2.5GHz/core | nVidia Geforce 9500GT 1GB| 4 GB RAM

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •