Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: unnecessary password

Exclamation unnecessary password

I am new to Linux. I have installed openSUSE 11.1 with KDE v. 3. The system asks for a password if the screen saver has been activated and ignores any attempt to deactivate this unnecessary religious ritual. The KDE was updated to 4.2 - or was it a new and extra installation?. I am not able to control if the old files were removed. The installation procedure is not transparent compared to Microsoft operating systems.

Blog Entries

Default Re: unnecessary password

Can you supply list of enabled repositories? This command will give us the info:

zypper lr

KDE will only get updated if you had factory repo, or KDE 4.2.1 repos enabled.

With KDE 3.5, you can configure screen saver (password control) via Configure Desktop -> Screen saver. You can enable or disable 'Require password to stop' as desired.

Blog Entries

This is a bug that seems to have been introduced with a recent KDE update and has to do with the powersave daemon. There was a thread about this, with workaround, search for it using those terms.

Blog Entries

Sorry, looks like I misunderstood problem. (apparently with KDE 4.2 update). Hope its fixed soon.

Blog Entries

Quote Originally Posted by gulvsand View Post
    I am new to Linux. I have installed openSUSE 11.1 with KDE v. 3. The system asks for a password if the screen saver has been activated and ignores any attempt to deactivate this unnecessary religious ritual. The KDE was updated to 4.2 - or was it a new and extra installation?. I am not able to control if the old files were removed. The installation procedure is not transparent compared to Microsoft operating systems.
    Fist about your screensaver: if you had read what was in the screen where you selected the screensaver, you would have seen an option to lock screen, and require unlock to stop screensaver. So not openSUSE, you decided.