Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: How Do I switch to KDE

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Bangalore, India
    Posts
    60

    Unhappy How Do I switch to KDE

    Hi there,

    I had installed openSUSE 10.2 before and after somedays I upgraded that to 11.1.

    I have a problem though, I could shift to KDE environment from the login screen in 10.2, but I dont get that option in 11.1's login screen. So my default environment is gnome. I want to try KDE as I have heard its great. How do I fix this problem? How can I switch between environments?

    Thanks in advance!

    Nihilanth

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    U.K East Anglia
    Posts
    2,581

    Default Re: How Do I switch to KDE

    As long as KDE is installed, you should find it in the sessions manager at the bottom left before log-in. If you don't see it there,it's not installed

    Andy
    To be is to do = Immanuel Kant
    To do is to be = Descartes.
    Do be do be do = Frank Sinatra

    SuSE user since 7.0,Linux user since 1994

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Bangalore, India
    Posts
    60

    Default Re: How Do I switch to KDE

    As long as KDE is installed, you should find it in the sessions manager at the bottom left before log-in. If you don't see it there,it's not installed

    Andy




    I never see that Session Manager on the pre-login screen. I used to see it when I had installed openSUSE 10.2. So from what you say I dont have KDE installed. Alright.

    But did the updation wipe away my previous KDE version?

    And also please let me know how to install KDE again.

    Thank for your reply.

    Nihilanth.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,007
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: How Do I switch to KDE

    You may just need to change your display manager to kdm from gdm. It should be possible to choose KDE from gdm, but some users have reported problems with this. Anyway, have a look at 'Using KDM instead of GDM' section here. After making the necessary change from yast /etc/sysconfig Editor then log out and the kdm display (login) manager should start. There you can choose to launch KDE session as you remember with previous suse versions.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Bangalore, India
    Posts
    44

    Default Re: How Do I switch to KDE

    try this. this might work.

    after logging in to gnome open up a terminal and type :
    Code:
    switchdesk kde
    logout and log in
    you should now be logged in to kde

    it usually works for me on fedora/RHEL
    --
    vijay
    Time Zone : GMT + 05:30

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,007
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: How Do I switch to KDE

    AFAIK, the switchdesk command is not available in openSUSE.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    19,582
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: How Do I switch to KDE

    You probably have auto-login configured for the first user. In Gnome logout, it'll show you the login-screen. At the bottom left there's 2 options, Menu and Session. If you installed KDE4, you should be able to select it from Session, then log in, and you should see KDE4 now.
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    https://en.opensuse.org/openSUSE:Board#Members
    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Bangalore, India
    Posts
    60

    Default Re: How Do I switch to KDE

    I have got the KDE fixed. It was because I had not installed KDE 4. How stupid ! I can successfully login and I can see how awesome KDE looks, but surprisingly I cant see the title bars of the windows that are being displayed and that is such a nuisance since I cant close the window without going to menu bar. Why is this happening? Are title bars of windows not visible in KDE by default? What should I do to see them?

    p.s: The title bars are visble in KDE 3 that was already installed with my opensuse 10.2. And now I have 11.1.

    Thank you for your replies!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Bangalore, India
    Posts
    60

    Default Re: How Do I switch to KDE

    Perhaps I wasn't very clear and may be the post was too long to read or neglected because it was at bottom.

    The question is:

    "How do I make title bars of windows visible in KDE4? The tile bars are not visible and that cause a great nuisance. Please help me with this."

    Thank you.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,007
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: How Do I switch to KDE

    I have had this happen when compiz enabled and one particular theme enabled. Some themes seem to be problematic. See if choosing another helps. Many users have found kwin preferable to compiz for performance reasons as well. It may be worth upgrading your kde 4 installation (if running kde 4.1).

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •