Thread: Plasma Crash during game

Unhappy Plasma Crash during game

Well, I was playing that Blood Frontier game and I was getting frame rates of 40-50 fps.

All of a sudden my screen just went pink and there were bars and stuff all over the screen.

My laptop was nonresponsive so I shut it down by holding the power button down.

Now whenever I try to use KDE 4.2.1 it tells me that plasma crashed. I can still use krunner and other programs but the screen is black and I have no background or panel.

Since I have no panel my knetwork widget is gone so I can't connect to the internet. I'm using xfce right now.

Any suggestions on how to fix this?
    Laptop: Dell Inspiron E1505 | OpenSUSE 12.1/Windows Vista | KDE | Intel CPU T2050 1.6 GHz | Intel 945GM | 3.2GB RAM
    Box: OpenSUSE 12.1/Windows 7 | KDE | Intel Core 2 Quad 8300 2.5GHz/core | nVidia Geforce 9500GT 1GB| 4 GB RAM

Default Re: Plasma Crash during game

replaced .kde folder...probably not the best solution but I kind of need this laptop for working right now.

It really sucks that an install of KDE can be tanked as easily as playing a game. I wasn't messing around with anything, just playing a game. Oh well. You live and learn
    Laptop: Dell Inspiron E1505 | OpenSUSE 12.1/Windows Vista | KDE | Intel CPU T2050 1.6 GHz | Intel 945GM | 3.2GB RAM
    Box: OpenSUSE 12.1/Windows 7 | KDE | Intel Core 2 Quad 8300 2.5GHz/core | nVidia Geforce 9500GT 1GB| 4 GB RAM

So..it happened again. I'm just not going to play games. At all. I'll use my windows side for that.

Anyways, this is the output of trying to start plasma again.

Code:
    ian@linux-w78a:~> plasma
    QLayout: Attempting to add QLayout "" to QWidget "", which already has a layout
    plasma(24444)/kdecore (KService) KServicePrivate::init: The desktop entry file  "/usr/share/kde4/services/sysinfo.protocol"  has Type= "Application"  but no Exec line