Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: 4.2 locking up

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    310

    Default 4.2 locking up

    I'm not sure if it is 4.2 or firefox but, often (as in sometimes every 20 minutes or so) while browsing the whole system locks up. The mouse still moves the cursor, but firefox will not respond, nor will KDE, keyboard or anything. Only restart option is a quick plug out and restart.
    I'm using 11.1 and KDE4.2 on a Thinkpad r60e, I have never had problems before with 10.3, 11 or KDE 3.5.
    Any ideas, or of log printouts which may help solve this very annoying problem?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,729
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: 4.2 locking up

    If it's possible to run a terminal and do:

    Code:
    top
    That may give us some info:
    Have you removed Beagle Indexing? Many seem to have issue with it. And certainly many do remove it, me included.
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    310

    Default Re: 4.2 locking up

    Beagle is gone and this is top.


    top - 19:14:35 up 1:11, 3 users, load average: 1.06, 0.97, 0.59
    Tasks: 134 total, 1 running, 133 sleeping, 0 stopped, 0 zombie
    Cpu(s): 18.6%us, 1.7%sy, 0.0%ni, 78.8%id, 0.6%wa, 0.3%hi, 0.0%si, 0.0%st
    Mem: 1012168k total, 870468k used, 141700k free, 30360k buffers
    Swap: 3432232k total, 100k used, 3432132k free, 374596k cached

    PID USER PR NI VIRT RES SHR S %CPU %MEM TIME+ COMMAND
    2792 root 20 0 445m 56m 5300 S 26 5.8 11:06.44 X
    4314 roger 20 0 328m 126m 26m S 12 12.8 9:56.79 firefox
    3746 roger 20 0 68292 20m 16m S 7 2.0 1:36.77 kwin
    68 root 15 -5 0 0 0 S 1 0.0 0:00.72 ata/0
    2675 root 20 0 3652 1100 936 S 1 0.1 0:01.54 hald-addon-stor
    3788 roger 20 0 255m 24m 18m S 1 2.5 0:01.64 krunner
    3829 roger 20 0 32620 12m 10m S 1 1.3 0:36.74 knetworkmanager
    3862 roger 20 0 28824 8252 6548 S 1 0.8 0:00.08 knotify
    5609 roger 20 0 76100 18m 14m S 1 1.9 0:02.18 konsole
    3761 roger 20 0 378m 92m 38m S 0 9.4 0:32.00 plasma
    1 root 20 0 1008 356 308 S 0 0.0 0:01.52 init
    2 root 15 -5 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.00 kthreadd
    3 root RT -5 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.02 migration/0
    4 root 15 -5 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.32 ksoftirqd/0
    5 root RT -5 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.02 migration/1
    6 root 15 -5 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.14 ksoftirqd/1
    7 root 15 -5 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.16 events/0
    8 root 15 -5 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.50 events/1
    9 root 15 -5 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.00 khelper
    10 root 15 -5 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.00 kintegrityd/0
    11 root 15 -5 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.00 kintegrityd/1
    12 root 15 -5 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.04 kblockd/0
    13 root 15 -5 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.00 kblockd/1
    14 root 15 -5 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.00 kacpid
    15 root 15 -5 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.00 kacpi_notify
    16 root 15 -5 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.00 cqueue
    17 root 15 -5 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.04 kseriod
    18 root 15 -5 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.48 kondemand/0
    19 root 15 -5 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.00 kondemand/1
    20 root 20 0 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.12 pdflush


    thanks for the help.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,729
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: 4.2 locking up

    For heavens sake. What is with the massive text. Make it easy wont you?!
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    310

    Default Re: 4.2 locking up

    You said "do top" --> I did.
    It definitely seems to be firefox related. I installed Opera to check and haven't had a problem since. FF is 3.0.7-1.2-i586

  6. #6

    Default Re: 4.2 locking up

    i have similar lockups that seem to be related to previous releases that had a problem with the "present windows" desktop effect. before, the screen would go blank and show just the cursor... now it will freeze or crash plasma and recover... but if i disable the "present windows" effect (systemsettings/Desktop/DesktopEffects/AllEffects) the symptom evaporates.

    i'm using 4.2.1release103+Qt4.5 (xrender)... but all the releases since about 92 have been sensitive about that effect.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,729
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: 4.2 locking up

    Quote Originally Posted by Dwarfer99 View Post
    You said "do top" --> I did.
    It definitely seems to be firefox related. I installed Opera to check and haven't had a problem since. FF is 3.0.7-1.2-i586
    Possibly then a FF extension issue. Do a re-name of the .mozilla folder in your hidden user files. And try FF again, just vanilla FF. See how it is.
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    310

    Default Re: 4.2 locking up

    re. present windows, I tried that and it hasn't made any differance, but thanks for the input. I'll try vanilla ff this evening and see what happens.
    cheers

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    310

    Default Re: 4.2 locking up

    I renamed firefox and opened a vanilla version and it does seem to have fixed the problem. I have put a couple of extensions back on with no ill affect so it was likely to have been one of the others. Thanks for the help.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,729
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: 4.2 locking up

    Thanks for letting us know. Well done.
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •