Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: problem with virtualbox

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    36

    Default problem with virtualbox

    Hello

    I am using opensuse 11.1.I have installed virtualbox in my machine.The problem is that when i am running it doesn't open.Do you know why it doesn't work?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    1,253

    Default Re: problem with virtualbox

    You need to add vboxusers to your list of usergroups.

    The following steps will add vboxusers:

    1. Start Yast --> Security and Users --> User and Group Management

    On the Users tab - by default you will see your login name, UID (User ID) and Groups.

    2. Click on the Edit Button then the Details tab
    3. Under Additional Groups scroll down and select vboxusers
    4. Click on the Ok buttons and restart VirtualBox.

    Good Luck!
    My Linux Box
    OS:
    openSUSE 42.3 - Plasma 5.8.7
    OS:
    Tumbleweed Plasma 5.15.4
    ASUS P5Q | Intel Quad 6600 @3.02 GHz | 8GB G.SKILL RAM | Nvidia GeForce 750 Ti

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    36

    Default Re: problem with virtualbox

    ok thanks.But there is only one last problem.The virtualbox is very slow.Do you know how can i make it faster?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    1,253

    Default Re: problem with virtualbox

    Which part of VirtualBox is running slow?
    BTW Did you download and install all of the updates?
    My Linux Box
    OS:
    openSUSE 42.3 - Plasma 5.8.7
    OS:
    Tumbleweed Plasma 5.15.4
    ASUS P5Q | Intel Quad 6600 @3.02 GHz | 8GB G.SKILL RAM | Nvidia GeForce 750 Ti

  5. #5

    Default Re: problem with virtualbox

    Quote Originally Posted by kokeroulis View Post
    The virtualbox is very slow.Do you know how can i make it faster?
    Buy a better machine?

    :-)

    Seriously, do you really think your informations about your system are sufficient for decent help?

    If your answer is yes, think again.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    19,852
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: problem with virtualbox

    @Akoellh: Do you think this is the way to address a serious question? More simple: Questions are never stupid, answers can be !!
    Why not simply ask for more info, and be clear about what info you need from kokeroulis?

    @kokeroulis: In the General Settings of a VM in Virtualbox you can change values for the amount of RAM used by the VM, and (this one can realy speed up things) the amount of videoRAM. Furthermore it woulb be nice if you provide us with a bit more info, like CPU, graphics adapter, RAM, disks etc. Take a look at the signatures a lot of users on the forum have...
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    https://en.opensuse.org/openSUSE:Board#Members
    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

  7. #7

    Default Re: problem with virtualbox

    Quote Originally Posted by Knurpht View Post
    Questions are never stupid,
    Let me guess, you don't read a lot of forums? :-)

    Quote Originally Posted by Knurpht View Post
    Why not simply ask for more info, and be clear about what info you need from kokeroulis?
    Come on, a little bit of thinking for her/himself shouldn't be too much for every user.

    But you are right, serious questions deserve a serious answer:

    How To Ask Questions The Smart Way

    A recommend kokeroulis to read this (seriously).

  8. #8

    Default Re: problem with virtualbox

    If I am not mistaken, newborns had not written any scripts while in their mama's belly, right? This forum, being an "official" one, is also a point of entry for newcomers and as such, more experienced users (once upon a time they were noobs as well - or not? ) should try to help beyond the RTFM/sarcastic approach. Links to forum posting guidance are indeed valuable, realizing that a potential user (e.g. coming from Windoze) may not be accustomed to how he can help himself.
    ============================================================
    A VM is a like the term suggests a Virtual system running inside a physical system. If the physical system (Host OS running on the actual hardware) is able to pull speed "A" running apps, rated as 100% the virtual machine (Guest OS running on Host) can only approach this speed and never reach it. There is always lag time, that depends on the hardware, the amount of allocated resources and the type of Guest.
    Examples:
    1. Running an identical WinXP/Pro VM with same allocated resources on two PCs. One with P4/Celeron 2.4GHz, one with Athlon64 3700+. Lag in Nr.1 is considerable, lag in Nr.2 is almost negligible...
    2. If you allocate 2x resources on a VM its as if running on a system with 2x the resources, hence much faster and vice versa. If you commit 256MB RAM to a WinXP VM and it runs slow, would you be surprised? What would you expect if you ran same OS on an actual system with low RAM?
    3. If you are running an arch on a different arch that is bound to be slow...E.g. if one tried to emulate PowerPC on a x86 this would be bound to be slow

    If all of the above don't clarify things a bit, repost on the situation, providing some specifics on what exactly are you trying to do...
    ------
    ASUS A8N5X, AMD64X2 4400+,2x1GB DDR400,nVidia GF7200TC(256MB),WD 5000GB IDE

  9. #9

    Default Re: problem with virtualbox

    Quote Originally Posted by kokeroulis View Post
    Hello

    I am using opensuse 11.1.I have installed virtualbox in my machine.The problem is that when i am running it doesn't open.Do you know why it doesn't work?
    I am coming probably a little too late since your request but because I had the same problem recently and found this page first when looking for a solution, I decided to post what worked for me.
    The virtualbox entry of the english version of the opensuse wiki seems useless but the german one is more extensive.

    VirtualBox/Installation

    Basically I followed these commands, ie installing some additional packages, doing some other stuff I have no clue about and adding users to the "vboxusers" group (also as suggested below). It then worked once I rebooted.

    Good luck with the german.
    y.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Southern Europe
    Posts
    352

    Default Re: problem with virtualbox

    Quote Originally Posted by ynk1 View Post
    Good luck with the german.
    Probably good luck won't be enough with german for many users. At least for me.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •