Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: why these fonts in firefox?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    1,569

    Default why these fonts in firefox?

    Viewing web pages on this site ( New Zealand, world, sport, business & entertainment news on Stuff.co.nz ) - Firefox in Opensuse displays god awful fonts.

    see here



    Notice the terrible font spacing

    I have my system fonts set for both KDE 3 & 4 & GTK to tahoma and my fonts for Western & UTF8 encoding in firefox set to Arial

    Notice how the page looks so much better on Windows XP with exactly the same settings in Firefox



    Anybody have any idea on how these awful fonts are being assigned?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Wales, MA
    Posts
    486

    Default Re: why these fonts in firefox?

    That site looks perfectly fine to me in Firefox.

    What fonts are you using?

    I use

    Proportional = Serif

    Serif = Time Roman

    Sans Serif = Arial

    Monospace = Courier New

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    1,569

    Default Re: why these fonts in firefox?

    I have almost exactly the same settings as you except for one minor difference

    Proportional = Sans Serif

    Serif = Times Roman

    Sans Serif = Arial

    Monospace = Courier New

    However, fonts for this website are not dictated by firefox settings - they are being set by the site itself - just can't understand why the fonts displayed in my linux box look so bad.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Wales, MA
    Posts
    486

    Default Re: why these fonts in firefox?

    That could be the difference

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    1,569

    Default Re: why these fonts in firefox?

    Quote Originally Posted by brucecadieux View Post
    That could be the difference
    What could be the difference?

    I changed to exactly the same settings you listed and it made no difference.

    Do you not see the bad spacing between teh characters.
    Notice in the first screenshot above the word "residents"
    look at the spacing between e&s and e&n.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Kln, Deutschland
    Posts
    1,054

    Default Re: why these fonts in firefox?

    You have un-ticked "Allow pages to choose their own fonts instead of my selections above" haven't you?

    I'm using Firefox 3.0.6, and that can be found under Edit->Preferences->Content(Tab)->Fonts and Colours(heading)->Advanced.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    1,569

    Default Re: why these fonts in firefox?

    no - the checkbox allowing websites to use their own fonts is checked.

    If I uncheck the box the page will use the fonts I specify, which solves the problem for that site. - but I should not need to do that

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Finland, European Union
    Posts
    1,879

    Default Re: why these fonts in firefox?

    Most likely it's a case of monitor DPI being incorrect and thus the font sizes are going bonkers (not to mention it looks as if you don't have sub-pixel rendering enabled)

    Would you open up a terminal (as a normal user) and type: xdpyinfo | grep -i resolution

    then copy paste the results here.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    1,569

    Default Re: why these fonts in firefox?

    Had already checked this but here you are . . .

    Code:
    xdpyinfo | 
    grep -i resolution
      resolution:    96x96 dots per inch
    fonts are set up as per
    Optimal Use of MS TrueType Core Fonts for a KDE Desktop on SuSE - openSUSE

    As I said previously - I only have the font issue whit this website.
    I thought it might be something to do with the browser identification so I tried changing it to ID as IE on Vista but made no difference - but that may be more to do with the page being sophisticated enough to find its way round browser ID and rather look at the OS.

    Incidentally - the site looks just fine in Konqueror - it is only in Firefox I have the problem.
    However, not sure if Konqueror 4 allows websites to specify its own fonts.

  10. #10

    Default Re: why these fonts in firefox?

    Did you installed ms fonts in opensuse. if not it could be a case of the site font is missing in your font library which could have been sustituted with another font. Just my guess.

    Edit:
    I went to the site using firefox and can confirm we both have the same result. I am using tahoma in firefox.
    With epiphany the fonts in that site are almost the same with firefox in xp that you posted.
    People who do not break things first will never learn to create anything

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •