Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Do I need Caches and why

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    (Canada)
    Posts
    773

    Lightbulb Do I need Caches and why

    When I look at in My Computer Memory info. and why it eats away my memory caches.
    I believe there is no fix for it,ttto slow down a little is it?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    UTC+10
    Posts
    9,686
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default Re: Do I need Caches and why

    Cache is good. Leave it alone.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Birmingham. AL
    Posts
    858

    Default Re: Do I need Caches and why

    What Ken said.

    Linux has one of the best memory-management schemes I've ever seen. That's one reason why it runs well on older hardware.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    (Canada)
    Posts
    773

    Default Re: Do I need Caches and why

    What will happen it will eat all 2gb of ram?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Birmingham. AL
    Posts
    858

    Default Re: Do I need Caches and why

    Quote Originally Posted by 1michael1 View Post
    What will happen it will eat all 2gb of ram?
    What you should be more concerned about, from the standpoint of system performance, is if you're using a lot of *virtual* memory. That means that pages are being swapped to and from the hard drive, and you'll notice a dramatic slowdown.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    (Canada)
    Posts
    773

    Default Re: Do I need Caches and why

    Quote Originally Posted by smpoole7 View Post
    What you should be more concerned about, from the standpoint of system performance, is if you're using a lot of *virtual* memory. That means that pages are being swapped to and from the hard drive, and you'll notice a dramatic slowdown.
    Well what about movies and music.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    2,877

    Default Re: Do I need Caches and why

    Interesting discussion here: Linux: Tuning Swappiness | KernelTrap
    Cache behaviour can be controlled with the swappiness kernel variable. In a desktop with 2GB or more RAM I see no practical difference. With less RAM it has an impact depending on the machine role (desktop, server, realtime, etc.). Again in my experience, YMMV.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    N. Wales
    Posts
    1,028

    Default Re: Do I need Caches and why

    smpoole7 adjusted his/her tinfoil beanie to write:

    >
    > What Ken said.
    >
    > Linux has one of the best memory-management schemes I've ever seen.
    > That's one reason why it runs well on older hardware.
    >
    >


    Ditto Ken and smpoole7.

    unused memory is wasted memory, if linux needs it for apps then it will
    otherwise it caches stuff it "might" need in the future allowing near
    instant access instead of having to load from disk which is a lot lot
    sloowweerrrr.

    :-)

    --
    Mark
    Nullius in verba
    Nil illegitimi carborundum


  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    (Canada)
    Posts
    773

    Default Re: Do I need Caches and why

    I run yesterday almost to the max only left was 13mb,what will happen it max out will my computer blow in my face

  10. #10

    Default Re: Do I need Caches and why

    Being cache, if new memory is needed parts of the cache will be cleared. It's not a problem you should have to worry about. However if there is a specific reason that you want to clear the cache you can use the following command:
    sync && echo 3 > /proc/sys/vm/drop_caches

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •