Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: can't install suse 11.1 at all

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    7

    Default can't install suse 11.1 at all

    I have tried to install a live cd and a dvd, the result is always the same. the installation of a live cd stops and a broken screen appears.
    the dvd installation goes till the end, the system reboots and I see a black display with "grub>" and the only command it understands is "reboot".
    I install it as a second OS along with win xp.
    I have tried many distributions, and the installation always stops with the broken screen.
    Then I've read that suse has not been tested with my nvidia 6800GS.
    so, is there any way to install it? I've got both live cd and a dvd.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,743
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: can't install suse 11.1 at all

    It sounds like you have an installed system, just grub is incorrect. Can you tell us if you are using more than one HD in the install? If it's just the one, did you leave suse to setup the partitions automatically or id you do it manually?
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    7

    Default Re: can't install suse 11.1 at all

    I've got 2 disks and 4 partitions. I make another partition (10 Gb) on the primary disk and offer it to suse during the installation.
    (I did it on another computer and everything went well)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,743
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: can't install suse 11.1 at all

    I would suggest installing again. It only takes 30 mins.

    Read this first
    Partitioning/Install Guide - openSUSE Forums
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    7

    Default Re: can't install suse 11.1 at all

    so...
    I have a disk with 2 partitions, C for windows, D for files.
    I should not make a separate partition for linux resising D before the installation?
    I should offer linux make partitions as it likes from D during installation?
    right?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,743
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: can't install suse 11.1 at all

    You said you had 2 disks, what is on the other?

    But if you intend to use the one C/windows D/files

    Yes. Resize D. But you really should have defraged it before - As I understand things at the moment you can't boot windows - is that right?

    You will need to use custom partitioning to resize D as you call it. If you are not happy with anything during the install you can back out. But remember - nothing happens until the very last step.
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    7

    Default Re: can't install suse 11.1 at all

    yes I can. after the install fails I delete linux partitions with acronis bootdisk and boot into windows.
    why defrag? the new partition has nothing in it?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,743
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: can't install suse 11.1 at all

    That's fine then.

    You will need to decide which HD to install grub. If you install grub to MBR of this HD the windows bootloader in destroyed.
    Not really a problem. But is it possible to use the other HD MBR? If it just has data partitions then you should be fine.

    Use custom partitioning
    create
    /
    then an extended partition and create the following 2 logical partitions in there:
    /home
    swap

    Make note how suse identifies the drives ie; sda or sdb
    this is important - because you MUST make sure grub goes to the MBR of either sda or sdb whichever you decide.
    see pic
    http://files.myopera.com/carl4926/albums/671478/19.png

    The HD with grub should be the first HD in boot priority in BIOS.

    Check this:
    openSUSE 11.1 Install - Step by Step Photo Progression + Video - By carl4926
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    7

    Default Re: can't install suse 11.1 at all

    set grub to mbr, after install it said error 18...

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    7

    Default Re: can't install suse 11.1 at all

    then error 25
    then it deleted ntldr and (i don't know how) changed the priority of disks in bios. so finally i had to overwrite C: with the image.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •