Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: virtualbox

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Edmond, OK
    Posts
    63

    Default virtualbox

    I installed VB with yast, when I try to run it, it just hangs & never loads.
    I am not sure where to start to trouble shoot this.
    Suse 11.1-i586 kde

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    UTC+10
    Posts
    9,686
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default Re: virtualbox

    Which version, the OSE version from the OpenSUSE repositories or the Sun version from virtualbox.org?

    If the OSE version, somebody else will have to guide you, I prefer the Sun version.

    If the Sun version, first make sure you have the most up to date, 2.1.4. Even so, it may not contain the right kernel module for your kernel and you need to build it. For make sure you have kernel-source, gcc, make and (I think) pam-devel packages installed, then from the command line as root do:

    /etc/init.d/vboxdrv setup

    This will do a compile. If the compile fails, look at the log file where it says and fix the problem and try again.

    And also make sure that any users wanting to use VB are in group vboxusers. Use YaST user management to add users to that group.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Edmond, OK
    Posts
    63

    Default Re: virtualbox

    From the repo. I tried from the sun site, but it said it could not install.

    Can you help me with that?
    subprocess failed. Error: RPM failed: error: Failed dependentciesam-develis needed VirtualBox-2.1.4_42893_openSUSS111.i586

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    UTC+10
    Posts
    9,686
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default Re: virtualbox

    Install pam-devel first.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    San Diego, Ca.
    Posts
    87

    Default Re: virtualbox

    I would remove virtualbox ose via yast and then in yast select the following kernel-source, kernel-syms, xerces c, xalan c, gcc, make, and pam-devel. once that is done go to virtualbox.org and down load the rpm for your particular system, it should load and run fine. You may or may not have a problem with usb connections to the virtual machine but it's easily solvable.
    RJ

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Edmond, OK
    Posts
    63

    Default Re: virtualbox

    Oh Duh. I did that and it worked- grcias.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Edmond, OK
    Posts
    63

    Default Re: virtualbox

    Okay everything worked up to the pont where it reads the install CD. It fails there. Can you use a OEM copy of the OS?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    UTC+10
    Posts
    9,686
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default Re: virtualbox

    What are you trying to install, Windows? It's ok to use that word here, we won't tell you off for swearing.

    Most OEM Windows CDs are actually recovery CDs that can only be installed on the original equipment.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Edmond, OK
    Posts
    63

    Default Re: virtualbox

    Yeah XP pro. Welp there is no way I am buying XP, so Banshee will have to do for managing my music.

    Thanks for all the help!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,719
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: virtualbox

    FYI - In kde amarok IMO is way better for music.

    As for the OEM? I can't see why it shouldn't work.

    You could try creating a .iso from the cd and then use the .iso as the media for install.
    Leap 15_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •