Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: stalling/freezing problem

Default stalling/freezing problem

Asus P5KC Intel Core 2 Duo 3.0gHz 3.0G ram[4 installed 3 recognized] Nvidia 8500GT 575w power supply 4 cooling fans
    Internet connection - DSL modem
    [using a router [linksys] to connect 2 machines to internet but machines not connected to each other] router firewall turned off
    using openSuse firewall
    2nd machine is also a P4, but not Core 2 Duo[not experiencing probs]
    Hope I have included enough info.
    I don't know if this is a hardware or software issue, please excuse me if this is posted in the wrong section.

I have been using OpenSuse 11 for about 2 months now, before this Kubuntu 8.04 for 6 months and windows XP Pro Sp2 for a few years.

In both of the linux distros I have experienced a stalling/freezing problem, [did not happen on WinXP] where the machine/screen stops responding for approximately anywhere from 30 secs up to 4 mins. At the time it stalls, I cannot shut anything down or do anything on the computer.
    The most I have running at these times are:
    1] WCS 1.83 - chat server
    2] Wine .0964 - emulator?
    3] Winmx 3.54 - P2P program [thru Wine]
    4a] xmms - audio player
    4b] vlc - if i am playing a video
    5] file manager - either dolphin or Konqueror
    6] FireFox 3 beta 5 - occaisionally to check mail or browse
    7] whatever the OS needs to be running

I have tried shutting down programs and windows, but it makes no difference, it still stalls even with only 2 programs running.
    I believe the cooling and power supply is sufficient for this system.
    I have uninstalled beagle because i thought that might be the problem [I had heard it was a resource hog]
    I have been running the system monitor to check what [if anything] is eating up resources and there never seems to be a heavy load, but still it stalls.