Change permission for windows partition

Hi,

I installed opensuse 11.1. I have one harddisk and two partitions. One for windows. I can read files in this partiotion but can t change them. I only can if I am root.
I tried to login as root and change permission by right-clicking -> properties and permission. But I can t change it. It jumps back to the old permission.
The owner of the folder is root and users can only read.
I am a newbie and tried with chmod. But it didn t work neither.

Any ideas?

Thanks, Kluni

Are you mounting the windows partition manually or automatically?

If manually, use the options as follows:
mount /dev/xxx /windows -t auto -o uid=1000,gid=100

Here,
“dev/xxx” is the windows partition you are mounting (use the appropriate name from your system. It will be something similar to /dev/hda1, /dev/hda2, /dev/sda1, /dev/sda2 etc.).
“/windows” is the directory where you mount the windows partition. (Substitute your correct directory name.)
uid=1000,gid=100 (The ID for the first user and group ID of the “users” group in openSUSE. If you want to get these values, just type id from any terminal after logging in).

If the mounting is done automatically by the system, you have to edit the file (as root) /etc/fstab.
In this file, you will see an entry corresponding to the windows directory. Options can be set in the fourth column. just edit it to make uid=1000,gid=100 there.

Reboot after this (or unmount and mount that partition again).

Permissions and ownership in NTFS partitions are dictated entirely in the mount options contained in the mount command/description (e.g. the options suggested by syampillai “-o uid=1000,gid=100” give ownership to user=1000 and group=users). Linux commands chown (to change ownership) and chmod (to change permissions) don’t work on NTFS partitions.

I just tried the suggestion of syampillai; viz:
mount /dev/xxx /windows -t auto -o uid=1000,gid=100
It locked up my system and I had to pull the plug to reboot.