Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Plasma Error

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    (Canada)
    Posts
    773

    Exclamation Plasma Error

    The Error I get is:

    Error launching /home/michaelKanada/Desktop/konsole.desktop. Either KLauncher is not running anymore, or it failed to start the application

    Could one of you please give me hand and helping me out to correct it.

    Will be nice and kind from you.

    Thanx again

    Mike

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    (Canada)
    Posts
    773

    Exclamation Re: Plasma Error

    That is the error I get:


    A Fatal Error Occurred
    The application Plasma Workspace (plasma) crashed and caused the signal 11 (SIGSEGV).
    Please help us improve the software you use by filing a report at http://bugs.kde.org. Useful details include how to reproduce the error, documents that were loaded, etc.

    Please could you help me out

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Posts
    184

    Default Re: Plasma Error

    I'm assuming this error occurs when you boot your pc and load your desktop. If it does, do you have a konsole icon on your desktop?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    (Canada)
    Posts
    773

    Exclamation Re: Plasma Error

    Quote Originally Posted by chyrania View Post
    I'm assuming this error occurs when you boot your pc and load your desktop. If it does, do you have a konsole icon on your desktop?
    When I`m start up my computer everything is okay except when I open the Konsole in about 10-20 second later,Error window show up:
    usually I read?.

    Sorry - Plasma Workspace

    Error launching /home/michaelKanada/Desktop/konsole.desktop. Either KLauncher is not running anymore, or it failed to start the application

    So that is all the time when I use Konsole.
    The other one when I open the Konsole and close the Konsole in 2 second I get that kind of error:

    Sorry - Plasma Workspace

    KDEInit could not launch '/opt/kde3/bin/konsole'.

    I know there is something wrong or is it something missing?

    Thank you for helping me.

    Michael

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    (Canada)
    Posts
    773

    Default Re: Plasma Error

    There must be someone of you know to fix the problem

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,125

    Default Re: Plasma Error

    What level of suse and kde are you using? I get plasma crashes every once in awhile that I can't explain. But, plasma restarts itself in a few seconds. So, it is an annoyance but not a show-stopper.
    Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic. - Arthur C. Clarke

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    (Canada)
    Posts
    773

    Default Re: Plasma Error

    Quote Originally Posted by Prexy View Post
    What level of suse and kde are you using? I get plasma crashes every once in awhile that I can't explain. But, plasma restarts itself in a few seconds. So, it is an annoyance but not a show-stopper.
    I`m using Suse 11.1 kde 4.2 and may Kde4.2 screwed up my screen,my screen is black.Look for a new thread

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    (Canada)
    Posts
    773

    Thumbs up Re: Plasma Error

    I update my KDE$ 4.1.3 --->KDE4.2.1 and I have no problem with the plasma.

    Thank you all who try to help me and I appreciate for your time.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Liège Walifornia
    Posts
    389

    Default Re: Plasma Error

    I don't know if it is nice to bump a two years old thread but I have similar issue since I updated the kernel...
    Now sometimes (not all the time) the applications launched from the kde panel are slow to be launched and sometimes I got this message

    Code:
    Error launching /usr/share/applications/YaST.desktop Either KLauncher is not running anymore or it failed to launch the application
    ...but the application is launched anyway...

    When Firefox launched in one or two seconds before the kernel update, it takes sometimes 8 or 10 seconds to launch... this is the only application that the time for launching has changed so brutaly... the other applications seem to launch normally...

    I'm working with a 11.4 openSuSE, with kde 4.6.00 (release 6)...
    The kernel is 2.6.37.6-0.20-desktop

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •