Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Barry won't install

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    13

    Default Barry won't install

    I'm trying to install barry but when it downloads and installs nothing shows up in my applications menu or anywhere else on my computer. Nothing happens. Anybody else had this problem?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    26,641
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Barry won't install

    Quote Originally Posted by Bmtt
    I'm trying to install barry but when it downloads and installs nothing
    shows up in my applications menu or anywhere else on my computer.
    Nothing happens. Anybody else had this problem?
    Hi
    They are all cli tools, You need to create a launcher to the installed
    programs eg barrybackup.

    --
    Cheers Malcolm (Linux Counter #276890)
    openSUSE 11.1 x86 Kernel 2.6.27.7-9-default
    up 14:44, 3 users, load average: 0.17, 0.27, 0.29
    GPU GeForce 6600 TE/6200 TE - Driver Version: 180.29


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    13

    Default Re: Barry won't install

    Sorry I'm a bit new at this. How would you create a launcher for those programs?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    26,641
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Barry won't install

    Quote Originally Posted by Bmtt
    Sorry I'm a bit new at this. How would you create a launcher for those
    programs?
    Hi
    Not sure which desktop environment your using, but in Gnome you can
    just right-click on the desktop and select create launcher. Then in
    here place the relevant info.
    If you want a menu item, just start the Control Center and the select
    Main Menu to add an item.

    --
    Cheers Malcolm (Linux Counter #276890)
    openSUSE 11.1 x86 Kernel 2.6.27.7-9-default
    up 18:33, 1 user, load average: 0.41, 0.12, 0.12
    GPU GeForce 6600 TE/6200 TE - Driver Version: 180.29


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    13

    Default Re: Barry won't install

    Thanks malcolmlewis

    But I'm using kde 4. What do I need to do there?

  6. #6

    Default Re: Barry won't install

    Right click the green geko lower left and select menu editor.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    13

    Default Re: Barry won't install

    I don't know what I'm doing. I installed barry. I get the menu editor but I don't know what to do once I'm in the editor. Can somebody walk me through this please? I would be truly grateful.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •