Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: kNetworkManager is not running.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    East Stroudsburg
    Posts
    153

    Exclamation kNetworkManager is not running.

    I've encountered a problem, After I got helped at fixing my GRUB booting, I repaired my system and everything looked fine, but after the 1st restart My network manager stopped working. (KDE 4.1) Please help. It indicates .. Network Manager is not running. I've edited the connections, it has my rooter in there as a connection but I cannot connect to it. Please help

    Thanks a lot.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,723
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: kNetworkManager is not running.

    Start - System - Desktop Applet

    it should be in there

    or just open a terminal and do

    knetworkmanager
    Leap 15_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    19,883
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: kNetworkManager is not running.

    Have a read of this thread re autostart.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    East Stroudsburg
    Posts
    153

    Default Re: kNetworkManager is not running.

    It's not what I meant. It does start automatically when I boot, but I cannot connect to a network.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,723
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: kNetworkManager is not running.

    You say:
    Network Manager is not running
    And:
    It does start automatically when I boot
    Umm.

    So the applet shows in the sys tray? Yes!

    But you can't configure it?

    You could try deleting the hidden config files and starting from scratch.

    .kde/share/config/knetworkmanagerrc
    Leap 15_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    East Stroudsburg
    Posts
    153

    Default Re: kNetworkManager is not running.

    When I get home( I'm at school right now) I'll try what you guys suggested, and I'll post back.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    East Stroudsburg
    Posts
    153

    Default Re: kNetworkManager is not running.

    The funniest thing is that, Every time I reinstall (dont it 4 times at least) It works just fine and then, after a couple of reboots and just stops working. I can't explain it, It's like, it's auto configuring, it finds my wireless card, I can just browse through networks and connect, and the next time you reboot your system, its not working ( not running, which really is).

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •