Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Compiz not working

Hybrid View

Unhappy Compiz not working

Hello friends...
    im new to Linux and Opensuse 11.1 is the first linux distribution i ever installed. This distro is gr8t. I really love this. Since installation, im trying to enable the *compiz* in KDE4 but failed. I have a Amd x2 3600+ and a Nvidia 9500GT graphics. I followed the guide listed in this website but no use. I installed the graphic card drivers succesfully. then followed this Compiz Fusion - openSUSE
    While trying the checklist, i always get the msg that composite is disabled no matter what i do. I dont have a net connection so i cannot use the one click install.

i tried the instructions here and got a msg that composite is enabled.

su -
    nvidia-xconfig --composite
    nvidia-xconfig --render-accel
    nvidia-xconfig --add-argb-glx-visuals -d 24

and when i try running this as mentioned here Compiz Fusion - openSUSE
    i get msg that composite is disabled.

grep Composite /var/log/Xorg.0.log

Plz tell me how to enable this feature.....

Blog Entries

Default Re: Compiz not working

You do NOT need to install it they way have. Compiz is already installed and effects are enabled via the Config Desktop - Desktop - enable desktop effects
    all effects
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

Exclamation Re: Compiz not working

But i already did that previously and nothing is happening. Are there any shortcut keys for enbling that Cube effect? How should i trigger that? I enabled all effects and nothings happening actually.

Blog Entries

Have you upgraded your kde to 4.2?

Trouble is they keep moving all the settings and I'm not sure where it will be in 4.1.3
    But in all efects you need to check the cube effect

Then look for desktop switching settings
    In 4.2 it's the opening section in Desktop effects
    there are 3 drop boxes

window switching
    desktop switching
    animation speed
    Leap 15.1_KDE