Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: VNC on 11.1

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Dublin, Ireland
    Posts
    298

    Default VNC on 11.1

    Hi,

    Anyone manage to get VNC to work on 11.1? I can see the Opensuse screen that comes up after login but it just hangs there. I edited my vnc xstart file and added 'startkde &'. I am using:

    Code:
    vncserver -geometry 800x600 -depth 16 :1
    and

    Code:
    vncviewer myhost:1
    /jlar

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Oz
    Posts
    11,727
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: VNC on 11.1

    VNC has a bug in openSUSE 11.0 and 11.1 for users of KDE4. Try this console command to start vncserver:
    Code:
    dbus-launch vncserver
    There's a bug report here with more info: https://bugzilla.novell.com/show_bug.cgi?id=457809
    Last edited by swerdna; 09-Feb-2009 at 04:58. Reason: To fix a typographical error
    Leap 42.3 & 15.1(Beta) &KDE
    FYIs from the days of yore

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Dublin, Ireland
    Posts
    298

    Default Re: VNC on 11.1

    Hi,

    Thanks for your reply... I tried that command:

    dbus-start vncserver

    but I am getting:

    bash: dbus: command not found

    any ideas?

    /jlar

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    26,563
    Blog Entries
    38

    Default Re: VNC on 11.1

    I have vnc working under openSUSE-11.1 KDE-3.5.10, but not under KDE4. I spent a fair amount of time on Sunday, connected from Europe to North America via vnc, maintaining my mother's openSUSE-11.1 PC in North America (from my European openSUSE-11.1 PC). [Both PCs are running KDE-3.5.10 - quite possibly the "best" KDE around (at this time) ... ]

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Oz
    Posts
    11,727
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: VNC on 11.1

    Quote Originally Posted by eeijlar View Post
    Hi,

    Thanks for your reply... I tried that command:

    dbus-start vncserver

    but I am getting:

    bash: dbus: command not found

    any ideas?

    /jlar
    Typo -- I meant to say: dbus-launch vncserver
    Leap 42.3 & 15.1(Beta) &KDE
    FYIs from the days of yore

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Dublin, Ireland
    Posts
    298

    Default Re: VNC on 11.1

    The computer I am connecting to runs a dual-boot of Windows Xp and Opensuse 11.1. I connected to both (from OpenSuse 11.0) using the Remote Desktop Connection tool. RDP to connect to XP and VNC to connect to each OS. For some reason when I connect to OpenSuse it is really really slow, but using RDP to connect to XP is really quick. To setup the vnc I did the following:

    Code:
    dbus-launch vncserver
    on the remote host... then in Remote Desktop Connection tool I selected the remote host VNC.

    It should be as quick as XP or even quicker I would have thought.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Oz
    Posts
    11,727
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: VNC on 11.1

    Quote Originally Posted by eeijlar View Post
    The computer I am connecting to runs a dual-boot of Windows Xp and Opensuse 11.1. I connected to both (from OpenSuse 11.0) using the Remote Desktop Connection tool. RDP to connect to XP and VNC to connect to each OS. For some reason when I connect to OpenSuse it is really really slow, but using RDP to connect to XP is really quick. To setup the vnc I did the following:

    Code:
    dbus-launch vncserver
    on the remote host... then in Remote Desktop Connection tool I selected the remote host VNC.

    It should be as quick as XP or even quicker I would have thought.
    There are options you can use to optimise the connection in VNC. Read these:
    man vncserver: TightVNC: Manual Page for vncserver(1)
    man vncviewer: TightVNC: Manual Page for vncviewer(1)
    and even man xorg-x11-Xvnc: TightVNC: Manual Page for Xvnc(1)

    It's hard to extract the best combinations of options from them. I'm looking at that but won't be finished for quite a while, principally because the bugs for VNC in KDE4/Suse are obscuring the problem for me.
    Leap 42.3 & 15.1(Beta) &KDE
    FYIs from the days of yore

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Dublin, Ireland
    Posts
    298

    Default Re: VNC on 11.1

    VNC's speed is a shame. I went to a lot of trouble getting 11.1 working in work, and a lot of time rooting with a Perl script to access the VPN, and now to discover that VNC renders the remote login practically useless is dissappointing. I am remote logged into XP at the moment and it's as if I was at work. It seems that the protocol windows uses is much faster than VNC. It's a pity the same protocol isn't available for Linux.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Oz
    Posts
    11,727
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: VNC on 11.1

    Quote Originally Posted by eeijlar View Post
    VNC's speed is a shame. I went to a lot of trouble getting 11.1 working in work, and a lot of time rooting with a Perl script to access the VPN, and now to discover that VNC renders the remote login practically useless is dissappointing. I am remote logged into XP at the moment and it's as if I was at work. It seems that the protocol windows uses is much faster than VNC. It's a pity the same protocol isn't available for Linux.
    I'm confused now, too many combinations/permutations. Can you explain in more detail the slow connection?
    For the server: the operating system, the Desktop Environment (kde3, kde4, gnome), the Desktop Environment being served out, how the server is invoked/started.
    For the client: the operating system, the Desktop Environment, the client software and how it's started.
    Leap 42.3 & 15.1(Beta) &KDE
    FYIs from the days of yore

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Dublin, Ireland
    Posts
    298

    Default Re: VNC on 11.1

    Ok, here it is:

    Note, that the Remote Host is the same machine in both cases running a dual boot of XP/Suse

    Code:
    Local Host                            Remote Host
    Windows Vista  ->   connecting to  -> Windows XP via RD
    Suse 11.0/KDE 4.0 -> connecting to -> Suse 11.1/KDE 4.1 via VNC
    Remote Host
    To connect Suse. I logged into the Remote Host via SSH, and started the VNC server using:

    Code:
    dbus-launch vncserver

    Local Host

    Started Remote Desktop (graphical version) for Opensuse... selected VNC as the protocol and then put in the ip of the remoted host and the DISPLAY.

    Code:
    ip-address:2
    Is this wrong... it was the only way that worked. To connect to XP I simply used remote desktop in Vista.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •