Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: KDE4-Amarok

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Winnipeg, Canada
    Posts
    203

    Default KDE4-Amarok

    Is anyone else having Problems with KDE4-Amarok Playing MP3's? I'm running KDE4.2 release 83.1.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,729
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: KDE4-Amarok

    Works a treat for me. Sweet!

    I deleted amarok from packman.

    Added kde4 ver. That was it.
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  3. #3

    Default Re: KDE4-Amarok

    Same here. No mp3 playback. I tried upgrading phonon to the latest packages, but no luck.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Mid North Coast - NSW - Australia
    Posts
    43

    Default Re: KDE4-Amarok

    Another success story here. Using 4.2.00 (KDE 4.2.0) "release 83.1"

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Riga, Latvia
    Posts
    67

    Default Re: KDE4-Amarok

    after casual kde 4.2 update amarok 1.4.10 doesn't add anything to playlist here.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Helsinki, EU
    Posts
    33

    Default Re: KDE4-Amarok

    To be able to play mp3s, you'll need the libxine package from the Packman repository (i.e., this one). Naturally phonon-backend-xine (or something like that, don't remember the name exactly) is also needed... Should be equally possible with gstreamer as well, but since I'm not using it I let someone else comment more on that.
    Vesa Muhonen

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    relative
    Posts
    1,172

    Default Re: KDE4-Amarok

    I have problems with my Amarok. Sometimes it stops playing my playlist after some songs - but totally randomly. I need to kill Amarok - it isn't responding.
    http://mydailyhash.wordpress.com/
    http://yami.googlecode.com/

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Helsinki, EU
    Posts
    33

    Default Re: KDE4-Amarok

    Actually, this has happened to me on some occasions as well but never that bad that I'd needed to resort to killing processes... Seems to be reported [bugs.kde.org] already, so people will hopefully nail it down at some point.
    Vesa Muhonen

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    relative
    Posts
    1,172

    Default Re: KDE4-Amarok

    Quote Originally Posted by vjm View Post
    Actually, this has happened to me on some occasions as well but never that bad that I'd needed to resort to killing processes... Seems to be reported [bugs.kde.org] already, so people will hopefully nail it down at some point.
    Wow, thanks for this link! I'll join to the discussion it's like my problem, except I don't need to start the Internet radio. Now I'm listening to Songbird.
    http://mydailyhash.wordpress.com/
    http://yami.googlecode.com/

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    8

    Default Re: KDE4-Amarok

    Quote Originally Posted by caf4926 View Post
    Works a treat for me. Sweet!

    I deleted amarok from packman.

    Added kde4 ver. That was it.
    Yes, I'm running openSuse 11.1 with KDE4.2 and that's what I had to do to stop it from crashing; too bad it wasn't updated along with the rest of KDE.
    noobus in perpetuum

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •