Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Compiz "SEGFAULTs" when QT4 Apps are launched (GNOME 11.1)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Mexico
    Posts
    205

    Default Compiz "SEGFAULTs" when QT4 Apps are launched (GNOME 11.1)

    Hi.

    I just noticed some days ago that after running any QT4 app under GNOME (OS11.1), compiz completely breaks with the following message in dmesg:
    compiz[9714]: segfault at 10 ip b6bc14b9 sp bfbdcaf0 error 4 in libfade.so[b6bbf000+3000]
    I searched all over the forums and I hvaen't found anything related to this issue.
    Can anyone enlighten me a little bit on how to solve this problem?

    NOTES:

    1. This behavior happens to me on two laptops with nVidia Video Cards with the latest backend (NVIDIA Comunity repos)
    2. I'm using X11/XGL repos on both machines.
    3. I'm using QT4 from KDE4 repos on both machines to try to solve the problem but i did not help at all

    Thanks in advance

    Luis
    La Humildad no es "Status"..
    ... es un �"Don"!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,273

    Default Re: Compiz "SEGFAULTs" when QT4 Apps are launched (GNOME 11.

    Hi Luis,

    As I've seen the seagfaults seem to happen when using the one-click method for installing the NVidia card. I haven't had this happen on my system.. but read this as being a possible issue.

    You could try reinstalling the NVidia driver using 'the hard way' found on the wiki page : NVIDIA - openSUSE

    Also see this post, comment #5 in particular: http://forums.opensuse.org/hardware/...00gtx-sli.html

    Good luck!
    Wj
    Have a lot of fun!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Mexico
    Posts
    205

    Default Re: Compiz "SEGFAULTs" when QT4 Apps are launched (GNOME 11.

    Thanks @Wj

    The suggested method didn't work.

    This is very strange tho. I remember using this machine; before I refrmatted, with QT4 apps (like kdenlive or qcad) and they worked just perfectly. When I reinstalled OS11.1 and I upgraded everything then the problems started. (although not too sure now)

    Anyother suggestion?

    Thanks in advance.

    Luis

    EDIT: I forgot to mention I used the 180.22 driver which is the same that appears in the repos.
    La Humildad no es "Status"..
    ... es un �"Don"!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,273

    Default Re: Compiz "SEGFAULTs" when QT4 Apps are launched (GNOME 11.

    Guess as a suggestion it's worth a try:
    Have you tried reinstalling the compiz packages and also chucking (or renaming) the ~/.config/compiz folder?

    Before reinstalling the packages, disable compiz reinstall/upgrade and then chuck the folder before re-enabling.

    To check if you have the latest packages from the X11 repo:
    Code:
    zypper up -t package -r X11:XGL #X11:XGL or use the number listed for the repo
    Strange that it's on both systems though..
    Have a lot of fun!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Mexico
    Posts
    205

    Default Re: Compiz "SEGFAULTs" when QT4 Apps are launched (GNOME 11.

    Thanks again @Wj

    Unfortunately it did not work
    The message I recieved in the terminal was:
    /usr/bin/compiz-manager: line 424: 7693 Violacin de segmento ${COMPIZ_BIN_PATH}${COMPIZ_NAME} $COMPIZ_OPTIONS "$@" $COMPIZ_PLUGINS
    which is exactly the same, as posted earlier, in dmesg.

    Strange that it's on both systems though..
    Indeed. My daughters laptop has a AMD nVidia CPU/GPU and I have an Intel Core Duo CPU and nVidia GPU. But we both share (almost) the same configuration. I cannot fix hers anymore as far as she has left this morning to the University (about 1000 Km away from here)

    I'll keep on trying whatever new suggestions arise. Just be patient if I don't answer very fast . I really have a lot of work.

    Kind Regards

    Luis
    La Humildad no es "Status"..
    ... es un �"Don"!

  6. #6

    Default Re: Compiz "SEGFAULTs" when QT4 Apps are launched (GNOME 11.

    i got the same problem in 2 different computers, both have nvidia cards...

    actually i have posted in 3 different threads about compiz "SEGFAULTS"... this is making my desktop practically unusable with compiz enabled...

  7. #7

    Default Re: Compiz "SEGFAULTs" when QT4 Apps are launched (GNOME 11.

    FOUND A FIX!!!!

    1. uninstall all your compiz packages
    2. delete your actual compiz repository
    3. install this compiz http://download.opensuse.org/reposit...sion-gnome.ymp

    Enjoy it!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Mexico
    Posts
    205

    Default Re: Compiz "SEGFAULTs" when QT4 Apps are launched (GNOME 11.

    @innovamanager

    You are the Man

    Yup... that was the fix..

    Thanks so much and Kind Regards

    Luis

    Just for the record....

    Can you post the fix link? Thanks
    Last edited by LuisC-SM; 28-Jan-2009 at 21:06. Reason: Where did you find the fix?
    La Humildad no es "Status"..
    ... es un �"Don"!

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •