Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Firefox. Two machines - one Profile.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    PARADISE
    Posts
    929

    Thumbs up Firefox. Two machines - one Profile.

    Yeah. Me again. I rock, I know... don't tell me.

    What I want to accomplish is to basically use two firefoxes: One inside a Virtual machine (VMware Workstation) and the other one on my native Suse system.
    Difficulty: Using ONLY one profile. If I save a bookmark in the linux firefox, it should be available in the Virtual machine - and the other way around.

    Difficult riddle, huh? ^^

    TheMask
    CHECK OUT THESE GitHub PROJECTS!

    https://secupwn.github.io/Android-IMSI-Catcher-Detector/
    https://github.com/SecUpwN/Spotify-AdKiller

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Bangalore, India
    Posts
    365

    Default Re: Firefox. Two machines - one Profile.


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    20,038
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: Firefox. Two machines - one Profile.

    First you can share folders between host and guest(s), ideally you set up the users on both sides in the same way, i,e, order, they'd best have the same user-ID's
    After that you need to look for the file profiles.ini , it points to a "sdfuiuh91-default" folder. This is where everything is kept. The only thing you have to do is point to the same folder.

    Then again FF is quite tricky, won't allow running instances in both host and guest. You'll get a message that FF is already active...

    But the above should give you an idea of how it can be done. Can't say more, because I don't know what kind of host and guest you're talking.

    TAKE CARE: make copies of both FF-folders from your home....

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Pottstown PA, US
    Posts
    150

    Default Re: Firefox. Two machines - one Profile.

    Opera has this feature built in -- its called "profile syncing"
    Desktop| opensuse11.3| Core2Q Q9450 | nVidia GeForce 8800 GT
    Server| Arch | mythtv 024 | Core2D E7500| nVidia GT210
    HTPC| opensuse11.3 | mythtv 024| Atom 330 | ASUS AT3IONT-I Deluxe | nVidia ION
    Laptop| System76 | opensuse11.3| Core2D P8600 | nVidia 9300M

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    20,038
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: Firefox. Two machines - one Profile.

    You're right. And even more, by editing opera6.ini .........
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    https://en.opensuse.org/openSUSE:Board#Members
    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    PARADISE
    Posts
    929

    Default Re: Firefox. Two machines - one Profile.

    Nope, no Opera fan. I will try to share the firefox settings folder. Thanks.

    TheMask.
    CHECK OUT THESE GitHub PROJECTS!

    https://secupwn.github.io/Android-IMSI-Catcher-Detector/
    https://github.com/SecUpwN/Spotify-AdKiller

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    U.K East Anglia
    Posts
    2,581

    Default Re: Firefox. Two machines - one Profile.

    Is any of these any good ?

    Roaming profiles - MozillaZine Knowledge Base
    Firefox and Roaming Profiles HOWTO | The Firefox Folding@Home Team

    Not a Firefox user,but, Seamonkey has had roaming profiles for a while ( which is what i use )

    Andy
    To be is to do = Immanuel Kant
    To do is to be = Descartes.
    Do be do be do = Frank Sinatra

    SuSE user since 7.0,Linux user since 1994

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Bangalore, India
    Posts
    365

    Default Re: Firefox. Two machines - one Profile.

    Quote Originally Posted by deltaflyer44 View Post
    Is any of these any good ?

    Roaming profiles - MozillaZine Knowledge Base
    Firefox and Roaming Profiles HOWTO | The Firefox Folding@Home Team

    Not a Firefox user,but, Seamonkey has had roaming profiles for a while ( which is what i use )

    Andy
    Those are neat links, thanks

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    PARADISE
    Posts
    929

    Default Re: Firefox. Two machines - one Profile.

    Thanks, I'll try that.

    TheMask
    CHECK OUT THESE GitHub PROJECTS!

    https://secupwn.github.io/Android-IMSI-Catcher-Detector/
    https://github.com/SecUpwN/Spotify-AdKiller

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •