Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: virtualbox

  1. #1

    Default virtualbox

    hi, i installed virtualbox and it works as root but not my user. says permissions denied.

    i added my user to the group vboxusers but it still is a no go.

    works fine as root

    i followed the guide here

    Tutorial : VirtualBox on openSUSE 11.1 Part 1 | Spirit of Change

    any ideas?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,733
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: virtualbox

    Check here
    VirtualBox Installation - openSUSE

    If using OSE you might want to add this repo and update
    Index of /repositories/Virtualization:/VirtualBox/openSUSE_11.1

    You should not be runnin as root!

    Try rebooting.
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Bangalore, India
    Posts
    365

    Default Re: virtualbox

    Did you reboot your system after adding user to vboxusers group?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    UTC+10
    Posts
    9,686
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default Re: virtualbox

    Logging out and back in again is sufficient.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Skogås Sweden
    Posts
    638

    Default Re: virtualbox

    Remove /tmp/.vbox-*-ipc/ and retry running it as your ordinary
    user.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Bekasi-Indonesia
    Posts
    9

    Default Re: virtualbox

    Quote Originally Posted by randomguy View Post
    hi, i installed virtualbox and it works as root but not my user. says permissions denied.

    i added my user to the group vboxusers but it still is a no go.

    works fine as root

    i followed the guide here

    Tutorial : VirtualBox on openSUSE 11.1 Part 1 | Spirit of Change

    any ideas?
    Take a look to another article : Solved : VirtualBox Permission Problem with Normal User | Spirit of Change
    ---
    Masim Vavai Sugianto
    http://www.vavai.net

  7. #7

    Default Re: virtualbox

    awesome, it worked out great. thanks for your help.

  8. #8

    Default Re: virtualbox

    oh one more thing:

    i have lots of virtualbox virtual machines on my hard drive from a previous installation.

    any way i can import those into my current virtual box installation?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Skogås Sweden
    Posts
    638

    Default Re: virtualbox

    In your home directory you have a hidden directory .VirtualBox,
    all your machines are contained in there. Take a look at that
    directory and I'm sure you'll understand how to manage that.
    I'm old and lazy and have only one virtual machine so I always
    keep a couple of copys of that directory on an external hard
    drive, different instances. That way I can restore them on a
    new installation, and also roll back to a previos instance should
    something nasty happen to my XP-machine. Back up the XP-machine
    you already have and feel free to experiment.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,733
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: virtualbox

    Quote Originally Posted by randomguy View Post
    oh one more thing:

    i have lots of virtualbox virtual machines on my hard drive from a previous installation.

    any way i can import those into my current virtual box installation?
    Select create New machine and then point it to the VDI file of the machine from your old files. Ideally you want to have already put the old VDI files in your current VDI location. Which as has been mentioned is by default it your hidden folders under your username.
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •