Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Suse 11.1 and Google Earth

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    West Wales
    Posts
    322

    Angry Suse 11.1 and Google Earth

    Hi

    I have installed Google earth, it runs but then locks the computer as the program runs and the earth comes nearer!

    I installed it in this way - via help on this forum.
    'download the program to User file (I put
    mine in /home/user/bin) Make executable by right click on the file in Your,file Manager Properties>Permissions check the block>is executable

    GoogleEarthLinux.bin

    Then double clicked on the .bin file when in your file manager
    and it will execute.

    Any ideas would be appreciated

    Thanks
    Emachine e510 m360,Celeron 2.13GHz,Mobile Intel GL960,int.Graphics X3100,Vista & Suse 11.1, KDE3.5.
    PC running Suse 11.1, KDE3.5 with Pentium D CPU 3.00GHz,nVidia 7600GS,
    PC running XP & Suse 11.1, KDE3.5 with Pentium(R) D CPU 3.00GHz,nVidia 7600GS

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    relative
    Posts
    1,172

    Default Re: Suse 11.1 and Google Earth

    Quote Originally Posted by signetone View Post
    Hi

    I have installed Google earth, it runs but then locks the computer as the program runs and the earth comes nearer!

    I installed it in this way - via help on this forum.
    'download the program to User file (I put
    mine in /home/user/bin) Make executable by right click on the file in Your,file Manager Properties>Permissions check the block>is executable

    GoogleEarthLinux.bin

    Then double clicked on the .bin file when in your file manager
    and it will execute.

    Any ideas would be appreciated

    Thanks
    That installation looks like OK.
    Are you tried to change some video options to lower values in Google-Earth?
    Are you have video drivers installed? Maybe the "locking" is caused by your video card.
    http://mydailyhash.wordpress.com/
    http://yami.googlecode.com/

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    West Wales
    Posts
    322

    Angry Re: Suse 11.1 and Google Earth

    Quote Originally Posted by ram88 View Post
    That installation looks like OK.
    Are you tried to change some video options to lower values in Google-Earth?
    Are you have video drivers installed? Maybe the "locking" is caused by your video card.
    I will do that in google earth.

    How can i find out what video drivers are installed?

    It's the machine in my signature

    Thanks
    Emachine e510 m360,Celeron 2.13GHz,Mobile Intel GL960,int.Graphics X3100,Vista & Suse 11.1, KDE3.5.
    PC running Suse 11.1, KDE3.5 with Pentium D CPU 3.00GHz,nVidia 7600GS,
    PC running XP & Suse 11.1, KDE3.5 with Pentium(R) D CPU 3.00GHz,nVidia 7600GS

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    West Wales
    Posts
    322

    Angry Re: Suse 11.1 and Google Earth

    Quote Originally Posted by ram88 View Post
    That installation looks like OK.
    Are you tried to change some video options to lower values in Google-Earth?
    Are you have video drivers installed? Maybe the "locking" is caused by your video card.
    Hi

    Yes it the something to do with the video card, it locks when the screen starts moving - no time to adjust the settings as it's then locked.

    Not sure where to find the driver I am using?

    Thanks
    Emachine e510 m360,Celeron 2.13GHz,Mobile Intel GL960,int.Graphics X3100,Vista & Suse 11.1, KDE3.5.
    PC running Suse 11.1, KDE3.5 with Pentium D CPU 3.00GHz,nVidia 7600GS,
    PC running XP & Suse 11.1, KDE3.5 with Pentium(R) D CPU 3.00GHz,nVidia 7600GS

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    relative
    Posts
    1,172

    Default Re: Suse 11.1 and Google Earth

    Quote Originally Posted by signetone View Post
    I will do that in google earth.

    How can i find out what video drivers are installed?

    It's the machine in my signature

    Thanks
    This is an Intel card, so probably you have drivers installed. To check is there any 3D accelaration start Sax2 and see Video settings. Paste the output of this commands from Konsole:
    Code:
    cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf | grep Driver
    .
    Are you have Desktop Effects enabled
    Code:
    cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf | grep Composite
    ?
    http://mydailyhash.wordpress.com/
    http://yami.googlecode.com/

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    West Wales
    Posts
    322

    Question Re: Suse 11.1 and Google Earth

    Quote Originally Posted by ram88 View Post
    This is an Intel card, so probably you have drivers installed. To check is there any 3D accelaration start Sax2 and see Video settings. Paste the output of this commands from Konsole:
    Code:
    cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf | grep Driver
    .
    Are you have Desktop Effects enabled
    Code:
    cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf | grep Composite
    ?
    Hi in SAX2 the 3D has been ticked.

    and

    brian@linux-n2vd:~> cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf | grep Driver
    Driver "kbd"
    Driver "mouse"
    Driver "synaptics"
    Driver "synaptics"
    Driver "intel"
    brian@linux-n2vd:~> cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf | grep Composite
    Option "Composite" "on"
    brian@linux-n2vd:~>
    Emachine e510 m360,Celeron 2.13GHz,Mobile Intel GL960,int.Graphics X3100,Vista & Suse 11.1, KDE3.5.
    PC running Suse 11.1, KDE3.5 with Pentium D CPU 3.00GHz,nVidia 7600GS,
    PC running XP & Suse 11.1, KDE3.5 with Pentium(R) D CPU 3.00GHz,nVidia 7600GS

  7. #7
    Yosuf Mossad Mohammed Vitriolus NNTP User

    Default Re: Suse 11.1 and Google Earth

    > Any ideas would be appreciated

    have you tried turning off desktop effects?
    if running KDE4, have you tried KDE3.x? or GNOME?

    try turning off firefox before starting GE

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    West Wales
    Posts
    322

    Default Re: Suse 11.1 and Google Earth

    Quote Originally Posted by Yosuf Mossad Mohammed Vitriolus View Post
    > Any ideas would be appreciated

    have you tried turning off desktop effects?
    if running KDE4, have you tried KDE3.x? or GNOME?

    try turning off firefox before starting GE
    I am running Suse 11.1 and KDE3.5

    i will turn off the desktop effects and see

    Thanks
    Emachine e510 m360,Celeron 2.13GHz,Mobile Intel GL960,int.Graphics X3100,Vista & Suse 11.1, KDE3.5.
    PC running Suse 11.1, KDE3.5 with Pentium D CPU 3.00GHz,nVidia 7600GS,
    PC running XP & Suse 11.1, KDE3.5 with Pentium(R) D CPU 3.00GHz,nVidia 7600GS

  9. #9

    Default Re: Suse 11.1 and Google Earth

    See my answer at this thread:
    Suse 11.1 and Google Earth - openSUSE Forums

    And this thread at forums.kde.org:

    intel graphics vs google earth vs kde4 - 1

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    West Wales
    Posts
    322

    Default Re: Suse 11.1 and Google Earth

    Quote Originally Posted by ram88 View Post
    This is an Intel card, so probably you have drivers installed. To check is there any 3D accelaration start Sax2 and see Video settings. Paste the output of this commands from Konsole:
    Code:
    cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf | grep Driver
    .
    Are you have Desktop Effects enabled
    Code:
    cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf | grep Composite
    ?
    Hi thanks for reply.

    brian@linux-n2vd:~> cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf | grep Driver
    Driver "kbd"
    Driver "mouse"
    Driver "synaptics"
    Driver "synaptics"
    Driver "intel"
    brian@linux-n2vd:~>

    brian@linux-n2vd:~> cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf | grep Composite
    Option "Composite" "on"
    Emachine e510 m360,Celeron 2.13GHz,Mobile Intel GL960,int.Graphics X3100,Vista & Suse 11.1, KDE3.5.
    PC running Suse 11.1, KDE3.5 with Pentium D CPU 3.00GHz,nVidia 7600GS,
    PC running XP & Suse 11.1, KDE3.5 with Pentium(R) D CPU 3.00GHz,nVidia 7600GS

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •