Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: desktop trouble

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    delhi.inida
    Posts
    32

    Default desktop trouble

    hello ..
    i am opensuse 11 user.. when i delete some files from desktop.the files are deleted but when i reboot the computer these zombie icons of files previously deleted are displayed on desktop...

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    relative
    Posts
    1,172

    Default Re: desktop trouble

    Quote Originally Posted by prakhar3003 View Post
    hello ..
    i am opensuse 11 user.. when i delete some files from desktop.the files are deleted but when i reboot the computer these zombie icons of files previously deleted are displayed on desktop...
    If it is a KDE4 desktop, then they are plasmoids not icons - and If you are leaving your KDE4 while something crashes then it restores some settings to the old ones on the next start. You can do two things:
    1. If you have enough time to recustomize your desktop then simple rename the .kde4 hidden directory in your users directory to .kde4old. Log out and log back into KDE. All settings in KDE are restored to the default!
    2. Before logging out close all running applications from the systray (amarok, kmail, etc, etc.) to log out without crash.
    http://mydailyhash.wordpress.com/
    http://yami.googlecode.com/

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    27,079
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: desktop trouble

    Quote Originally Posted by prakhar3003
    hello ..
    i am opensuse 11 user.. when i delete some files from desktop.the files
    are deleted but when i reboot the computer these zombie icons of files
    previously deleted are displayed on desktop...
    Hi
    Have a look in the directories ~/.local/share/Trash/ there are two
    directories here called files and info maybe some remnants are being
    left in one of these locations.....

    --
    Cheers Malcolm (Linux Counter #276890)
    openSUSE 11.1 x86 Kernel 2.6.27.7-9-default
    up 7:34, 1 user, load average: 0.12, 0.03, 0.02
    GPU GeForce 6600 TE/6200 TE - Driver Version: 180.22


  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    delhi.inida
    Posts
    32

    Default Re: desktop trouble

    malcolmlewis
    Hi
    Have a look in the directories ~/.local/share/Trash/ there are two
    directories here called files and info maybe some remnants are being
    left in one of these locations.....
    i have emptied trash .. problem remains
    ram88
    If it is a KDE4 desktop, then they are plasmoids not icons - and If you are leaving your KDE4 while something crashes then it restores some settings to the old ones on the next start. You can do two things:
    1. If you have enough time to recustomize your desktop then simple rename the .kde4 hidden directory in your users directory to .kde4old. Log out and log back into KDE. All settings in KDE are restored to the default!
    2. Before logging out close all running applications from the systray (amarok, kmail, etc, etc.) to log out without crash.
    i tried dat ..n changed .kde to .kdeold but doesnt work ..
    ctrl+alt+backspace doesnt restart the x11 server

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    delhi.inida
    Posts
    32

    Default Re: desktop trouble

    In a overzealous attempt to configure my desktop.. i am somehow lost the interface now when i boot the system..it properly boots but shows a blank screen after dat .. i was trying to reintilase the x11 server by
    init 3
    sax2 -r -m 0=vesa
    init 5
    but dis wont work on falisafe mode...
    help...
    Reply With Quote

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    relative
    Posts
    1,172

    Default Re: desktop trouble

    Quote Originally Posted by prakhar3003 View Post
    In a overzealous attempt to configure my desktop.. i am somehow lost the interface now when i boot the system..it properly boots but shows a blank screen after dat .. i was trying to reintilase the x11 server by
    init 3
    sax2 -r -m 0=vesa
    init 5
    but dis wont work on falisafe mode...
    help...
    Reply With Quote
    I don't know what you did (...In a overzealous attempt...), maybe you need to reinstall the whole system. Yeah I know a bit brainless idea but it takes less time than hacking and cracking the corrupted config files while trying to find out what is wrong.
    Are you have video driver installed? Why don't you try to start sax2 with that driver instead vesa.
    Are you tried to rename an old xorg.conf backup (xorg.conf.+somethingHere) file in your /etc/X11/ directory to xorg.conf and start the X again?
    http://mydailyhash.wordpress.com/
    http://yami.googlecode.com/

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    delhi.inida
    Posts
    32

    Default Re: desktop trouble

    ram88
    I don't know what you did (...In a overzealous attempt...), maybe you need to reinstall the whole system. Yeah I know a bit brainless idea but it takes less time than hacking and cracking the corrupted config files while trying to find out what is wrong.
    Are you have video driver installed? Why don't you try to start sax2 with that driver instead vesa.
    Are you tried to rename an old xorg.conf backup (xorg.conf.+somethingHere) file in your /etc/X11/ directory to xorg.conf and start the X again?
    __________________
    actually when i initialize x11 server ..
    i set the screen resolution that suits my screen(15''&1024*768).. but once i switch to runlevel 5 ..
    x11 server increases my screen resolution to higher level
    n my monitor goes out of range...

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    relative
    Posts
    1,172

    Default Re: desktop trouble

    Quote Originally Posted by prakhar3003 View Post
    actually when i initialize x11 server ..
    i set the screen resolution that suits my screen(15''&1024*768).. but once i switch to runlevel 5 ..
    x11 server increases my screen resolution to higher level
    n my monitor goes out of range...
    That's because the xorg.conf - so, what's with the renaming, and starting sax2 -r -m 0=withYourDriver?
    http://mydailyhash.wordpress.com/
    http://yami.googlecode.com/

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    delhi.inida
    Posts
    32

    Default Re: desktop trouble

    ram88
    i dont have any driver installed...
    actually when i boot my system dere is no display but mouse icon is displayed...

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    relative
    Posts
    1,172

    Default Re: desktop trouble

    Quote Originally Posted by prakhar3003 View Post
    ram88
    i dont have any driver installed...
    actually when i boot my system dere is no display but mouse icon is displayed...
    Why you can;t start with sax2 -r -m 0=vesa? Is there any error output?
    http://mydailyhash.wordpress.com/
    http://yami.googlecode.com/

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •