Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: transparency permanently?

  1. #1

    Default transparency permanently?

    hello every1,
    i was wondering if i could keep the transaparency in some windows such as terminal/firefox for permanent so that the window would be transparent even after i restart the program. And I miss the "Always on Top" option when u right click on any window bar in Ubuntu. Is there any way around it? And yeah, I'd please like to get rid of single-click window opening behavior.
    Thanx heaps!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Kln, Deutschland
    Posts
    1,054

    Default Re: transparency permanently?

    Seeing as you haven't said which desktop you are using, I'll assume you are using some variant of KDE4 .

    Quite easy for most of those things, run Configure Desktop (Personal Settings) from your main menu, and select the Appearance icon then on the left select Windows and click on the Buttons tab.

    Add the Keep above others button.

    You can add/remove/change just about anything you want there.

    Somewhere in that Configure Desktop tool you will also find a way of changing the single click option too.

    Saving the transparency is (I believe) one of the bells and whistles still missing from the KDE4 range, I believe they are working on major functionality issues before the cool things .

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,140

    Default Re: transparency permanently?

    Somewhere in that Configure Desktop tool you will also find a way of changing the single click option too.
    Keyboard & Mouse >
    (Mouse / General)
    'Single click to open files and folders'
    Special effects <- KDE 4.2 Showing off
    More KDE -> PINK KDE

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    305

    Default Re: transparency permanently?

    FWIW, Konsole in KDE4 will retain transparency settings, however that only applies to the actual window, and not the decorations.

    Cheers,
    KV

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Kln, Deutschland
    Posts
    1,054

    Default Re: transparency permanently?

    Quote Originally Posted by else_where View Post
    FWIW, Konsole in KDE4 will retain transparency settings, however that only applies to the actual window, and not the decorations.

    Cheers,
    KV
    Funny, it doesn't work for me

    ....although I am using 4.2 beta

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    305

    Default Re: transparency permanently?

    Quote Originally Posted by growbag View Post
    Funny, it doesn't work for me

    ....although I am using 4.2 beta
    Are you adjusting through Settings -> Edit Profile -> Appearance -> Edit?
    The transparency slider will manipulate the window, and the setting should stick.

    Cheers,
    KV

  7. #7

    Default Re: transparency permanently?

    Quote Originally Posted by else_where View Post
    Are you adjusting through Settings -> Edit Profile -> Appearance -> Edit?
    The transparency slider will manipulate the window, and the setting should stick.

    Cheers,
    KV
    Yep, or you can use the terminal it has the real transparency also
    For reference
    http://img150.imageshack.us/img150/5...screenyld1.jpg
    Don't worry about the decoration you can disable or hide it
    People who do not break things first will never learn to create anything

  8. #8

    Talking Re: transparency permanently?

    thanx a lot everybody. u've been gr8 help. im loving openSUSE 11.1(which comes wid default KDE 4.0). All the desktop effects worked rite outta box. This is awesome!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Kln, Deutschland
    Posts
    1,054

    Default Re: transparency permanently?

    Quote Originally Posted by else_where View Post
    Are you adjusting through Settings -> Edit Profile -> Appearance -> Edit?
    The transparency slider will manipulate the window, and the setting should stick.
    Thanks, that fixed it .

    That's a VERY obscure place to hide the transparency setting though, I would have never found that in a million years .

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •