Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Loaded Suse 11.1 with KDE4

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    West Wales
    Posts
    322

    Default Loaded Suse 11.1 with KDE4

    Hi

    Loaded Suse 11.1 with KDE4

    I am not too happy with the operation of this desktop or maybe 11.1, it' very much like a windows environment.

    I used to run [and still do Suse 10.2 with KDE 3.5.] and was very happy with the operation.

    Can the KDE be changed? What are the implications?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Birmingham. AL
    Posts
    858

    Default Re: Loaded Suse 11.1 with KDE4

    It's my understanding that you can install KDE 3.5, if you like. I couldn't get my @#$#! NVidia drivers to work with 11.1, so I haven't actually done that myself. YMMV. I'm still on 10.3.

    As for KDE 4 vs. 3, there are flame wars all over the Web about that. The "4" adherents are insisting that it's the future, the "3" diehards holler that "4" has been so dumbed-down as to be unusable.

    Just for the record, I'm in the "3" camp. I despise Dolphin, for starters, and I can't get Konqueror to work properly as a file browser under "4." I get faults and crashes. I miss my mouse-over previews, one of the coolest things ever put into a desktop. I also want some configuration options that have been left out of KDE 4.

    (One example, admittedly personal taste: I like my 4 desktops to be totally separate, complete with different wallpapers, and I do NOT display the icons from other desktops. I can get the icons to do what I want in "4," but not the wallpapers.)

    (Call me anal, but this has kept me from Gnome all these years -- that, and the fact that they still use the 1990's style "." and ".." in the file listing dialogs instead of the far more intuitive "up," "back" and etc. buttons.)

    I don't know when GUI designers are going to figure out that LAYERED config options are the way to go. When a new user first brings up the config dialogs, sure, keep it simple. But don't just REMOVE the more advanced options! Put a button on there (make it small, if you insist) that says, "Advanced Geek Stuff" or something.

    Bottom line: those of us who liked KDE 3 should be able to make KDE 4 look and behave the same way. If they'd do that, I'd have no complaints.

    Again: my opinion and YMMV.
    Last edited by smpoole7; 16-Jan-2009 at 06:02. Reason: missed something

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    West Wales
    Posts
    322

    Angry Re: Loaded Suse 11.1 with KDE4

    Quote Originally Posted by smpoole7 View Post
    It's my understanding that you can install KDE 3.5, if you like. I couldn't get my @#$#! NVidia drivers to work with 11.1, so I haven't actually done that myself. YMMV. I'm still on 10.3.

    As for KDE 4 vs. 3, there are flame wars all over the Web about that. The "4" adherents are insisting that it's the future, the "3" diehards holler that "4" has been so dumbed-down as to be unusable.

    Just for the record, I'm in the "3" camp. I despise Dolphin, for starters, and I can't get Konqueror to work properly as a file browser under "4." I get faults and crashes. I miss my mouse-over previews, one of the coolest things ever put into a desktop. I also want some configuration options that have been left out of KDE 4.

    (One example, admittedly personal taste: I like my 4 desktops to be totally separate, complete with different wallpapers, and I do NOT display the icons from other desktops. I can get the icons to do what I want in "4," but not the wallpapers.)

    (Call me anal, but this has kept me from Gnome all these years -- that, and the fact that they still use the 1990's style "." and ".." in the file listing dialogs instead of the far more intuitive "up," "back" and etc. buttons.)

    I don't know when GUI designers are going to figure out that LAYERED config options are the way to go. When a new user first brings up the config dialogs, sure, keep it simple. But don't just REMOVE the more advanced options! Put a button on there (make it small, if you insist) that says, "Advanced Geek Stuff" or something.

    Bottom line: those of us who liked KDE 3 should be able to make KDE 4 look and behave the same way. If they'd do that, I'd have no complaints.

    Again: my opinion and YMMV.
    Yes but with 11.1 loaded with KDE4 can it be changed?

    Thanks

  4. #4

    Default Re: Loaded Suse 11.1 with KDE4

    yes should be no problem having both KDE's installed. I too don't really like 4 much, but then again I'm only now starting to consider 3 usable. ( I use windowmaker most of the time ( ancient I know), the rest of the time xfce), however I do also have login sessions for Kde 3 + 4 ( the wife ), and for just in case Gnome, Enlightenment, and Ice.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Birmingham. AL
    Posts
    858

    Default Re: Loaded Suse 11.1 with KDE4

    Yeah, install KDE 3.5, then restart. When you get to your login screen, you can choose your session with an option at the bottom left (if I remember correctly).

    For that matter, you could install Gnome, too, then choose your session.

    If you have autologin enabled, when you get into your desktop, use "End Session," then choose the session once you get back out to the login screen.

    BTW, true Linux geeks will say that you don't need to reboot after installing 3.5 on top of 4. I personally recommend it. That's just me.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    West Wales
    Posts
    322

    Unhappy Re: Loaded Suse 11.1 with KDE4

    Quote Originally Posted by smpoole7 View Post
    Yeah, install KDE 3.5, then restart. When you get to your login screen, you can choose your session with an option at the bottom left (if I remember correctly).

    For that matter, you could install Gnome, too, then choose your session.

    If you have autologin enabled, when you get into your desktop, use "End Session," then choose the session once you get back out to the login screen.

    BTW, true Linux geeks will say that you don't need to reboot after installing 3.5 on top of 4. I personally recommend it. That's just me.
    I have just installed 11.1 DVD and chose KDE4.

    When you say load KDE3.5? any idea how? would it be in YAST?

    Thanks

  7. #7

    Default Re: Loaded Suse 11.1 with KDE4

    Goto Yast > Software Management > select "Patters" from the filter dropdown > select KDE3 Base & Desktop > install > logout > select KDE3 session (options botton left) > login.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    West Wales
    Posts
    322

    Default Re: Loaded Suse 11.1 with KDE4

    Quote Originally Posted by BoloMarkIII View Post
    Goto Yast > Software Management > select "Patters" from the filter dropdown > select KDE3 Base & Desktop > install > logout > select KDE3 session (options botton left) > login.
    Hi

    Yes thanks - worked second time.

    Will it be automatic now? to KDE3.5 or do I need to do anything else? Like remove KDE4 etc.

    I seemed to have to log into Suse 11.1 then as you say logout then choose and login?

    Thanks

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    305

    Default Re: Loaded Suse 11.1 with KDE4

    No need to remove KDE4, the login manager will automatically log you in to the previous DE. If you're using KDE 3.5, it will default to logging you into KDE 3.5 until you explicitly select a different DE.

    Cheers,
    KV

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    West Wales
    Posts
    322

    Default Re: Loaded Suse 11.1 with KDE4

    Quote Originally Posted by else_where View Post
    No need to remove KDE4, the login manager will automatically log you in to the previous DE. If you're using KDE 3.5, it will default to logging you into KDE 3.5 until you explicitly select a different DE.

    Cheers,
    KV
    Hi

    Thanks - just getting the desktop looking like the other in 10.2

    I do like this desktop and it is what I am used to and so 'obvious' if you get my meaning.

    I cannot get on with KDE4 at all.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •