Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Unable to check wether updates are available

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Stockholm
    Posts
    76

    Default Unable to check wether updates are available

    Hi.

    I've been running 11.1 since the release just before christmas. I have received a number of updates through kupdateapplet since then but now the applet goes gray and says "Unable to check wether updates are available". I found a bug report on the Updater Applet, it reports this error if you haven't configured an update repo. I originally performed a network install, an update repo was configured then and it has worked before. To be on the safe side I ran "Online Update Configuration" through Yast and got the same update repo added again. I removed the copy so that I have only one update repo (Index of /update/11.1) configured. Is there a log somewhere for the Updater Applet that can give some more info on the error?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    West Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    3,415

    Default Re: Unable to check wether updates are available

    Check in YaST which repositories you have enabled at the moment. If you don't have OSS, non-OSS, Update and Packman, you probably need to add them.
    Last edited by john_hudson; 15-Jan-2009 at 12:33. Reason: Additional information

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Stockholm
    Posts
    76

    Default Re: Unable to check wether updates are available

    I have them all enabled. The strange thing is that sometimes the applet seem to work, at least it does not go grey and report "Unable to check wether updates are available", and then again sometimes it does. I cannot figure out what is causing this. When it does go grey I am not using package management myself (through yast) so that cannot be the problem. Is there anyway to check if PackageKit is working correctly?

    Regards, Micke.

  4. #4

    Default Re: Unable to check wether updates are available

    same symptoms here and also same question. How to check where it goes wrong?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    116

    Default Re: Unable to check wether updates are available

    I do experience exactly the same problem (with 11.1).
    Sometimes it helps to "Quit" and restart the Updater Applet, but not always...
    Any hint how to fix or debug that ?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Somerset. UK
    Posts
    111

    Default Re: Unable to check wether updates are available

    I've got the same problem.
    It only started recently (after an update?).
    I haven't done anything else to cause it.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Somerset. UK
    Posts
    111

    Default Re: Unable to check wether updates are available

    Does anyone else have this problem?

    I have tried rebuilding the rpm database, but kupdater is still not working. Does anyone have a fix? IMHO this is serious.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •