Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: Wallpaper over 2 monitors in KDE4, SuSE 11.1

  1. #1

    Default Wallpaper over 2 monitors in KDE4, SuSE 11.1

    I've just installed SuSE 11.1, and have so far been able to get my dual monitor setup to play nice. Both monitors are operational, and function fine from an application point of view (3200x1200 res), but KDE refuses to display my wallpaper over both monitors. In fact, I cannot set the wallpaper for my second monitor at all (it's stuck to the default green SuSE wallpaper or a fixed color).

    As a side effect: widgets also refuse to be moved from one monitor to the next. Applications can be moved fine, even put half on one monitor and half on the other, but the widgets and the wallpaper refuse to cooperate. This worked fine for me with SuSE 10.3. Any thoughts?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    St. Pete Florida
    Posts
    56

    Default Re: Wallpaper over 2 monitors in KDE4, SuSE 11.1

    What i'm about to say may not help! just warning you

    Okay, I'm still new to this, but what I did in kde3 suse 11 where I had the same problem was to configure the desktop. Select the background, or a slideshow in my case, then under advanced options - I set it to 'scale & crop' - this fixed any issues with displaying on screens.

    Now no matter the size or orientation it will scale and crop them to fit both screens as one large background.

    Hope that helps,
    -Matt
    Desktop: Linux 2.6.25.18-0.2 x86_64 | OS 11.0 | KDE 3.5 | Nvidia 7950 GT | Intel Core2 Duo 6600 2.4ghz | 4GB RAM
    Laptop: IBM X31 | OS Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy | Pentium M | 1GB RAM

  3. #3

    Default Re: Wallpaper over 2 monitors in KDE4, SuSE 11.1

    I'm afraid you're right: it did not help. I fear my problem's a little more complicated than a cropped wallpaper.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    20

    Default Re: Wallpaper over 2 monitors in KDE4, SuSE 11.1

    I have the same problem. I don't think proprietary videocard drivers properly configure multiple screens in xorg.conf so as far as OS can see, you only have 1 monitor. It looks like ati has an its own way of handling multi-monitor setup.

    I may be wrong.

    Code:
    Section "ServerLayout"
            Identifier     "Layout[all]"
            Screen      0  "aticonfig-Screen[0]-0" 0 0
            InputDevice    "Keyboard[0]" "CoreKeyboard"
            InputDevice    "Mouse[1]" "CorePointer"    
            Option      "Clone" "off"                  
            Option      "Xinerama" "off"               
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
            Identifier   "Monitor[0]"
            VendorName   "DELL"      
            ModelName    "1703FP (DIGITAL)"
            UseModes     "Modes[0]"        
            DisplaySize  338        270    
            HorizSync    30.0 - 80.0       
            VertRefresh  56.0 - 76.0       
            Option      "DPMS"             
            Option      "PreferredMode" "1280x1024"
    EndSection                                     
    
    Section "Monitor"
            Identifier   "aticonfig-Monitor[0]-0"
            Option      "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
            Option      "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
            Option      "DPMS" "true"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
            Identifier  "Device[0]"
            Driver      "radeonhd"
            VendorName  "ATI"
            BoardName   "Radeon X1300/X1550"
            Option      "monitor-DVI-I_1/digital" "Monitor[0]"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
            Identifier  "aticonfig-Device[0]-0"
            Driver      "fglrx"
            BusID       "PCI:1:0:0"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
            Identifier "Screen[0]"
            Device     "Device[0]"
            Monitor    "Monitor[0]"
            DefaultDepth     24
            SubSection "Display"
                    Virtual   3840 1200
                    Depth     15
                    Modes    "1280x1024" "1152x864" "1024x768" "800x600"
            EndSubSection
            SubSection "Display"
                    Virtual   3840 1200
                    Depth     16
                    Modes    "1280x1024" "1152x864" "1024x768" "800x600"
            EndSubSection
            SubSection "Display"
                    Virtual   3840 1200
                    Depth     24
                    Modes    "1280x1024" "1152x864" "1024x768" "800x600"
            EndSubSection
            SubSection "Display"
                    Virtual   3840 1200
                    Depth     8
                    Modes    "1280x1024" "1152x864" "1024x768" "800x600"
            EndSubSection
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
            Identifier "aticonfig-Screen[0]-0"
            Device     "aticonfig-Device[0]-0"
            Monitor    "aticonfig-Monitor[0]-0"
            DefaultDepth     24
            SubSection "Display"
                    Viewport   0 0
                    Depth     24
            EndSubSection
    EndSection
    
    Section "DRI"
            Group        "video"
            Mode         0660
    EndSection

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Concord, California
    Posts
    262

    Default Re: Wallpaper over 2 monitors in KDE4, SuSE 11.1

    It is not video drivers.

    Right click on the second monitor desktop. You can then choose to add widgets or configure desktop. You have to open those dialogs from the monitor you want to change/add/etc widgets and/or wallpaper. KDE4 is not like 3.5.x in that the display properties can be changed from one dialog for either monitor.

    And yes, thew widgets do not move from one monitor to the other. I don't know if this a bug or by design.
    Last edited by cybertaz; 11-Feb-2009 at 08:07. Reason: added information
    OpenSUSE Leap 15, KDE5 (plasma 5.16.5, frameworks 5.62, QT 5.13.1)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    20

    Default Re: Wallpaper over 2 monitors in KDE4, SuSE 11.1

    Quote Originally Posted by cybertaz View Post
    It is not video drivers.
    Right click on the second monitor desktop. You can then choose to add widgets or configure desktop.
    I can't. The second monitor just shows a gray background and right clicking on it doesn't bring up any menus. I am able to use it just fine otherwise. Move windows around, etc.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Concord, California
    Posts
    262

    Default Re: Wallpaper over 2 monitors in KDE4, SuSE 11.1

    how did you set up your dual screen? What video card/drivers are you using?
    OpenSUSE Leap 15, KDE5 (plasma 5.16.5, frameworks 5.62, QT 5.13.1)

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    20

    Default Re: Wallpaper over 2 monitors in KDE4, SuSE 11.1

    Quote Originally Posted by cybertaz View Post
    how did you set up your dual screen? What video card/drivers are you using?
    The card is X1300 using the proprietary ATI driver. I set up dual monitors with Catalyst Control Center.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,140

    Default Re: Wallpaper over 2 monitors in KDE4, SuSE 11.1

    Try killing the plasma process and starting it again.. fixed it for me once.

    PS: In 4.2 you can move widgets from on monitor to the other just fine, not in one drag for panels though as they'll stick to the side connecting the screens. Dragging it again does move it over to the other monitor.
    Special effects <- KDE 4.2 Showing off
    More KDE -> PINK KDE

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    20

    Default Re: Wallpaper over 2 monitors in KDE4, SuSE 11.1

    Quote Originally Posted by Axeia View Post
    Try killing the plasma process and starting it again.. fixed it for me once.
    That worked. Thanks.
    I restarted just to make sure it is not a recurring problem and desktop came up just fine.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •