Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25

Thread: No Sound openSUSE 11.0 Intel ICH8 Controller

  1. #1
    Robert Carlson NNTP User

    Default No Sound openSUSE 11.0 Intel ICH8 Controller

    alsa 1.0.16-39.1

    Contents of modprobe.d:

    options snd slots=snd-hda-intel
    # u1Nb.zg+CO3ggc1E:82801H (ICH8 Family) HD Audio Controller
    alias snd-card-0 snd-hda-intel

    ========

    speaker-test -c2 -Ddefault -l5 -twav

    speaker-test 1.0.16

    Playback device is default
    Stream parameters are 48000Hz, S16_LE, 2 channels
    WAV file(s)
    Rate set to 48000Hz (requested 48000Hz)
    Buffer size range from 2048 to 8192
    Period size range from 1024 to 1024
    Using max buffer size 8192
    Periods = 4
    was set period_size = 1024
    was set buffer_size = 8192
    0 - Front Left
    1 - Front Right
    Time per period = 2.864758
    0 - Front Left
    1 - Front Right
    Time per period = 3.007807
    0 - Front Left
    1 - Front Right
    Time per period = 3.007914
    0 - Front Left
    1 - Front Right
    Time per period = 3.007823
    0 - Front Left
    1 - Front Right
    Time per period = 3.007804





  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    26,564
    Blog Entries
    38

    Default Re: No Sound openSUSE 11.0 Intel ICH8 Controller

    Quote Originally Posted by Robert Carlson View Post
    Title: No Sound openSUSE 11.0 Intel ICH8 Controller

    alsa 1.0.16-39.1

    Contents of modprobe.d:

    options snd slots=snd-hda-intel
    # u1Nb.zg+CO3ggc1E:82801H (ICH8 Family) HD Audio Controller
    alias snd-card-0 snd-hda-intel
    Thanks. There is an openSUSE audio troubleshooting guide, and you could try working your way through that: SDB:AudioTroubleshooting - openSUSE

    If that does not work for you, then it would help if you provided more information.

    Which desktop are you using? KDE3 ? KDE4 ? Gnome ?

    Is this a laptop ? Desktop ? If laptop, what model/make ?

    To obtain additional information I also need, when with your PC connected to the internet please copy and paste the following into a gnome-terminal or konsole:
    Code:
    wget -O alsa-info.sh http://www.alsa-project.org/alsa-info.sh && bash alsa-info.sh
    When the script completes it will pass you a URL. Please post that URL here. Only the URL. Not the rest.

    Also, please copy and paste the following one line at a time into a gnome-terminal or konsole and post the output here.
    rpm -qa | grep alsa
    rpm -qa | grep pulse
    rpm -q libasound2
    uname -a
    You already provided the contents of your /etc/modprobe.d/sound, but if you change it, please post its contents. You can easily find that by typing:
    cat /etc/modprobe.d/sound

    Don't forget to install alsa-firmware and reboot after that install. Also when adjusting your mixer, move both PCM and master volume levels up to 95% or so. Once you have sound, you can move them back to lower levels to remove any distortion.

  3. #3
    oldcpu NNTP User

    Default Re: No Sound openSUSE 11.0 Intel ICH8 Controller


    Robert Carlson;1918217 Wrote:
    > Title: No Sound openSUSE 11.0 Intel ICH8 Controller
    >
    > alsa 1.0.16-39.1
    >
    > Contents of modprobe.d:
    >
    > options snd slots=snd-hda-intel
    > # u1Nb.zg+CO3ggc1E:82801H (ICH8 Family) HD Audio Controller
    > alias snd-card-0 snd-hda-intelThanks. There is an openSUSE audio troubleshooting guide, and you could

    try working your way through that: 'SDB:AudioTroubleshooting -
    openSUSE' (http://en.opensuse.org/SDB:AudioTroubleshooting)

    If that does not work for you, then it would help if you provided more
    information.

    Which desktop are you using? KDE3 ? KDE4 ? Gnome ?

    Is this a laptop ? Desktop ? If laptop, what model/make ?

    To obtain additional information I also need, when with your PC
    connected to the internet please copy and paste the following into a
    gnome-terminal or konsole:
    Code:
    --------------------
    wget -O alsa-info.sh http://www.alsa-project.org/alsa-info.sh && bash alsa-info.sh
    --------------------
    When the script completes it will pass you a URL. Please post that URL
    here. Only the URL. Not the rest.

    Also, please copy and paste the following one line at a time into a
    gnome-terminal or konsole and post the output here.::rpm -qa |
    grep alsa
    rpm -qa | grep pulse
    rpm -q libasound2
    uname -a
    ::
    You already provided the contents of your /etc/modprobe.d/sound, but if
    you change it, please post its contents. You can easily find that by
    typing:
    ::cat /etc/modprobe.d/sound::

    Don't forget to install alsa-firmware and reboot after that install.
    Also when adjusting your mixer, move both PCM and master volume levels
    up to 95% or so. Once you have sound, you can move them back to lower
    levels to remove any distortion.


    --
    oldcpu
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    oldcpu's Profile: http://forums.opensuse.org/member.php?userid=77
    View this thread: http://forums.opensuse.org/showthread.php?t=403434


  4. #4

    Thumbs up Re: No Sound openSUSE 11.0 Intel ICH8 Controller

    Hi, I'm running OpenSuse 11.1 on a HP EliteBook (Laptop) 8730w with mentioned sound hardware configuration. I've got the tip to include following line in /etc/modprobe.d/sound: options snd-hda-intel model=laptop

    Of some reason it did not work right away but after fiddling around with the panel(!?!) it now works...

    Hope this can help someone else, I wish you a Happy New Year 2009!

    /Joakim

  5. #5
    jbrosten NNTP User

    Default Re: No Sound openSUSE 11.0 Intel ICH8 Controller


    Hi, I'm running OpenSuse 11.1 on a HP EliteBook (Laptop) 8730w with
    mentioned sound hardware configuration. I've got the tip to include
    following line in -/etc/modprobe.d/sound-: *options snd-hda-intel
    model=laptop*

    Of some reason it did not work right away but after fiddling around
    with the panel(!?!) it now works...

    Hope this can help someone else, I wish you a Happy New Year 2009!

    /Joakim


    --
    jbrosten
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    jbrosten's Profile: http://forums.opensuse.org/member.php?userid=18679
    View this thread: http://forums.opensuse.org/showthread.php?t=403434


  6. #6
    Robert Carlson NNTP User

    Default Re: No Sound openSUSE 11.0 Intel ICH8 Controller

    jbrosten wrote:
    > Hi, I'm running OpenSuse 11.1 on a HP EliteBook (Laptop) 8730w with
    > mentioned sound hardware configuration. I've got the tip to include
    > following line in -/etc/modprobe.d/sound-: *options snd-hda-intel
    > model=laptop*
    >
    > Of some reason it did not work right away but after fiddling around
    > with the panel(!?!) it now works...
    >
    > Hope this can help someone else, I wish you a Happy New Year 2009!
    >
    > /Joakim


    Thanks for the suggestion. I saw an options line in the file relating to
    a discussion of the problem, but I didn't have any idea what it should
    contain for my sound hardware. My PC has an Intel motherboard but isn't
    a laptop.

    Best wishes for 2009 to you and yours.

  7. #7
    Robert Carlson NNTP User

    Default Re: No Sound openSUSE 11.0 Intel ICH8 Controller

    jbrosten wrote:
    > Hi, I'm running OpenSuse 11.1 on a HP EliteBook (Laptop) 8730w with
    > mentioned sound hardware configuration. I've got the tip to include
    > following line in -/etc/modprobe.d/sound-: *options snd-hda-intel
    > model=laptop*
    >
    > Of some reason it did not work right away but after fiddling around
    > with the panel(!?!) it now works...
    >
    > Hope this can help someone else, I wish you a Happy New Year 2009!
    >
    > /Joakim


    Thanks for the suggestion. I saw an options line in the file relating to
    a discussion of the problem, but I didn't have any idea what it should
    contain for my sound hardware. My PC has an Intel motherboard but isn't
    a laptop.

    Best wishes for 2009 to you and yours.

  8. #8
    Robert Carlson NNTP User

    Default Re: No Sound openSUSE 11.0 Intel ICH8 Controller

    oldcpu wrote:
    > Thanks. There is an openSUSE audio troubleshooting guide, and you could
    > try working your way through that: 'SDB:AudioTroubleshooting -
    > openSUSE' (http://en.opensuse.org/SDB:AudioTroubleshooting)


    Am in the process.

    > If that does not work for you, then it would help if you provided more
    > information.
    >
    > Which desktop are you using? KDE3 ? KDE4 ? Gnome ?


    32-bit with KDE 3

    >
    > Is this a laptop ? Desktop ? If laptop, what model/make ?


    Homemade with Intel DG965WH mobo, Intel Core Duo 6600 processor, NVIDIA
    GeForce 6600 video, and 4G RAM
    >
    > To obtain additional information I also need, when with your PC
    > connected to the internet please copy and paste the following into a
    > gnome-terminal or konsole:
    > Code:
    > --------------------
    > wget -O alsa-info.sh http://www.alsa-project.org/alsa-info.sh && bash alsa-info.sh
    > --------------------
    > When the script completes it will pass you a URL. Please post that URL
    > here. Only the URL. Not the rest.


    http://www.alsa-project.org/db/?f=52...312729ac1cd104

    > Also, please copy and paste the following one line at a time into a
    > gnome-terminal or konsole and post the output here.::


    > rpm -qa | grep alsa


    alsa-utils-1.0.16-35.1
    alsa-1.0.16-39.1
    alsamixergui-0.9.0rc1-705.1
    alsa-plugins-1.0.16-57.1
    alsa-firmware-1.0.16-24.1
    alsa-oss-1.0.15-48.1

    > rpm -qa | grep pulse


    libpulse0-0.9.10-26.5

    > rpm -q libasound2


    libasound2-1.0.16-39.1

    > uname -a


    Linux linux-k367 2.6.25.18-0.2-pae #1 SMP 2008-10-21 16:30:26 +0200 i686
    i686 i386 GNU/Linux


    > You already provided the contents of your /etc/modprobe.d/sound, but if
    > you change it, please post its contents. You can easily find that by
    > typing:
    > ::cat /etc/modprobe.d/sound::


    Didn't change yet.

    >
    > Don't forget to install alsa-firmware and reboot after that install.


    Had done that.

    > Also when adjusting your mixer, move both PCM and master volume levels
    > up to 95% or so. Once you have sound, you can move them back to lower
    > levels to remove any distortion.


    I hear a loud click that I assume is coming from the speakers when I
    boot, but there is no sound otherwise.



  9. #9
    Robert Carlson NNTP User

    Default Re: No Sound openSUSE 11.0 Intel ICH8 Controller

    oldcpu wrote:
    > Thanks. There is an openSUSE audio troubleshooting guide, and you could
    > try working your way through that: 'SDB:AudioTroubleshooting -
    > openSUSE' (http://en.opensuse.org/SDB:AudioTroubleshooting)


    Am in the process.

    > If that does not work for you, then it would help if you provided more
    > information.
    >
    > Which desktop are you using? KDE3 ? KDE4 ? Gnome ?


    32-bit with KDE 3

    >
    > Is this a laptop ? Desktop ? If laptop, what model/make ?


    Homemade with Intel DG965WH mobo, Intel Core Duo 6600 processor, NVIDIA
    GeForce 6600 video, and 4G RAM
    >
    > To obtain additional information I also need, when with your PC
    > connected to the internet please copy and paste the following into a
    > gnome-terminal or konsole:
    > Code:
    > --------------------
    > wget -O alsa-info.sh http://www.alsa-project.org/alsa-info.sh && bash alsa-info.sh
    > --------------------
    > When the script completes it will pass you a URL. Please post that URL
    > here. Only the URL. Not the rest.


    http://www.alsa-project.org/db/?f=52...312729ac1cd104

    > Also, please copy and paste the following one line at a time into a
    > gnome-terminal or konsole and post the output here.::


    > rpm -qa | grep alsa


    alsa-utils-1.0.16-35.1
    alsa-1.0.16-39.1
    alsamixergui-0.9.0rc1-705.1
    alsa-plugins-1.0.16-57.1
    alsa-firmware-1.0.16-24.1
    alsa-oss-1.0.15-48.1

    > rpm -qa | grep pulse


    libpulse0-0.9.10-26.5

    > rpm -q libasound2


    libasound2-1.0.16-39.1

    > uname -a


    Linux linux-k367 2.6.25.18-0.2-pae #1 SMP 2008-10-21 16:30:26 +0200 i686
    i686 i386 GNU/Linux


    > You already provided the contents of your /etc/modprobe.d/sound, but if
    > you change it, please post its contents. You can easily find that by
    > typing:
    > ::cat /etc/modprobe.d/sound::


    Didn't change yet.

    >
    > Don't forget to install alsa-firmware and reboot after that install.


    Had done that.

    > Also when adjusting your mixer, move both PCM and master volume levels
    > up to 95% or so. Once you have sound, you can move them back to lower
    > levels to remove any distortion.


    I hear a loud click that I assume is coming from the speakers when I
    boot, but there is no sound otherwise.



  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    26,564
    Blog Entries
    38

    Default Re: No Sound openSUSE 11.0 Intel ICH8 Controller

    Quote Originally Posted by Robert Carlson View Post
    ok, ... 32-bit openSUSE-11.0 with 2.6.25.18-0.2-pae kernel with a Codec: SigmaTel STAC9271D

    First, I note this in your mixer:

    !!-------Mixer controls for card 0 [Intel]
    Card hw:0 'Intel'/'HDA Intel at 0xed220000 irq 22'
    Mixer name : 'SigmaTel STAC9271D'
    Simple mixer control 'Master',0
    Capabilities: pvolume pvolume-joined pswitch pswitch-joined
    Mono: Playback 88 [69%] [-29.25dB] [on]
    Simple mixer control 'PCM',0
    Capabilities: pvolume
    Front Left: Playback 88 [35%] [-33.40dB]
    Front Right: Playback 88 [35%] [-33.40dB]
    Simple mixer control 'Surround',0
    Capabilities: pvolume pswitch
    Front Left: Playback 127 [100%] [0.00dB] [off]
    Front Right: Playback 0 [0%] [-95.25dB] [off]
    Simple mixer control 'Center',0
    Capabilities: pvolume pvolume-joined pswitch pswitch-joined
    Mono: Playback 127 [100%] [0.00dB] [off]
    Simple mixer control 'LFE',0
    Capabilities: pvolume pvolume-joined pswitch pswitch-joined
    Mono: Playback 127 [100%] [0.00dB] [off]
    Simple mixer control 'Side',0
    Capabilities: pvolume pswitch
    Front Left: Playback 0 [0%] [-95.25dB] [off]
    Front Right: Playback 0 [0%] [-95.25dB] [off]
    Simple mixer control 'IEC958',0
    Capabilities: pswitch pswitch-joined
    Mono: Playback [on]
    Simple mixer control 'IEC958 Default PCM',0
    Capabilities: pswitch pswitch-joined
    Mono: Playback [on]
    Simple mixer control 'Analog Loopback',0
    Mono: Playback [on]
    Simple mixer control 'Swap Center/LFE',0
    Mono: Playback [on]
    Your levels are far from the 95% test levels I suggested. PCM is way way too low. I recommend you 1st get your sound working, then back off to a volume level where there is no distortion. Plus I highlighted in orange some settings that I do not understand. Perhaps you could explain your plan there?

    Next, I note your PC has a SigmaTel STAC9271D hardware audio codec. The ALSA-Configuration.txt file has this entry list regarding that codec:
    Code:
    	STAC9227/9228/9229/927x
    	  ref		Reference board
    	  3stack	D965 3stack
    	  5stack	D965 5stack + SPDIF
    	  dell-3stack	Dell Dimension E520
    From a previous post, your /etc/modprobe.d/sound file is:
    Code:
    options snd slots=snd-hda-intel
    # u1Nb.zg+CO3ggc1E:82801H (ICH8 Family) HD Audio Controller
    alias snd-card-0 snd-hda-intel
    you could try changing that to:
    Code:
    options snd slots=snd-hda-intel
    options snd-hda-intel model=3stack
    # u1Nb.zg+CO3ggc1E:82801H (ICH8 Family) HD Audio Controller
    alias snd-card-0 snd-hda-intel
    and then restart your audio with: su -c 'rcalsasound restart' enter root password when prompted, and restart your mixer, and test your sound.

    When testing your sound, I recommend you copy this into a konsole:
    speaker-test -c2 -l5 -twav
    and you should hear a ladies voice saying 'FRONT LEFT', 'FRONT RIGHT' five times.

    If that does not work, change "3stack" with another entry from the list I provided above (for example switch '3stack' with '5stack' ) and restart alsa and restart your mixer and test your sound. If not sound try same again one at a time with dell-3stack and ref.

    If that does not work, then may an update of alsa is needed. I can provide specific commands for that.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •