Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 27

Thread: Desktop effects are not supported...

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Earth, UK, England, London
    Posts
    88

    Default Desktop effects are not supported...

    I have an ATI Radeon 9600 XT card. I'm sure this is good enough for desktop effects to be enabled on. Anyway I have installed the driver from the ATI website for linux. Now every time I try and enable desktop effects it just gives me the message:

    Desktop effects are not supported on your current hardware / configuration. Would you like to activate them anyway?

    I press yes but it just doesn't enable it. I upgraded compiz. I used the 11.1 1-click thing. It all worked perfectly in 11.0 .. I don't understand what the problem is..

    since 11.1 it has been giving me that message.. Does anybody else have this problem?

    Any ways to resolve it?

    Many thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Posts
    76

    Default Re: Desktop effects are not supported...

    I get the same message on this setup: nVidia Corporation, GeForce 6200. Driver: nvidia (3D-support, x11-video-nvidiaG02 177.82-1.1, nvidia-gfxG02-kmp-default 177.82_2.6.27.7_9.1-1.1).

    Suspect it's the driver. There are some other ones to try...
    Correct me if I'm wrong.

    Benno Hansen, M.Sc., Journalist

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    St. Pete Florida
    Posts
    56

    Default Re: Desktop effects are not supported...

    Is this in KDE 4?
    Desktop: Linux 2.6.25.18-0.2 x86_64 | OS 11.0 | KDE 3.5 | Nvidia 7950 GT | Intel Core2 Duo 6600 2.4ghz | 4GB RAM
    Laptop: IBM X31 | OS Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy | Pentium M | 1GB RAM

  4. #4

    Smile Re: Desktop effects are not supported...

    I also had that problem after I'd installed the graphics card driver (nVidia). What I did was to set the profile to medium, and it's worked without hassle. Give it a go.
    Apology is policy

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Posts
    76

    Default Re: Desktop effects are not supported...

    I'm in KDE3 (had 1st boot issue with KDE4 that in hindsight probably was just about screen order).

    Trying "Medium" settings doesn't make a difference.

    Compiz worked fine yesterday when I still was in openSUSE 11.0 w/KDE3.
    Correct me if I'm wrong.

    Benno Hansen, M.Sc., Journalist

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Earth, UK, England, London
    Posts
    88

    Default Re: Desktop effects are not supported...

    I'm in the GNOME environment.

    I have tried all the options but nothing works. I had no problems whatsoever in 11.0

    What happened? I miss the desktop effects!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    N. Wales
    Posts
    1,028

    Default Re: Desktop effects are not supported...

    richyf89 wrote:

    >
    > I'm in the GNOME environment.
    >
    > I have tried all the options but nothing works. I had no problems
    > whatsoever in 11.0
    >
    > What happened? I miss the desktop effects!
    >
    >


    Check your xorg.conf in /etc/X11/ you will need:


    <<--snip-->>

    Section "Extensions"
    Option "Composite" "On"
    EndSection

    <<--pims==>>

    At the end to enable the composite.

    That should do it.

    HTH

    --
    Mark....

    Nil illegitimi carborundum

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Earth, UK, England, London
    Posts
    88

    Default Re: Desktop effects are not supported...

    Quote Originally Posted by baskitcaise View Post
    richyf89 wrote:

    >
    > I'm in the GNOME environment.
    >
    > I have tried all the options but nothing works. I had no problems
    > whatsoever in 11.0
    >
    > What happened? I miss the desktop effects!
    >
    >


    Check your xorg.conf in /etc/X11/ you will need:


    <<--snip-->>

    Section "Extensions"
    Option "Composite" "On"
    EndSection

    <<--pims==>>

    At the end to enable the composite.

    That should do it.

    HTH

    --
    Mark....

    Nil illegitimi carborundum
    Hiya, Thanks for the suggestion but it didn't work.

    Compiz showed up on the list of updates today. So I updated it. It seems desktop effects turn on now. They stay on, but just don't work. There are 0 effects actually working.

    Perhaps its a bug they are working on..

  9. #9

    Default Re: Desktop effects are not supported...

    Are You guys using the correct Compiz repository?? As a hint i'll tell You it's not the one that YaST shows in community repositories

    http://dev.compiz-fusion.org/~cybero...-opensuse-111/
    How does a linux geek make love??

    - rtfm; unzip; strip; touch; finger; mount; fsck; more; yes; umount; zip; sleep;

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Earth, UK, England, London
    Posts
    88

    Default Re: Desktop effects are not supported...

    Quote Originally Posted by BenderBendingRodriguez View Post
    Are You guys using the correct Compiz repository?? As a hint i'll tell You it's not the one that YaST shows in community repositories

    CyberOrg Compiz on openSUSE 11.1
    I definitely am using that repo.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •