Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Clone My openSuSE 11.0 To My New HDD

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Wildwood, New Jersey
    Posts
    133

    Default Clone My openSuSE 11.0 To My New HDD

    Hi All,

    I've Googled, and searched this Forum for an answer to a question that I have without result.

    I have a perfectly well running openSuSE 11.0 on my Compaq Presario V6000 Notebook. The present HDD is 160 GB, and I've just gotten a new 250 compatable HDD. I also have the USB case to enclose it.

    What I would like to do is move everything to my new HDD then replace my existing drive so that I have more storage.

    What app should I try? TIA for any responses. I would have thought that this would be simple, but it doesn't seem to be the case. LOL!
    Regards,

    JJMacey
    Phoenix, Arizona - The Valley Of The Sun
    A Linux Web Site, And A Linux Blog. All Linux! I've been there, and done that!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    UTC+10
    Posts
    9,686
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default Re: Clone My openSuSE 11.0 To My New HDD

    Well, you could wait 16 days, get 11.1, swap the drives, install 11.1 on the machine with the now bigger disk, and then copy your home directories over.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Wildwood, New Jersey
    Posts
    133

    Default Re: Clone My openSuSE 11.0 To My New HDD

    ken_yap,

    Thanks for that, and I know what you mean. However, I have been there and done that with trying to copy Home. I've always lost all my Evolution e-mails, and other hidden files.

    I'd just like to clone my existing HDD to my new HDD without fear of failure. If I am wrong here please let me know.

    Again, thanks for the reply.
    Regards,

    JJMacey
    Phoenix, Arizona - The Valley Of The Sun
    A Linux Web Site, And A Linux Blog. All Linux! I've been there, and done that!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    UTC+10
    Posts
    9,686
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default Re: Clone My openSuSE 11.0 To My New HDD

    Assuming everything is really under /home, it can be copied over without losing any files. If you were using a GUI to copy you might not see all the files; it might not show you hidden files. But it can be done from the CLI.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    London, Ont, Canada
    Posts
    94

    Default Re: Clone My openSuSE 11.0 To My New HDD

    I did this once, this past year. The only problem I had was with the disk IDs in menu.lst and fstab. Booting the cloned disk produced a panic saying it couldn't find the (old) disk. For example, the source entries might have been:

    /dev/disk/by-id/scsi-SATA_WDC_WD2500KS-00_WD-WCANKJ299238-part6

    but because you will be plomping the images onto a new hdd, the disk ID string, i.e.,

    WDC_WD2500KS-00_WD-WCANKJ299238 will change.

    If you download the manufacturers diagnostic disk (WD Diagnostics, or Disk Care, or whatnot in my case) you can get the string to put in. What I did, though (to be certain), was do the cloning then create another partition and do a fresh install into it, then look at its fstab/menu.lst to make sure I had the exact string right. Then use a live CD (or that new install) to mount the install that needs changing and use an editor to change the strings.

    Worked like a charm, and I now use the extra (created) partition as a test bed.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Wildwood, New Jersey
    Posts
    133

    Default Re: Clone My openSuSE 11.0 To My New HDD

    sorenson2743,

    Ouch! That seems a little too complex.

    ken_yap,

    Yes, everything is under Home. I've tried many times to get this to work without success. I started with SuSE 8.0 and have used every Linux Distro that you can think of since.

    Copying Home just does not work.

    I'm looking for that app that "clones" my present HDD to another device. In this case my new 250 Gb HDD.
    Regards,

    JJMacey
    Phoenix, Arizona - The Valley Of The Sun
    A Linux Web Site, And A Linux Blog. All Linux! I've been there, and done that!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    UTC+10
    Posts
    9,686
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default Re: Clone My openSuSE 11.0 To My New HDD

    Cloning is not as easy as the word sounds. You can run into issues with the partition names and the boot loader. And since it isn't an identical disk, it isn't a clone really and the last partition should expand.

    Copying /home isn't so difficult. To start off, partition your new disk so that /home is allocated a partition and format it. Then do this as root from the CLI.

    Code:
    cd /home
    cp -a * /media/external/home
    Now swap the disks and install 11.1 on it, but telling the installer not to format /home. It should detect that you have already a home directory when you set up an account and use that.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Wildwood, New Jersey
    Posts
    133

    Default Re: Clone My openSuSE 11.0 To My New HDD

    Cloning is not as easy as the word sounds
    ken_yap,

    I know, I also have my games on this HDD. They are of not in my Home folder. My Games are all from the Linux repos.

    Again - this becomes very complex. But, should be very simple.

    I just need that app to do it. I've been looking for years...
    Regards,

    JJMacey
    Phoenix, Arizona - The Valley Of The Sun
    A Linux Web Site, And A Linux Blog. All Linux! I've been there, and done that!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    26,864
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Clone My openSuSE 11.0 To My New HDD

    Quote Originally Posted by jjmacey

    > Cloning is not as easy as the word sounds


    ken_yap,

    I know, I also have my games on this HDD. They are of not in my Home
    folder. My Games are all from the Linux repos.

    Again - this becomes very complex. But, should be very simple.

    I just need that app to do it. I've been looking for years...
    Hi
    rsync or dd, look at the man pages.

    --
    Cheers Malcolm (Linux Counter #276890)
    openSUSE 11.0 x86 Kernel 2.6.25.18-0.2-default
    up 1 day 20:56, 1 user, load average: 0.40, 0.55, 0.33
    GPU GeForce 6600 TE/6200 TE - Driver Version: 177.82


  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Wilds of Arkansas
    Posts
    198

    Default Re: Clone My openSuSE 11.0 To My New HDD

    I wrote a Tip on using Acronis True Image for SUSE 10.3 to clone to a different HD back for the old SLS Forum it is located here: Cloneing Suse 10.3 Installation To Different Hd - openSUSE Forums

    To get the dev by id you can Install tree from YaST>Software Management to get /dev/disk/by id as example: enter, tree /dev/disk in console.

    I used the above for testing SUSE 11 and transferring once I got it the way I wanted it. This only works for the same computer on cloning HD's
    __________________________________________________
    My Forum, SuseUnbound: Categories in SUSEUnbound

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •