Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: KDE Upgrade

  1. #1

    Default KDE Upgrade

    I'm thinking about upgrading KDE from 3.5 to the latest version. I'm a little cautious though. I love the way the new KDE looks and I want to use some of the plasma themes, like Slim Glow, but I'm afraid that if I upgrade, I'll run into a bunch of problems. Anyone done this before? Any issues I should look out for? How is it done?

    Thanks guys.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,733
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: KDE Upgrade

    You didn't say what version of suse you are using:

    You can always just use kde3 if you don't like kde4 or it gives you problems. Most of us are running them both, just in case kde4 gets borked, because we are most of us running the factory.

    Add these repo's:

    KDE4 Factory:

    Desktop:
    Index of /repositories/KDE:/KDE4:/Factory:/Desktop/openSUSE_11.0

    Extra:
    Index of /repositories/KDE:/KDE4:/Factory:/Extra-Apps/openSUSE_11.0

    Community:
    Index of /repositories/KDE:/KDE4:/Community/openSUSE_11.0_KDE4_Factory_Desktop

    QT:
    Index of /repositories/KDE:/Qt/openSUSE_11.0
    =====================================================================

    Then use Yast software management - Patterns
    and check-: kde4base and kde4 desktop
    accept to install

    when it finishes, say yes to install more

    Now filter by repo
    select the kde4 desktop and QT repo you just added and select update all in this list unconditionally.

    Check the other two, but there may be nothing installed in them Yet.

    Now accept.
    ================================
    Make sure you have disabled auto login

    Ctrl-Alt-Backspace
    choose kde4 and login
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  3. #3

    Default Re: KDE Upgrade

    Thanks man. I'm using OpenSUSE 11. I might fiddle with that this weekend.

  4. #4

    Default Re: KDE Upgrade

    <snip> wrong thread

  5. #5
    Chris Maaskant NNTP User

    Default Re: KDE Upgrade

    caf4926 schreef:

    > Add these repo's:
    >
    > QT:
    > 'Index of /repositories/KDE:/Qt/openSUSE_11.0'
    > (http://download.opensuse.org/reposit...openSUSE_11.0/)


    I've read somewhere that you don't need the QT repository anymore.
    All the stuff in the QT repository is the same as the QT stuff in one of the KDE repositorys.
    --
    Chris Maaskant

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,733
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: KDE Upgrade

    I think you are right. I have just been keeping it for now.
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Vsters, Sweden ex. Highbury London UK
    Posts
    1,245

    Default Re: KDE Upgrade

    I usually use zypper dup -l in a console. You can also refresh the list before dup with zypper ref
    Gives you a list of exactly watt will be installed. Then you can go back to
    Yast and get stuff you want and remove what you don't need.
    Once you've got the apps you need easier to use zypper IMHO.

    Geoff
    Core 2 Duo 3.16GHz, 8GB DDR2, 3.5TB, GeForce 9600 GT, Amilo LCD 26", OS 11.1 x86_64, KDE4.2.4 (2)
    My wine tips & tricks

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    where I am is where I am
    Posts
    1,164

    Default Re: KDE Upgrade

    I'm curious to know about the Qt in the Yast software repos essential or non-essential?
    If non-essential one less repo in Yast is a plus.
    I'm just a curious cat
    My 64 bit: RADEON RX 570 |CPU AMD - Ryzen 5 1600
    MOTHERBOARD B450M D53H GGABYTE
    Opensuse Tumbleweed Plasma 5

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,733
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: KDE Upgrade

    Quote Originally Posted by Sagemta View Post
    I'm curious to know about the Qt in the Yast software repos essential or non-essential?
    If non-essential one less repo in Yast is a plus.
    It is no longer needed
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    305

    Default Re: KDE Upgrade

    FWIW, I'm using KDE 4.2 from the /UNSTABLE: repo. It's in freeze now, so it's only bug-fixing to come, no breakage from development changes.

    It's very cool. I actually find it stabler than 4.1.3, and there are a number of refinements and such that make it feel much more solid. The improvements in compositing (combined with the new nv 180 driver) make the desktop effects simply feel like a native effect of the desktop, there's no "clunkiness" anymore.

    Still, it's developmental, so I wouldn't recommend it for everyone. If you like KDE4 and don't mind rolling up your sleeves if something goes wrong, it's worth a looksie.

    Just my 2c...

    Cheers,
    KV

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •