Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Deleted Novell OpenOffice 2.x, now can't get 3.x branding!

  1. #1

    Question Deleted Novell OpenOffice 2.x, now can't get 3.x branding!

    I thought I would try to get Novell OpenOffice 3.x on my openSUSE 11 system by removing 2.x and then using Yast to get 3. Unfortunately, the 3 in Yast was not the Novell edition.

    So, question 1: How can I get Novell OpenOffice 3 on my openSUSE 11?

    Question 2: If I can't, can I just use Yast to put Novell OpenOffice 2 back? I don't want to reinstall just to get it back... >_<

    Thanks so much! I really appreciate it!!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    2,843

    Default Re: Deleted Novell OpenOffice 2.x, now can't get 3.x brandin

    Novell's Ooo 2.4 is included in the OpenSuse 11.0 DVD. If you don't have it, you'll have to add the oss repo.

    Then just install with Yast > Software management.

    There is absolutely *NO* need to reinstall anything...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    ukraine/mk/pervomaysk
    Posts
    528

    Default Re: Deleted Novell OpenOffice 2.x, now can't get 3.x brandin

    afaik is no curently ooo 3+ novell edition available.
    intelGMA3100#amd|radeonHD4200+radeonHD5450@catalyst12.4
    WC5020B,PagePro1480MF,LBP2900,hpCP1510,PHOTO1290,Scanmaker3600,PerfectionV200

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    relative
    Posts
    1,172

    Default Re: Deleted Novell OpenOffice 2.x, now can't get 3.x brandin

    Here you can get OOo 3+:
    Index of /repositories/OpenOffice.org:/STABLE/openSUSE_11.0.
    This is a Novell Edition.
    http://mydailyhash.wordpress.com/
    http://yami.googlecode.com/

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    ukraine/mk/pervomaysk
    Posts
    528

    Default Re: Deleted Novell OpenOffice 2.x, now can't get 3.x brandin

    Hi
    hm ram88
    you sure this is novell edition? can you explaine why you decide this is NE?
    I am do not know but i have this installed on laptop... and it looks like normal ooo 3...
    but who knows maybe this is NE...
    intelGMA3100#amd|radeonHD4200+radeonHD5450@catalyst12.4
    WC5020B,PagePro1480MF,LBP2900,hpCP1510,PHOTO1290,Scanmaker3600,PerfectionV200

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    relative
    Posts
    1,172

    Default Re: Deleted Novell OpenOffice 2.x, now can't get 3.x brandin

    Take a look into Help->About OpenOffice.org in any OOo3 application.
    It say that this product has been created by Novell, Inc. based on OpenOffice.org.
    http://mydailyhash.wordpress.com/
    http://yami.googlecode.com/

  7. #7

    Default Re: Deleted Novell OpenOffice 2.x, now can't get 3.x brandin

    Code:
    $ LC_ALL=C zypper se -s OpenOffice_org-branding
    Reading installed packages...
    
    S | Name                             | Type    | Version       | Arch   | Repository
    --+----------------------------------+---------+---------------+--------+---------------
      | OpenOffice_org-branding-openSUSE | package | 2.4-17.1      | noarch | openSUSE Oss
      | OpenOffice_org-branding-openSUSE | package | 2.4-17.1      | noarch | openSUSE DVD
    i | OpenOffice_org-branding-upstream | package | 3.0.0.3.5-1.1 | x86_64 | OpenOffice.org
    v | OpenOffice_org-branding-upstream | package | 3.0.0.3.5-1.1 | i586   | OpenOffice.org
    v | OpenOffice_org-branding-upstream | package | 2.4.0.14-1.1  | x86_64 | openSUSE Oss
    v | OpenOffice_org-branding-upstream | package | 2.4.0.14-1.1  | i586   | openSUSE Oss
    The branding is just a package.

    There a lot of packages with "-branding-openSUSE" or "-branding-upstream". gimp and Firefox to put examples... this allows you to change between openSUSE and upstream branding without reinstalling the full package.
    The thing is there is no "OpenOffice_org-branding-openSUSE" for OpenOffice 3.0... I suppose it will be there for openSUSE 11.1.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    ukraine/mk/pervomaysk
    Posts
    528

    Default Re: Deleted Novell OpenOffice 2.x, now can't get 3.x brandin

    thank you RedDwarf
    that is what i did not understand reading man...
    intelGMA3100#amd|radeonHD4200+radeonHD5450@catalyst12.4
    WC5020B,PagePro1480MF,LBP2900,hpCP1510,PHOTO1290,Scanmaker3600,PerfectionV200

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •