Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Can't Edit kde Menu

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Guelph, ON, Canada
    Posts
    47

    Default Can't Edit kde Menu

    I have openSUSE 11.0 with KDE 3.5.

    I've been having lots of problems lately with my system, one of which is that I cannot make any changes to the kde menu. I tried right-clicking, making changes and saving, however the changes are never implemented. So I tried running kmenuedit, and after saving and exiting, I get the following errors in the console:

    "X Error: BadWindow (invalid Window parameter) 3
    Major opcode: 20
    Minor opcode: 0
    Resource id: 0x4a00399
    QInputContext: cannot create input context for non-toplevel widgets
    QInputContext: cannot create input context for non-toplevel widgets"

    Any ideas? Thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Guelph, ON, Canada
    Posts
    47

    Default Re: Can't Edit kde Menu

    Has anyone encountered this issue or know how to resolve it?
    Laptop: Thinkpad T61p | Intel Core 2 Duo T9500 2.6GHz | 4Gb RAM | nVidia Quadro FX 570M
    System: OS 11.4 x86_64 | KDE 4.6.0 "Release 6" | Kernel 2.6.37.6-0.7

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,729
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Can't Edit kde Menu

    No.
    I have no problem in kde3 on OS11 - editing the menu on either of my machines.

    Sorry can't really offer advice.

    Could try a new .kde folder to see if it's user related, but I suspect not.
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    PHX
    Posts
    481

    Default Re: Can't Edit kde Menu

    Try the following command then logout/in:
    $ kbuildsycoca
    <>---><^>

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Guelph, ON, Canada
    Posts
    47

    Default Re: Can't Edit kde Menu

    Quote Originally Posted by Cryovac View Post
    Try the following command then logout/in:
    $ kbuildsycoca
    After trying kbuildsycoca I got the following:
    "kbuildsycoca running...
    Reusing existing ksycoca"

    Nothing had changed after logging back in
    Laptop: Thinkpad T61p | Intel Core 2 Duo T9500 2.6GHz | 4Gb RAM | nVidia Quadro FX 570M
    System: OS 11.4 x86_64 | KDE 4.6.0 "Release 6" | Kernel 2.6.37.6-0.7

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    PHX
    Posts
    481

    Default Re: Can't Edit kde Menu

    Make sure that the ~/.local/share/applications and ~/.config/menus directories are owned by your user name and that you are authorized to modify the content. If not, then:

    $ sudo chown -R <USERNAME>: ~/.local/share/applications
    $ sudo chown -R <USERNAME>: ~/.config/menus
    <>---><^>

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Guelph, ON, Canada
    Posts
    47

    Default Re: Can't Edit kde Menu

    Quote Originally Posted by Cryovac View Post
    Make sure that the ~/.local/share/applications and ~/.config/menus directories are owned by your user name and that you are authorized to modify the content. If not, then:

    $ sudo chown -R <USERNAME>: ~/.local/share/applications
    $ sudo chown -R <USERNAME>: ~/.config/menus
    I am the owner of those folders and all contents within them.
    Laptop: Thinkpad T61p | Intel Core 2 Duo T9500 2.6GHz | 4Gb RAM | nVidia Quadro FX 570M
    System: OS 11.4 x86_64 | KDE 4.6.0 "Release 6" | Kernel 2.6.37.6-0.7

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    PHX
    Posts
    481

    Default Re: Can't Edit kde Menu

    I have no other ideas than to create a default Kmenu.
    You prior config file will be saved as ~.menu.old so you can restore if desired.

    Code:
    $ mv ~/.config/menus/applications-kmenuedit.menu ~/.config/menus/applications-kmenuedit.menu.old
    $ killall -9 kicker
    $ kicker
    <>---><^>

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Guelph, ON, Canada
    Posts
    47

    Default Re: Can't Edit kde Menu

    Quote Originally Posted by Cryovac View Post
    I have no other ideas than to create a default Kmenu.
    You prior config file will be saved as ~.menu.old so you can restore if desired.

    Code:
    $ mv ~/.config/menus/applications-kmenuedit.menu ~/.config/menus/applications-kmenuedit.menu.old
    $ killall -9 kicker
    $ kicker
    So after doing that, I get the following:

    Code:
    KMenuBase::setProperty( "frameShadow", value ) failed: property invalid, read-only or does not exist
    KMenuBase::setProperty( "frameShape", value ) failed: property invalid, read-only or does not exist
    david@linux-t5kb:~> QObject::connect: No such signal Kicker::settingsChanged(SettingsCategory)
    QObject::connect:  (sender name:   'kicker')
    QObject::connect:  (receiver name: 'animtt')
    And when I try to make changes to the menu and save I get the following:

    Code:
    X Error: BadWindow (invalid Window parameter) 3
      Major opcode:  19
      Minor opcode:  0
      Resource id:  0x4400008
    and the changes aren't saved.
    Laptop: Thinkpad T61p | Intel Core 2 Duo T9500 2.6GHz | 4Gb RAM | nVidia Quadro FX 570M
    System: OS 11.4 x86_64 | KDE 4.6.0 "Release 6" | Kernel 2.6.37.6-0.7

  10. #10
    c0oL NNTP User

    Default Re: Can't Edit kde Menu

    Sorry for hijacking but I reckon it'll be better to post similar problems in 1 thread rather than creating a new one.

    Here's my problem, after installing a new application (KRename), it doesn't show up at the SUSE Menu. The "New Applications" section is gone as well. I've followed Cryovac's advice but to no avail.

    Any ideas what went wrong?

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •