Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Panel Sizing Issues

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    6

    Default Panel Sizing Issues

    Since removing the systray on the panel at the bottom of the screen the panel has been displaying bizarre behaviour.

    I set it to normal and it is the right size but when I restart the laptop, the panel appears as normal but the widgets/buttons of opened applications appear as extemely tiny against the top left of the panel area where they should appear. I have to readjust the panel to small and back to normal to get the applications laid out properly.

    It is user specific and doesn't happen to other users of the laptop.

    I can't explain it well but when I do make a change to the panels height the following error is recorded in .xsession-errors:

    Object::connect: No such slot AbstractTaskItem::update()
    X Error: BadWindow (invalid Window parameter) 3
    Major opcode: 25
    Minor opcode: 0
    Resource id: 0x3400007
    X Error: BadWindow (invalid Window parameter) 3
    Major opcode: 25
    Minor opcode: 0
    Resource id: 0x3400007
    Object::connect: No such slot AbstractTaskItem::update()
    X Error: BadWindow (invalid Window parameter) 3
    Major opcode: 25
    Minor opcode: 0
    Resource id: 0x3400007

    I tried finding the config that records Panel settings to see if I could manipulate that directly. I couldn't find it. If anyone knows where it is please let me know.

    I tried creating a new user and copying files from one user to another but I'd have to redo all of the files again as I cause errors when overwriting some of the files in the user directory.

    Any help appreciated.

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,733
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Panel Sizing Issues

    Is this kde4 by any chance?
    We need to know what we are dealing with
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: Panel Sizing Issues

    Quote Originally Posted by caf4926 View Post
    Is this kde4 by any chance?
    We need to know what we are dealing with
    Yes, sorry. KDE4. openSUSE 11.0.

    I was tired when I wrote this so I didn't remove the system tray either it was the quicklaunch bar I removed when it started.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,733
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Panel Sizing Issues

    Go to your hidden user directories
    /home/*username/.kde4
    and rename it to .kde4old
    Ctrl-Alt-Backspace

    you will start with a new user session of kde4

    I would also recommend installing kde3 as an alternative.
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: Panel Sizing Issues

    caf4926,

    tried what you said and still the same issue. Logged out and back in and no change. So at least I know the problem isn't a setting under the .kde4 folder

    I'm going to try creating a new user and bringing all the settings across except the default ones. I'll override .kde4 on the new user now I know it's not the problem.

    Any other ideas?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,733
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Panel Sizing Issues

    earlier you said this
    I was tired when I wrote this so I didn't remove the system tray either it was the quicklaunch bar I removed when it started.
    So you didn't remove the systray - But the quicklaunch.
    What do you mean by the quicklaunch?

    Can you get a screen shot of what's happening?
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    6

    Thumbs down Re: Panel Sizing Issues (Resolved)

    Sorry it was the System Tray I removed. I get mixed up because I work in Windows throughout the day and the System Tray in openSuse looks like the QuickLaunch in Windows XP.

    Anyhoo I fixed it. Check this out:

    I unlocked the widgets and right-clicked the task manager and moved it to the left. I noticed the widgets behaved normally. I moved it back, logged out and back in and now it works!!! WTF!

    I can't even begin to explain it.

    Thanks for your suggestions everyone.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •