Thread: newbie problem

Cool newbie problem

Hi,
    I am really a newbie.
    I became a 10.3 machine and I realised it to upgrade to 11.0.
    There were two ethernet cards (onboard SiS900 and PCI Realtek RT8139).
    The upgrade to 11.0 I realised with CD network install.
    After that I realised to upgrade LAN to WiFi with MSI PC70SE.
    I deleted the two cards in Network Settings and begun to try establish a connection with my WiFi (I found Ralink driver - I havent used it to this time).
    Now I am back to my old combination onboard + PCI Realtek but I cannot establish connection and I do not know if I have made something wrong or what happen.

sysinfo:/ in Konqueror says - you are online
    ping in console says
    ping: sendmsg: Operation not permitted
    hardware information in YaST2 says that I have 2 Ethernets and 1 Loopback Network Interfaces

P.S.: Where can I see which services/programs I run in openSUSE (like TaskManager in Windows XP)?

Thanks

Default Re: newbie problem

The "Task Manager" in KDE is called KSysGuard. As for your networking problems, can you specify what exactly happened? You replaced your PCI LAN card with a wireless and then took out the wireless and put the LAN card back in or what?
    http://stopsoftwarepatents.eu/
    Even if free software were ****, it should still get our preference over the non-free **** secreted by IT corporations.
    A free rephrasing of RMS

Yes, exactly, because I lost connection - but it was only firewall configuration error.

Now, I use SiS600 onboard (It is confusing because I deleted configuration for it and openSUSE use configuration from RT8139) and wish to use MSI PC70SE card because I must move my PC away from cable connection.

I found Ralink, but I cannot compile it - I am newbie
    Ralink Technology: Linux
    http://www.ralinktech.com.tw/data/dr....8.0.0.tar.bz2

output from make is:
    make -C tools