Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Yast2 Problem

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Herefordshire, England
    Posts
    151

    Default Yast2 Problem

    If I use Yast software maintenance, then quit it and then try to use it again, it states the package manager is in use.

    I have to reboot to get Yast software management to work again.

    Any ideas please

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,723
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Yast2 Problem

    What running processes do you see?
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Herefordshire, England
    Posts
    151

    Default Re: Yast2 Problem

    Yast2 and Y2base are both running. Killing them does not make any difference.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    2,844

    Default Re: Yast2 Problem

    When you quit software manager, the yast process should end. If it doesn't, it may be because of a running update check, or another scheduled process that accesses the rpm database.

    You can't kill yast as user, only as root.

    If this happens frequently, you may have a installation problem.

    The few times this happened to me, *I THINK* it was because I double-clicked the software management icon, starting two processes, with the second waiting patiently for the first to end, and the reopening the database, but without a GUI.

    P.S.: I also *THINK* that the same happens with OpenOffice's splash screen, it I start OOo twice the splash locks, or something. It can be seen in the proccess list. (CTRL-ESC in the desktop or the usual commands in a terminal).

    I didn't investigate both issues further, though, since clicking just once gives me no problem.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Herefordshire, England
    Posts
    151

    Default Re: Yast2 Problem

    Ahh, the double click issue may well be the answer.

    Thanks Bruno!

  6. #6

    Default Re: Yast2 Problem

    I have had this problem frequently and I'm sure I haven't been double clicking on anything. Every time I have the problem the only solution is restarting! There might be something generally wrong with package management!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,723
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Yast2 Problem

    Right click suse updater - Quit and choose do NOT start at boot.
    re-boot

    now try Yast - software management
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Herefordshire, England
    Posts
    151

    Default Re: Yast2 Problem

    It wasn't a double click issue.

    For some reason, exiting any yast module doesn't kill y2base. If I manually kill it, yast works normally, until I exit whatever procedure I'm using, then y2base has to be manually killed again.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,723
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Yast2 Problem

    Yast is a root process, so are you managing kill from root?
    Or even worse - are you running as root
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Herefordshire, England
    Posts
    151

    Default Re: Yast2 Problem

    Quote Originally Posted by caf4926 View Post
    Yast is a root process, so are you managing kill from root?
    Or even worse - are you running as root
    No, using the system monitor (KDE4 one, although running 3.59) right clicking y2base and clicking KILL. Asks for root password and then kills process.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •