Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 78

Thread: kde 4.1 Factory Update - Plasma desktop issues

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,729
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default kde 4.1 Factory Update - Plasma desktop issues

    Today's update 25th Sept

    Upon re-login. Desktop reverts to a default suse green swirl background and cannot be changed.

    Anyone else with this issue, or a work around?
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Bangalore, India
    Posts
    365

    Default Re: kde 4.1 Factory Update - Plasma desktop issues

    Same problem here!

    In kde3 I could just delete ~/.kde/share/config/kdesktoprc but there's no such file in kde4

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Bochum, Germany
    Posts
    3,587

    Default Re: kde 4.1 Factory Update - Plasma desktop issues

    * caf4926,

    update QT. I activated this repository:
    http://download.opensuse.org/reposit.../openSUSE_11.0

    HTH
    Uwe

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Bangalore, India
    Posts
    365

    Default Re: kde 4.1 Factory Update - Plasma desktop issues

    I also deleted both plasma-appletsrc and plasmarc in ~/.kde4/share/config and restarted kde but no luck

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Bangalore, India
    Posts
    365

    Default Re: kde 4.1 Factory Update - Plasma desktop issues

    Uwe, I already have that repo and no updates available.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,729
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: kde 4.1 Factory Update - Plasma desktop issues

    Quote Originally Posted by buckesfeld View Post
    * caf4926,

    update QT. I activated this repository:
    Index of /repositories/KDE:/Qt44/openSUSE_11.0

    HTH
    Uwe
    I'll try that. Iused to have that repo then switched to plain QT

    I'll report back
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,729
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: kde 4.1 Factory Update - Plasma desktop issues

    Quote Originally Posted by caf4926 View Post
    I'll try that. Iused to have that repo then switched to plain QT

    I'll report back
    No change.
    Guess it's wait and see.
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    relative
    Posts
    1,172

    Default Re: kde 4.1 Factory Update - Plasma desktop issues

    Same problem. I'm reported it on http://bugs.kde.org.
    http://mydailyhash.wordpress.com/
    http://yami.googlecode.com/

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Bochum, Germany
    Posts
    3,587

    Default Re: kde 4.1 Factory Update - Plasma desktop issues

    On 09/25/2008 ram88 wrote:
    > Same problem. I'm reported it on 'http://bugs.kde.org'
    > (https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=171643).


    Well duh, after I did today's update, I see what you mean! It is also not possible to change the desktop color to anything but the default grey.
    They marked it as a duplicate of https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=170441, but I am not sure that is correct. The symptoms seem totally different.

    BTW, is that the best method to submit a bug? Since the files come from an Opensuse repo, it might be faster to submit a bug in bugzilla.novell.com. Not sure though.

    Uwe

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    relative
    Posts
    1,172

    Default Re: kde 4.1 Factory Update - Plasma desktop issues

    Quote Originally Posted by buckesfeld View Post
    On 09/25/2008 ram88 wrote:
    > Same problem. I'm reported it on 'http://bugs.kde.org'
    > (https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=171643).


    Well duh, after I did today's update, I see what you mean! It is also not possible to change the desktop color to anything but the default grey.
    They marked it as a duplicate of https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=170441, but I am not sure that is correct. The symptoms seem totally different.

    BTW, is that the best method to submit a bug? Since the files come from an Opensuse repo, it might be faster to submit a bug in bugzilla.novell.com. Not sure though.

    Uwe
    Hmmm... I don't know the best method, but if it is really a bug then they will find the solution (I hope ). Yeah, symptoms are different and this can't be the duplicate of that one, because it is happened today with us, but the another bug is from 2008-09-05...
    BTW, I'm deleted some plasmoids from my plasma-appletsrc (folderview and plasma-weather), and now I'm posting from 4.1.1
    ps.:Correct, you can't change anything on the desktop except the plasma theme, and plasmoids.
    http://mydailyhash.wordpress.com/
    http://yami.googlecode.com/

Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •