Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Real Player issue in FF, Opera - but not K

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,733
    Blog Entries
    20

    Question Real Player issue in FF, Opera - but not K

    Using my Lenovo R61e laptop. Celeron 32 bit

    Going to bbc weather: BBC - Weather Centre - World Weather

    watch and listen
    opens real player starts buffering, then the player just goes all white.

    I have everything in place. All mutimedia works fine.

    Only thing I have not tried is a real media file from the HD, because I don't have one to hand.
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,733
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Real Player issue in FF, Opera - but not K

    Should have stated some obviously omitted points:

    OS11
    kde3 build service
    plugins are listed in all browsers - as already mentioned they player starts, buffers, then it all goes white.

    Though I have found a .rmvb file and it starts to open then closes.

    Real player opens from the menu
    And as already mentioned - using konqueror to bbc is fine.
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    26,570
    Blog Entries
    38

    Default Re: Real Player issue in FF, Opera - but not K

    Quote Originally Posted by caf4926 View Post
    Using my Lenovo R61e laptop. Celeron 32 bit

    Going to bbc weather: BBC - Weather Centre - World Weather
    Hmmm ... when launching the bbc weather site to play the "bbc weather player" one is given a choice to either launch "Windows Media Player" or launch "Realplayer". I chose "Windows Media Player" when visiting that site from Firefox, and that launches mplayerplug-in which plays fine.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    26,570
    Blog Entries
    38

    Default Re: Real Player issue in FF, Opera - but not K

    Quote Originally Posted by oldcpu View Post
    Hmmm ... when launching the bbc weather site to play the "bbc weather player" one is given a choice to either launch "Windows Media Player" or launch "Realplayer". I chose "Windows Media Player" when visiting that site from Firefox, and that launches mplayerplug-in which plays fine.
    Further to this, I went and cleared my cookies for bbc weather site, and then visited the site again, this time selecting "realplayer" media stream. Again, my firefox browser launched "mplayerplug-in" which played with no problem.

    I do have RealPlayer-10.0.9-11 installed, but I find with the functionality provided by mplayerplug-in (and MPlayer) I can play the video streams with no problems and hence I do not have my firefox setup to call RealPlayer.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,733
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Real Player issue in FF, Opera - but not K

    I have real player functionality working on my main box as ref in my sig.
    Vitually all my settings in my Laptop are set the same as my box. Only difference is Intel and 32 bit on Laptop

    I'll continue to fiddle with this, thanks for your input oldcpu
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,733
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Real Player issue in FF, Opera - but not K

    oldcpu.
    I installed the mplayer plugin but basically get the same result with that. It's almost as if it starts to play and there is no data there.

    It's rather odd. I'm starting to wonder if it could be related to video. I have NO issues otherwise. This laptop just seemed to work out of the box and flash is just fine too.
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    26,570
    Blog Entries
    38

    Default Re: Real Player issue in FF, Opera - but not K

    Quote Originally Posted by caf4926 View Post
    I installed the mplayer plugin but basically get the same result with that. It's almost as if it starts to play and there is no data there.

    It's rather odd. I'm starting to wonder if it could be related to video. I have NO issues otherwise. This laptop just seemed to work out of the box and flash is just fine too.
    Is your setup 64-bit or 32-bit ? Mine is 32-bit and it "just works".

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,733
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Real Player issue in FF, Opera - but not K

    Quote Originally Posted by oldcpu View Post
    Is your setup 64-bit or 32-bit ? Mine is 32-bit and it "just works".
    32 bit as quoted above earlier

    It's my _64 main box that works ok

    My laptop 32 bit doesn't.
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    26,570
    Blog Entries
    38

    Default Re: Real Player issue in FF, Opera - but not K

    Quote Originally Posted by caf4926 View Post
    32 bit as quoted above earlier

    It's my _64 main box that works ok

    My laptop 32 bit doesn't.
    When I type
    Code:
    about:plugins
    in firefox's location bar, it is clear it will launch mplayerplug-in for .rm files, and the BBC web site streams a .rm file.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    26,570
    Blog Entries
    38

    Default Re: Real Player issue in FF, Opera - but not K

    Quote Originally Posted by oldcpu View Post
    Is your setup 64-bit or 32-bit ? Mine is 32-bit and it "just works".
    I tested this on both my openSUSE-10.3 PC (with KDE-3.5.7 on an Athlon-2800) and on my openSUSE-11.0 PC (with KDE-3.5.9 on an Athlon-1100) and both "just work".

    One note, the mplayerplug-in first spends some time buffering the .rm file, before it starts to play the file.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •